Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Music today: Yet again boring repeats of Canadian Classics on CBC on Lockout

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Tuesday, Sept. 20, 2005 - 8:38 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Shifty Options and Things to Do

OK, I am starting to be functional on this new computer deal.
I still cannot type html. Why the hell would anyone make it so the < is only available by clicking the option key, which lies under my palm, not anywhere easy to get. Then if you keep the option key down, the / is ok, but the P becomes a � and the b becomes a ?. On my old keyboard (the computer guy tells me that the French Canadian CSA that I used to use has been "phased out" argh... I can type in Swedish, or Tagalog but not French Canadian. ack. The � is way the hell over to the right above the return key too.

On the old keyboard setup, I could type the whole < P>

sequence with my right fingers while keeping the shift key down with my left pinkie in a flurry of < and Ps.

Now I have to do option+< then shift+P then option+> and then repeat the whole thing. option, shift, no key, option shift shift option. Very slow and tedious. If only the option key were accessible only moving my left finger and not my whole hand. grrrrr.

And this was made up by computer geeks who write lots of html?? Totally idiotic. Maybe they have one-key shortcuts made up for every html command. Or maybe they just have it voice activated and so keyboards in any language are pass�.

I have also managed to scan in images, crop them and send them to my South Korean contracts.
Yes it takes now two applications instead of one (Vuescan AND Photoshop instead of just photoshop) And the scanning application takes about three times as long (before in Photoshop I opened up a window to scan, clicked three things in that window and it scanned, now to get those options I have to fill things in, in one window, then check "advanced options" to get another window, then press'preview to get back the crop button" and THEN scan which for some reason counts down from 60 to 0 three times before the actual scanner starts to move. Then it does a count down from 60 to 0 twice before the image appears on the screen in Photoshop.

Boggling. absolutely boggling.

And I paid um, well nearly a $1000 for this UPGRADE.

Now you know why I use a regular SLR camera. Because in order to actually focus myself, I don't have to push electronic buttons to get 'advanced options' and 'manual override" while the thing I want to focus on has moved on to the next item in its day. jeesh.

Other than that, I will finish tonight the poetry novel (novel about poetry, what an idea) and hopefully the client will pick it up tomorrow so I can pay the computer. The client was like ' oh no rush, we actually wanted it three months ago, so now we might pick it up sometime in october" and I'm like no no no! I need the $$!! So they might come by tomorrow yay. And bring a check. Double yay.

And then I can work on the the next novel for Manitoba. (sketches approved, finals to do for Oct 2.. piece of cake). And the sketches for the bad-baseball-players-in-the-60's novel (and the finals)... I just did the book cover but none of the inside drawings. Thank god that pays about twice what the Manitoba novel pays. (ie $2000 instead of $900).

And of course finish the South Korea sketches and then all 10 chapters of the final colored drawings.. and then I'll be DONE with South Korea. Just in time to start a color kid's book about a kid who wants a mouse and gets to try it out for the weekend. A mouse is fun. Yay! Better than poetry and bad-baseball-players-in-the-60's ... even for things like boats, streets, cars, one needs reference materials for the 60's. yikes!

Other things on the to-do agenda:

  • make pesto out of 12 two foot tall basil plants
  • Put together doggy's trailer which was taken apart to put into the car for my vacation a month ago, and is sitting in the livingroom
  • Use a bike tire patch to patch my recycled rubber corset where the boning is poking through the inside seam
  • Sew buttons on to my nice lady's winter coat, and three pairs of shorts
  • Fix the plug that pulled off the vacuum cord, so that the next time I try to vacuum in a hurry I don't have to use the shopvac
  • Deal with all the swiss chard and kale in the garden .. ie blanche and freeze
  • Get a storage space to store all my printed books in boxes so that I can move my massage table and other items to my bedroom closet so that the closet in the kid's room will be empty
OH!! I just had an epiphany!! The people who write html are ENGLISH speakers, so they don't give a fuck that writing html is hell on a french keyboard. When they are on the english keyboard they also don't give a fuck that there are not french characters with accents etc. Sheesh, of COURSE!!
  • Cut springy plastic hosing and put it around the computer wires... it is a childproofing, but also an aesthetic thing.. bought the stuff at Ikea
  • Take back the wheels on my new office chair to Ikea. They scrape across the floor instead of rolling. They simply do not turn. AGH... that is a 4 hour cross the bridge propositon. grrrr.
  • Find someone who wants my G3, my Epson Stylus Photo 700, my Cd burner, my Wacom tablet OR at least clean the dust off them, wipe them down and put them in their original boxes which are all saved in the basement. Get them off the studio floor where they are gathering cat hair and I will break my ankles on them one day soon
OK, that's pretty much the absolute immediate to do list of small fixable things. Doesn't cover things like replace the back balcony, bring the plants in from outside for winter, wash all exterior windows, fix plaster cracking on all walls and paint the entire interior of the house. haha. Oh yeah. Go through all my stuff cuz my clothes do NOT fit in my closets and drawers anymore. It is a problem.

Well, after writing that list slowly and painfully with much deletion and shift option and more deletion, I must be getting back to work.

Do I have a life? hahahaha! Ok I played with doggy in the park, and talked to many friends on the phone last couple of days. Disappearing Boy came over and chatted with me while I worked and walked the dog. I got handholding for about three minutes, and some vague nonpassionate kissing initiated by me, and a hug. hah! The romance, the excitement, the heartpounding passion are just TOO MUCH for me! haha!

But it was nice to see him. First time in a month, since he came over to take care of my place while I was gone at Musicfest. He left before I got home, so that means about 6-7 weeks. oh well.

No other wild romance.
But if I am going to get a kid, may as well stay that way, or I shall be a loose woman living in sin! haha!
ok
gotta go!
me
wenchie

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily