Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Mar. 17, 2004 - 3:59 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Spring Cleaning and Godiva in Bloomers

My my. I should actually work on my taxes (which I actually enjoy doing when I am not rushed on other things), coloring in the spelling book drawings (though I havent heard back on changes on groping boy yet), the thumbnails for the far north book, and cut out paper for the DitzyAunty book... I'll call it that. It is the one from the US client who signed the contract with me in Nov 2001 and just go the manuscript to me after Christmas. One of these days I'll scan in some sketches for you. They are all done, delivered and awaiting comments or go ahead.

But in the meantime I have been doing wild and crazy things. Like actually paying attention in my flamenco class vs last week. Amazing what a head spring cleaning getting rid of a crazed client with bad deadliines does! I had a great flamenco class. A few people asked if I had dumped the client, and were all happy and excited when I said yes. I got a couple high fives, and some vigorous handshaking. hehe.

I did a weird thing... I used the sort of velcro type brush attachment that is used to get lint and hair off carpets... without the vacuum cleaner... on the leaves of my African Violet plant! hehe. They were all grey and covered in cat hair (the cat sits on a chest in front of the window to look out, right next to the poor plant)... and the brush thing worked like a charm! They are now green again! I took pics (of course!) So you'll get to see!

I also unplugged my keyboard and pried off all the keys, washed them all down and took out the fluff and shot it with that compressed air I bought. I had been planning to do that for like six months. First time in 5 years it was cleaned. It looks amazing! I no longer cringe to touch it. Crazy how something so small can make me feel so happy and accomplished! Hehe. The computer guy comes tomorrow afternoon to do a cleanup of my hard drive. Now I don't have to hang my head. Add that to the vacuum cleaning of the back of the computer table... You can see the picture of that before I cleaned it... right there to the side!!
All images copyright 2004, Wench77
The next thing I'll have to attack is the yard. I didn't have time to rake up the leaves before it snowed. Of course today it was sort of cold again, so they are probably frozen onto the ground. Here are a couple pics taken last week... you can see there is a wee bit of snow left, and also lots of dead tomato vines I need to pull off the trellises. (Isn't this an enthralling entry so far! It will get better!)

And look at that plant urn. Cold plastic doesn't take bumping so well. OOPS! Now if I could think what to do about the grass... it dies where the dog lies on it. And it is a small yard. hmmm.

Now here is what Sleepyzoe was asking for... some pictures of me at the closing of the Fetish Cafe on Saturday night, with my Lady Godiva hair, recycled rubber corset and homemade bloomers.

all images copyright 2004 Wench77

That blurry man was Tom of Vermont. Hmm. He's history cuz I think even as a friend he is too insecure and acting weird in a self-effacing way not a fun good way. Oh well. But what do you think of the outfit? You can kind of see in the pic with my leg up that they are those vintage non-sewn-crotch bloomers! eeps!!

Those were my flamenco shoes. I figured they looked good with the gloves and the hair and the pink lipstick... very femmey eh. But near the end of the night I changed to my small army-type boots. I say army-type cuz they are just thin leather black boots that give a more narrow profile. Here you can see one of them to the left, with my hiking boot on the right. What a difference in "daintiness" a different boot can make eh! Those hiking boots are John Deere and very comfy.

I must be tired I feel I am rather blathering. Boots. haha. such a weighty subject and I am injecting absolutely no wit. Oh well.

Right now on the radio is talk about the terrorist attacks on the train in Spain, the impact that the change of Spanish government as a result of the attacks will have on world politics and terrorism. Here are some press attitudes from around the world. Personally my first impression to the Spaniards saying they will get out of Iraq as a result of this terrorism (and citizens of 7 out of 9 European countries surveyed said that they believe the invasion of Iraq was unjustified, lied about, and for oil only) is that it's a good thing. It doesn't up the violence like the US does. I say pull out of Iraq but hunt down the terrorist groups. Use intelligence, not military. Bring the terrorists to an international court for crimes against humanity. Put them in jail forever. I really don't think that messing for shady reasons (see last night's entry about 9/11 etc)in other people's countries after propping up dictators and training them for years is a way to endear yourself to anyone or get rid of terrorism. Nope. It creates more havoc for militias to form and take advantage of to terrorize their own people. It creates homeless jobless men who want to take revenge. It creates orphans that radicals can take in and indoctrinate. Go with intelligence and capture. yup. Oh dear. My brain just went dead again. And I haven't even had a Corona with double lime yet tonight! oops!

I of course had planned to put this entry and THEN work a bit. But I am zonked. I think my body is dealing with more cold germs or something. Yesterday I had a real headache and now sort of a minimal sore throat. And very tired.

Here is my horoscope for Tuesday, March 16:

You operate within a narrow margin. Trust yourself or doom this effort to a pointless exercise. Does your noble goal still inspire you? If the answer is no, you have a few days of serious thinking ahead of you.

I wonder if my "noble goal" and "trust yourself" means that those US clients were going to call me back with another offer. Actually I havent heard from them since I wrote to say that I would do the second of the two books IFF they could guarantee keeping the schedule, and paying me on time. Hmm. Well, zzzzz to me. byebye!

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily