Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Aug. 08, 2004 - 2:00 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

41 Smackeroos Day to Me

Yo Yo.

Thanks ever so much for all the birthday greetings and wishes! Mucho appreciado. Y'all are heartwarming I tell ya.

What did I do on my birthday?

I actually IRONED a long dress (yeah, one of them sorta granola cotton ones that button up the front with lots of machine embroidery) and wore it with GIRLIE shoes all day... had breakie at my regular coffeeshop where I had a spinach omelet. Yeah I know it is actually veggies, but it was cooked by the time it came to me. And there wasn't two to four cups of spinachies heaped in front of me.

The coffeeshop guy gave me my coffee for free as a birthday prezzie. hehe that is a $2.17 Cdn value (including tax).

I inked two pages of comics I didnt get done last night, and uploaded them.

I petted a new Saint Bernard walking by with a lady... she was a cutie girl only 8 months old (the dog, not the lady), and as adorable as my old geezer! I swear, they are just the most lovely sweetiest doggies.

I bought organic beef and wild boar sausages (juicey cuz they have crushed ice as one of the ingredients!) for the BBQ at L'Ecrivaine's tonight. But didn't eat them since there were enough hamburgers (l'Ecrivaine had called to say to pick up meat for me cuz there wouldn't be enough). So now I have a ton of sausages in my freezer.

I also cheated and bought that organic fair trade dark chocolate that is my fave. Hell, it's my birthday, may as well plunge myself into the bowels of debt hell, non?

I also wrote a cv/bio for an Ottawa comics show as well as downsizing photos and sample work and sent them off.

Did three loads of laundry.

And then had a wonderful lovely time at my friend l'Ecrivaine's with her and her wife (yes, wife, they got married a year ago). Yay for good friends. Old friends. I got calls as well from other old friends and my parents. A very good day.

I even drank a chocolate martini! :)

The only thing really missing was new Elita bras. sniff sniff! My mom opted to buy me four new washcloths instead, as well a whole heap of books. I got Garbo Laughs by Elizabeth Hay, which l'Ecrivaine has already borrowed (unlike some exes of mine, she can be trusted not to throw out my birthday gifts). I got Dude, Where's My Country? by Michael Moore. I believe my mom read it recently and enjoyed it. I got The Golden Compas: His Dark Materials Part 1 by Philip Pullman (a kid's novel) and The curious incident of the dog in the night-time by Mark Haddon, a novel. So I got a lot to chew on.

I also got from Lucky Kitty: a cool Pez dispenser (the character who goes Arriba arriba andele andele something like that... he's like a cartoon mouse with a sombrero... you know the one!), wonka gobstoppers with chewy centers, a Smores bar, a fuzzy St-Bernard doggy with little bone shaped candies inside, a little box of Nerds... the girl really knows her junk candy! mmm. all my faves! how did she know?

And I got five or six cards. Quite the haul. My dad says something is in the mail. Likely a card. Which is better than he did for years. What the hey. He got me a dvd player for xmas... he's off the hook for a year or three! LOL!

Now one would think I should be out partying it up on a beautiful summer Saturday night but I'm here on the internet.

Here's a coupla links:

A new column by Donna Barr, the excellentest cartoonist person who draws mostly Germans, horses, and Germans and german horses, and centaurs and more germans and horses. Most excellently since she is the excellentest. yup.

And this goofball but deadly item, Wolv erine's Claw for only $35 US. I cannot think of anyone who would want this who should have it. I picture mutant-fans, all pimply and geeky, running around slashing cardboard boxes, the neighborhood plants, and when they are drunk or on bad expensive drugs, the walls, furniture and their friends and imagined foes. Jeepers. And they say that iron knuckles are scary and illegal. Jeesh.

Well, that's it for now, unless I stumble across something amazing before I fall asleep. Lately I have gotten enough sleep at night... even dreams that were interesting and memorable. Two nights ago I dreamt I was underwater and realized that though there was no air I could breathe the water into my lungs with no ill effects. It felt really neat and was mindboggling. And last night there was some weird dream where I got along exceptionally well with the pudgy lady who is often drunk in the dog park. Very strange.

zzzz,

now 41

old me, wenchola

ps, if like me you are dismayed at how few of your regulars have been updating, and other regulars have disappeared (hello b0b0??), you might like to visit Breezip, and read her fascinating entry about blacks, Jews and politics in the States, with some history, and some news. I learned quite a lot reading this. Many links and photos.

8 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily