Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

music:Again, 50 Cent

Reading:Ripley's Weird World entries.

Quote of the Day(from our friend the Governator)

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Tuesday, Oct. 14, 2003 - 11:10 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Who Needs Rotten.com??/Emode IQ Results

Who indeed needs Rotten.com when you do research for Ripley's Believe it or Not... or just simply are interested in the natural world?? Yesterday we brought you Human Bot Fly Larva and today, we are looking at snakes.

Here is an Amethyst Python swallowing a wallaby, indeed a whole page on snakes feeding.

Ah, but that is for those with sensitive stomachs. If you decide to go into herpology, here is a warning for you from Eric Pianka, with a nasty image of the possible consequences: Yes that is a person being swallowed by a snake. And here is another one. Indeed it does give one pause to all the cheery petlover's photos of pythons around the neck. Hmmm.

Well, back to work. I shall add a few more interesting pics as I work more tonight! Thank god for google!

3:14 am... it feels of course like midnight or so...ie early evening for me!!

Well instead of browsing more icky sites I got sucked into a popup from emode.com... that fun and crazy quiz center (I am a Bernese Mountain Dog, according to them)... and I did their IQ test. Here are the results:

Congratulations, Wench!

Your IQ score is 142
This number is the result of a formula based on how many questions you answered correctly on Emode's Ultimate IQ test. Your IQ score is scientifically accurate...

During the test, you answered four different types of questions � mathematical, visual-spatial, linguistic and logical. We analyzed how you did on each of those questions which reveals how your brain uniquely works.
We also compared your answers with others who have taken the test. According to the sorts of questions you got correct, we can tell your Intellectual Type is a Visionary Philosopher.

This means you are highly intelligent and have a powerful mix of skills and insight that can be applied in a variety of different ways. Like Plato, your exceptional math and verbal skills make you very adept at explaining things to others � and at anticipating and predicting patterns. And that's just some of what we know about you from your IQ results.

Some of Your Greatest Talents

You've got tons of strengths. It wouldn't surprise us if you:


* Think of the "big picture"
* Can anticipate and predict patterns
* Are good at context clues
* Can see similarities in seemingly disparate things

Well, there ya go. According to the answer key I got ONE question wrong. It was:
27.� Which one of these five things is least like the other four?
1)Coconut
2)Grape
3)Banana
4)Apple
5)Pear

Now we can see that this is a very arguable question... is it the coconut since it is not a fleshy fruit in the manner of the others? Or perhaps the banana because it is infertile? Or the grape because it grows on a vine? or the Pear because the others grow in clusters? Even maybe the Coconut because it never comes in a yellowish color, whereas the others can? hmmm??? It is a trick question and I have submitted it to Wayne Armstrong, botany prof extraordinaire who runs a super duper plant site called Wayne's Word. Lots of pictures and weird info like "watermelon snow" presented with a twisted wacky sense of humour! You can even take Economic Botany classes online! Very funkycool!

Anyhowz, i am of course just bitching cuz the ONLY question I got wrong was a debatable one, not one where I screwed up the math!! This is just like me... girl gets 98% on the exam and has to quibble about the last question with the prof!

Anyhews, We can see that when people say "hey, we didnt need an encyclopedia", or "i just dont see the connection between those things", it is just that I AM sort of an encyclopedia, and I DO see a connection other people miss. Well howdy do. Nice to have emode validate my being! I should visit them more often!! It's not often that I score in the 90th percentile on everything. Thank god it does not score compassion towards idiot salespeople, or diplomatic skills under pressure, or patience with illogically automated systems. or or or...

And here is my new career choice list:Great Jobs For You
Because of the way you process information, these are just some of the many careers in which you wcould excel:

* Archaeologist
* Detective
* Psychologist
* Sculptor
* Architect
* City planner
* Chief executive

Well they all sound fine to me. But i'll need to go back to school methinks, except for the sculptor. (someone asked tonight if i'd ever thought of doing sculpture... they didnt know that I had my BFA and did a Banff Residency in Ceramics, and won a sculpture competition). It doesnt say "baker" or "early childhood educator" or "journalist" but maybe that wouldve made their list too long. Also they didnt ask if you liked children and kneading bread dough, only if you could calculate math problems and figure out verbal logic.

Anyone who reads this and does the quiz/es: I would like if you would email me if you would like to share your results! :)

Quote of the day

"People need somebody to watch over them. . . . Ninety-five percent of the people in the world need to be told what to do and how to behave.
....My relationship to power and authority is that I'm all for it."

Arnold Schwarzenegger in a 1990 interview.

Here is a complete rundown on our friend Arnie. You gotta admit he'd be a great bdsm Dom!! Too bad i'm not into those macho boyz! glllll.

4:28 amAAAGH! I can't stop while I'm ahead, can I?? No, I was so thrilled with the IQ results I decided to go for their "why are you still single" quiz. Well, their quizzes are eerily righton. Results:

Why Are You Still Single?

Wench, you're single because you don't want to get hurt .
Ever heard the expression, "Once bitten, twice shy?" You can probably relate to this, can't you? Your last relationship may have left you a little raw in emotions, and the memories are likely still fresh in your mind. Fresher than you can sometimes believe. With a hurt like that, you're probably not so eager to enter the drama again � and we can't say that we blame you. You may be so afraid of getting hurt that you take things to heart big-time when you're involved with someone � after all, you've been hurt before, why can't it happen again? You also may be guilty of comparing potential mates to your ex who may still constantly loom large in your mind.

How the hell could I argue with that?? Well, it's only been a couple months since the definitive fuckup. On the other hand we could say, why when you havent slept with the girl for nearly 4 months now, do you not even notice other people? What a loser I am. "Once bitten, twice shy"... hahahahahaha (insert hysterical laugh track here) How about "six dozen times bitten, six dozen times shy". And I still don't turn down dates, and optimistically run after anyone who looks promising. How do you think I get into these things in the first place? Unbounded optimism despite the fear. Go for it, and once more get bitten. Pet too many strange dogs and you will lose your fingers, even if they are fuzzy and cute.

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily