Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Jul. 14, 2005 - 12:58 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Zucchinis and Swiss Chard in a Waterless Day

Dang.. here is news about the "utterly ordinary" suicide bombers in Britain. One was arrested for disorderly conduct once and another for shoplifting, but hell, my own brother was arrested for shoplifting more than once by the time he was 18. However both the young men (one was 22 and the other 18 I think) had gone to visit Pakistan from whence came their parents... and may have gotten some weirdo extremist thinking while there studying religion. Yikes. The third man who has been identified worked with disabled children, his wife is a teacher and he had an eight month old baby girl at home. Hardly one's idea of a crazed suicide bomber.

I do really really hope that they find whomever it is who is instigating these things.


In other news... I picked my first zucchini from my garden today... yay! I am trying to keep on top of eating garden produce... thinning out the chinese cabbage and swiss chard as they grow and eating it, so I don't end up with this huge mass of veg all ready at the same time. The tomatoes are massively productive. I think at some point I'm going to be totally overwhelmed by them! mmm so sad! The basil is hugely rampant as well. I think I'll need to pick it this week and make large batches of pesto. Always a wonderful thing to have in the freezer in midwinter.

Besides keeping on top of the garden produce, I think I need to start keeping on top of the refrigerator items. Salad dressing was on sale today, and I did think that some of the bottles i had in the fridge were getting on in years, so I bought three new ones. And when I got home, I checked some dates. To the right there is the most ancient bottle. Expired in JANUARY 2000!!! What the hell was I thinking? I also ditched a best-before 2001 and 2002. Krikey.

Do you know it is best not to put a hershey's bar in your back pocket, walk around for several hours in the summer heat and then sit on your ass in front of the puter? Thankfully the wrapping held, or I'd have chocolate buttorama. As it was it was just um, liquified. It is solidifying now. What? You didn't think it was inedible just cuz I was sitting on it, did you? I didn't fart after all!

Today I got a delivery of artwork I had done in previous years for a client in Toronto. The cool thing is that they sent me the printed educational pieces... which are very large posters meant to be looked at in front of the whole class. Very cool to see the finished product! yay!

And what a morning... or rather early afternoon. I heard these alarms going by, which is what they usually do when they want people to remove their vehicles from the street (or be towed)... for snow removal, or street cleaning. Not having a car, I rolled over, smiled that I didn't have to rush out to repark, and went back to sleep. Well, apparently that is how they had decided to warn people that they were turning the water off all afternoon. hah.

I learned by flushing the toilet and not having it refill, and then going to wash my hands and the taps were dead dead dead. I dunno about you, but it is not something I like so much to wake up in summer heatwaves all hot and sweaty, needing a shower and a glass of water, to discover zippo zilcho agua. grrr. No water to help the limp flowers and plants in the front yard sun. It was sposed to rain this morning and did not. Just hot hot sun on the plants. No water to fill doggy's bottle for walkies. No water to put in oatmeal to cook it (I ran out of cold cereal and the bread had gone moldy from the hot humid weather). No water to brush teeth, or wash hands, or do watercolors.

I suddenly realized how fucked we'd be if something happened to the water supply. urk. I was a bit peeved that they hadn't put little cards in the mailbox yesterday or anything, so we'd know to put some water aside. ack.

I ate at the coffeeshop instead and used their washroom. Got a couple pages of comics done.
Started pasting up one of the two novels I need to have done mid-August.
Went to the garden to pick off leafminer eggs from the swisschard.

An ok day. Now I gotta get working!
hah!
bye
me
wenchie

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily