Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Dec. 29, 2003 - 4:20 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Post Christmas without a Past

Heya! I ACTUALLY DIDN'T put an entry for a whole day... yeah, wow eh! I planned it. I thought I was gettin a bit excessive and who the hell could keep up?! So

Here is my horoscope for Saturday, December 27:

Someone passes over you for a supposedly better choice. Before you start mourning, convince yourself that it's their loss, not yours. The universe has something very different in store for you.

Isn't that just the mostest bestest horoscope for after that asskickin ob fuckin around my world? yup! yay!

Turtl writing in Detroit, April 2003, copyright 2003 Wench77
I had the best supper with my friends on Friday night. The North African couscous was excellent, with its mix of citrus fruits, apricots, olives and pine nuts. Same with the Tunisian Pumpkin Soup... my friend's girlfriend was afraid of the "spice swirl" but then totally loaded up on it once she had tasted it (garlic, coriander, ground caraway seeds etc heated in olive oil). The green beans with pine nuts (god those things are great) and parsley in oil and balsamic vinegar were fantastic too.

Putting passionfruit juice over pineapple is a waste if you ask me... could hardly taste it. But minced fresh mint leaves on the pineapple were excellent. mmmmmm.

We played "categories" after my friend sheepishly begged us, saying it was her family's traditional Christmas game... I had never played it before... naming categories of objects/nouns, and then finding one for each letter of the same word. Trying to find "sex toys" starting with "o", "m" and "e" was a challenge for three people. It was amusing when the girlfriend put "spreader bar" for a sex toy beginning with "s" and my friend didn't know what it was and DEMANDED to know where her girlfriend had learned of such a thing. Doubly amusing considering my friend writes and edits lesbian erotica... one would think that at nearly 40 she'd know what a spreader bar is! Oh the things that come out in games after dinner! All in all a really fun time. yay!!

Green Trtls in Detroit, April 2003, copyright 2003 Wench77
I watched that movie on my new dvd player, The Man without a Past (on that review, make sure you click "more" at the bottom for the actual review). Apparently it is a widely praised film, but I'd never heard of it, so didn't have any great expectations... it just seemed quirky from the dvd cover and was in Finnish... I have a soft spot for foreign films, which usually have a very different flavour from blockbuster American ones, which seem to be produced like food from McDonald's, and steeped in syrup or sponsored by the NRA.

I specifically picked a review to link to that didn't give away the whole plot, as I think it is most enjoyable not knowing, esp since it is about someone who loses his memory from getting his head bashed in by muggers. The film is very low key, with very little emoting from the actors. The setting is a community of "almost homeless" in that they rent out shipping containers as houses, in the docks of Helsinki. Somehow the film is very calm and very brightly colored at the same time. There is a great sense of humanity and it is satisfying to watch, the romance not inciting me to scream or cringe or bawl my eyes out. A good thing. I recommend it. An excellent choice to counteract the emotional indigestion provoked by Pirates of the Carribean. mmm.

Other news: I have been accepted to have my comic "liliane" on Keenspace... though it seems that 1) it takes another 2-5 days to have all the password and username working and 2) it is possible my browser is out of date... it said "if you don't have IE 5.5 or higher..." and I have IE5.1, sigh, and 3) I don't know what ftp is!... the email they sent me says "you can then ftp to blah blah"... so maybe i have my own comics domain name and can't use it?? oh damn damn damn technology!!

I am happy to say that both yesterday and today I have done 3 pages per day of new comics. I am finishing up my second story for my new book. I am hoping that the "George" and "Protection Racket" comics I did for Boy Trouble zine don't end up being better than anything I write for my own book! drat! If they weren't released at the same time and place (APE, feb 20-21 in SF) I would reprint them in my book since he has nonexclusive copyright use.

How to draw a Turtl in Detroit, April 2003, copyright 2003 Wench77
Speaking of copyright... there is an interesting thing happening in Detroit. Apparently some artist who hates the TRTL graffiti there has registered a copyright on the TRTL word and images and is marketing Tshirts etc with that graffiti on it. I don't understand how this can be legal. I mean, according to international law, a creator does NOT need to register copyright of an image in order to own copyright. They have it unless they sign it over in writing.

If this were not the case, anyone could take a drawing of mine that I signed "Wench77" and copyright both my signature Wench77 (the equivalent of TRTL written on the graffitis) and my drawing, and then I would be "stealing" THEIR copyright if I did my own drawing. Rather insane, and I really think a copyright lawyer should clobber the guy, by proving that he was not the originator, but rather stole another's work. I am assuming he is hoping that the real creators will not stand up and sue him since graffitti is illegal. However I suspect that the graffitti artist could win more from the fact that this other artist is marketing his drawings and making a profit, than he would lose in graffitting fines.

Yellow Turtl in Detroit, April 2003, copyright 2003 Wench77
Legalbeagle!! Where ARE YOU!!! The fascinating thing is that I didn't even know that the TRTL/ TURTL graffitti was so controversial/ famous, until someone got to my diary by doing a Google search on it. ob and I had taken photos of trtl graffitti in April 2003 when apparently it was just starting to be omnipresent. I wonder what the copyright issues are of graffitti... I mean theoretically it is a creative work covered by copyright, but since it is on public edifices etc, it is almost impossible not to reproduce it anytime one takes a photo of a public setting in which it occurs. Hello!! More help!! Legalbeagle!! :)

Seeing as I started on the friendship subject, I shall end on the friendship topic... last night I was called to go for a beer with my friend Rich, and it turns out he has broken up with his girlfriend. Like me in many past relationships, he was ready to let it go, since they had tried to work it out several times over a period of time. Once one has tried everything to no avail, it just feels right to let it go. I do wonder when these guys call me up when they are newly single though... I said "it is not everyone who wants to take pics of cemetaries, and he said "I would!" but then when I showed him cemetary pics me and ob took, the only ones that didnt seem to bore him were where I appeared, looking quite appealing, I will say myself! Men!!

And tonight Motorcycle Boy dropped by to say hi (no beer)... he has had a great Christmas, AND got laid! LOL! new girl for him so he's looking quite peppy. He once again suggested he drive to SF (he has a new car, which is more practical in the snow than his motorcycle!) to kick ob in the butt when he heard that she'd returned to sender all the photos, sent me a do not contact" email, AND thrown out all my stuff instead of returning it to me. Ah, Men! :)

More horoscopes!

Here is my horoscope for Sunday, December 28:

You know that you've really engaged someone when their response is hostile. This is more about making a statement than looking for trouble. Think again before doing anything that you'll regret.

So there ya go! I guess I really engaged her! I will talk about that another day. I did notice on Christmas Day I didn't really do an entry about emailing with ob. I can still let it go for awhile. yup. Happy Christmas to me, happy christmas to me! Tah all! And please leave some comments! We aren't so lonely with all these friends dropping by, but I like comments and notes anyhows! thanks ever so muchly!

xxWench77

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily