Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Feb. 06, 2005 - 5:56 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Triplettes on Moon Holiday

yo! yo!

I am so behind on reading entries!
(but this is second entry of the day. First is here)

And I really need a grilled cheese... yes, Mom-on-roof I eat like a grilled cheese every day. Almost.

Yesterday no grilled cheese. I had leftovers from the pizza. :)

Date with Disappearing Boy yesterday... well he came over in the afternoon before I'd actually got much done... he tagged along as I went dogwalkies, and then to the coffeeshop to do the comic page. Jeesh it takes a lot longer with another person! Same with getting drawings done. I just had one to do for the South Korea people before I could shut down for the night, but between getting up to show him stuff, listening to what he had to say etc, it took forever it seemed.

Or maybe everything just seeeeeeeeemmmmmmms to take so much longer when you are aware of someone waiting. He said it didn't bother him. I suppose it bothered me. He also waited while I vacuumed. Dang. But I couldn't deal with the dust and gravel and dog hair anylonger. (gravel is little tiny wee bits that stick in the dog's toes and under boots from what they put on the streets and sidewalks... very bad for wall to wall wood floors let me tellya). So yeah, vacuum.

Then we went and rented "Les Triplettes de Belleville" (click on the cycling people to get to goodies)... and ordered a pizza... pepperoni, red pepper, spinach mmmm. And drank mucho Corona... ok, I had three except for the bit I spilled in bed. oops! don't prop your Corona against the pillow then forget it's there! oops!

Anyways the animation in that movie is amazing. All the little bits and pieces are stunning, the characters are cool and wacky, points of view are surprising, and what's with them frogs? who the hell had the frog idea? Dried tadpoles? Popsicles? urp!!!!

BUT and it is a big BUT. But I didn't think it was a great movie. The plot seemed to fall dead at the end. They were going across the ocean to save Champion, the cyclist. But you know what? I didn't give a damn about Champion. I gave a damn about his grandma person, the fat doggy, the weirdo triplettes etc. But I mean really, it didn't seem to make ANY difference whatsoever to Champion whether he was training in his hometown, riding in the Tour de France, or stuck in slavery on the other side of the ocean. He really just seemed obsessively pedalling with no emotion whatsoever. I personally would have thrown him back to the mafia he seems so out of it. Sort of like an autistic cyclist.

The ending just fell flat. There wasn't any great d�nouement, no great celebration. No bettering of Champion's life as a result of all that effort. Maybe that is the point? The point is the sort of Pilgrim's Progress of the dog and the grandma person, and had nothing to do with Champion at all? I dunno. Very anticlimactic. and as a result I cannot go off cheering about this movie.

Wonderful animation. Now they need a proper ending. Sigh. I SO wanted to absolutely love it and rant about how great it was. Left me cold.

The "extras" about the making of it, and the "drawing lesson" from the animator were fun though. But I think it isn't so good when the animation overshadows the storyline.

Just my take on it. I feel the same about comics. Make music videos instead of feature length films if you cannot wrap up a story. yup.

Anyways, then Disappearing Boy crashed since he was tired already and had been up since 7am. I read in bed with the hookah, my Corona I spilled, an avocado and then later pizza while he slept. I realize how much I like it when I am on the same beat as someone else, instead of having them awake and waiting while I work and sleeping when I am ready to hang and relax. Sigh. That leaves either a very very small pool of people, OR mandates that I need to once again for the umpteenth zillionth time to try to change my schedule, OR just deal with the fact that I am on the offbeat of the world. Sigh!

DB said he didn't mind. I guess it is me who minds.

We got up at 10:30 am today which to him is totally sleeping in (but was still only about 6-7 hours sleep for him, 4 1/2 hours for me. Had a coffee at the coffeeshop, and then I got back to bed around noon, and slept til past 3pm. So I didn't even get an earlier start to the day. Missed the sun except when I went for coffee. Gorgeous day... way above freezing. Poor people who wanted to skate... their skates just sliced into the ice like skating on cream cheese frosting. hehe. too bad.

Tomorrow, or rather today, it is supposed to be even warmer. Then of course once everything has melted again, it will go into subzero deepfreeze just cuz we love grey asphalt covered in ice so much. So much nicer than fluffy snow. dang.

OK, I gotta eat something and get to bed. A big day of painting on Leo's Dog again. Today I mostly finished one spread, besides doing two pages of comics. So that frees me to do ONLY the dog tomorrow... no comics.

And South Korea apparently has some sort of Moon Holiday or something. So I will work for them again on Monday. Happily they want very few changes to my drawings, tell me what changes they want within two days so there is no delay, and say they really like the work I'm doing which is a cool thing. Now if I had just worked harder on the dog book so it was done now, and life would be good.

Tah tah. Maybe some more scanned in drawings tomorrow if you're interested.

Night night.
me
wenchie

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily