Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004 - 11:06 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

You Wacky Americans!

Oh you wacky Americans!

Some of you are so enterprising! But did you ask us first???

You're always welcome to visit, but we want you to keep abreast of what's happening down there in your fair country, and help keep the hatemongers in check. Remember to beware the people who love you, but not what you do, not what you stand for, not what you believe in, and tell you that Jesus loves you, but you will go to hell.

More later perhaps. ciao.
wenchie
in Canadaland

moments later: I swear, you wacky americans! I am getting three times the volume of american political forwards today than I was pre-election. Dang. Thank god some of it has useful suggestions:

Later!

1:38 am Dang the day is longer when you get up at 10:30 am instead of 1:30 and you're REAL tired! hehe. Hey, I just saw a funny word on a blog... "god-botherers"... hehe.

When you think of it, all the praying "please God save Mary, please God watch over America, Please GOD let me win the lottery just this time, please god let me stop drinking ..." God-botherers does seem very fitting. Just think of God as the parent of the whole universe. Now think what it is like to have a dog wanting in, the cat wanting food, the kids wanting this for Christmas, and a bandage for their toe, and DANG janey needs stitches in emergency, and oh, there are phonecalls, and the emails, and little bobby is pulling my sleeve... for an hour now he has been saying "please mommy, please mommy please mommy, I love you mommy, I'll clean my room if you just.... please mommy"...

Now multiply that by millions and millions. Imagine instead of a business and a household and the little league you are trying to run the universe. Not just the planet, but the universe. And dealing with the souls of all the dead of the past centuries, judging all those who are dying like flies around the world, fighting with Satan in all his guises, and then millions of people are going "Please god, oh merciful god, please listen to my pleas..." over and over. Some looking at photos of a bearded man with blue eyes, some fingering beads, some sniffling as they sit in jailcells, some trapped under crashed cars. Cripey.

God-botherers. What a brilliant little moniker.

In case you wonder where I read such a thing, it is in the comments of this rather opinionated piece. Makes ya think eh. Today on the radio was a discussion about making the sex-ed program in a Canadian school faith-based, teaching sexual purity until marriage. (how rubbing a body part makes one "impure" i have NO idea. Maybe you are impure if you pick your nose too, or shake hands with people you don't know well enough). Lovely. Apparently the woman thought that if they stop teaching sex-ed in schools, then children will turn to their parents for open dialogue about their bodies and sexuality. Let me die laughing now. Christ. My parents had playboy on the coffeetable and bought us sex-ed books. I snuck into the basement to read them. I didnt ask them about "my body". eeek! And ours was an open, non-taboo household. Imagine in one where you are PURE until you have sex. Of course if you are still bodily pure and want to know about such things, you only have a dirty mind.

But the embracing of ignorance and the blind faith are blinding. Let's me see. All those Christian Homes for Unwed Mothers that used to exist were there cuz parents are so good in instilling Purity and Abstinence, in the absence of nasty liberal public school sex ed classes. Yup.

So, yeah, forward and onward with God in the Whitehouse, the Courts and the Schools. Yay. Funny thing is I thought God was already omnipresent. So I find it hard to see how he needs to get himself elected through smirking men.

Cheers.

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily