Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Aug. 31, 2006 - 8:08 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Tired of Being an Adult

It was an ok day yesterday.

I had someone else come look at the building... they'll tell me later by writing what they thought.
I got the upstairs balconies calked... the calk shines in the sun and looks shiny and new. yay. It took all the rest of the morning.

I played guitar (first time in over a week) while walking the dog (ok I sat down on a park bench/table) at lunch time.

I got called by Disappearing Boy (Reappearing boy) for coffee, so I took work with me and sat on a terrasse and chatted and drew and drank. It was nice. I think it is because I broke up with artsyguy that he is calling again. I dunno. I could be wrong but I think he feels out of place if I'm with a boyfriend.

I went for supper with l'Ecrivaine and it was pleasant and chatty like usual. I like it when I go out with people who enjoy talking with me instead of putting up with me, or telling me I am not ok, i talk too much, i interrupt, they don't like how I converse, I talk too loud etc. The food was great and I ate toooo much. It was an iranian restaurant. I had mango peach and ginger chicken thighs. mmmm. And baklava for dessert with iranian tea (has cardamom) cuz I was too full to eat one of their amazing desserts.

I stopped off at my mentor's place on the way home, just thinking I'd stop for a minute or two and ended up staying til midnight. He was taking it easy with beer and was going to start playing Risk with a friend, after having been held captive in his kitchen for three hours by a coworker gone mad... who ranted that he was Satan, that my friend had to look at him, that he couldn't move. Finally the satan left and my friend got three calls (from other friends/coworkers/the exgirlfriend of satan) saying that they had put complaints with the police against satan (for believing he is satan, and breaking things and threatening people) that day and asking that my friend do so to.

Weirdly enough he didn't cuz he said he couldn't deal with the police on top of it all, that he just wanted to drink beer and play Risk. Anyways I stayed and chatted, then came home. And was going to bed, but I got a call from Seite and SHE chatted and chatted and I tried to stay awake enough til 1am to give relevant comments and answers but finally I had to take my leave cuz I was dead tired.

Today was less good.

I got the submission for the house foundations. $46,000 if I want it properly fixed, not including the plumber to hook the french drains to the sewer, not including rebuilding the front and back balconies, nor landscaping and sidewalks, nor taking off and replacing the ironwork, nor anything to do with the water entry from the city if it is broken or in disrepair (it is probably old as the hills). So I can add on another $10,000 for incidentals and finishing work.

So I called three more places for fourth, fifth and sixth opinions. (Second opinion has seen the house but not sent their evaluation yet. Third opinion should be here to look next tuesday).

And then I got the written submission for roof: they had said about $6000 in person but the written submission is more like $9,900. And that doesn't include incidentals either, like finding rotten wood or other structures etc, and I cannot see that they included redoing the asphalt shingles on the little overhang either.

so let's see. I paid $210,000 for a building almost exactly 5 years ago. I had to remortgage it already to the tune of $25,000 more to do repairs and renovations a year later. And now I would need to do about $70,000 work, and that doesn't include freshening up anything... ie the old plumbing (already had a pipe corroded through in march and the rest are the same), the shitty bathrooms in four of five apartments, the worn out flooring in 4 apartments, the low amperage of the electricity coming into the building, paint, fixing cracks in the masonry, etc etc etc.

I feel exhausted and I haven't even gotten much work done.

And that is not fun either.

I am trying to check the changes I did to the drawings against the "final accepted revisions" provided by the client, but keep finding things that don't match up. Ie she told me to reduce a drawing to 80%, which I do, and then on the 'final revision" it is 100%. So I call her and say please fix the mistakes, and she sends me the final final revision and it says "reduce to 85%". And I call and she says, maybe it was supposed to be 100%. I remind her we agreed not and she had said 80%. so she is like, oh, maybe I made a mistake, go with 80% if I said 80%.

How the hell am I supposed to know if I go by what was originally said, what is in the "final accepted" version, and what was a mistake? What a nightmare. Multiply by 40 drawings, all of which I had hoped just to check MY copy to make sure it was right before I color it in. Call, argue, try to sort out, revise, revisions are wrong, ad nauseum.

I am fed up.

I hardly have time to work, and when I do, I have instructions from someone who "didn't keep the last copy' and who doesn't remember what they asked me to do. And it is badly paid.

I want to go on vacation and never come back.

I would cry if I weren't so tired.
Back to the shitty confusing mistake-ridden instructions... back to work.
Please leave a nice comment.
And if you are Johnny Depp, you could give me a back massage. Or maybe just sit across from me with your shirt open and rub your chest and smile. eh??
dang.
me
wenchie
tired of being an adult.

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily