Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Aug. 20, 2004 - 6:19 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Amazon Associating with Linkolas

WAGAWAGA!! I was doing great, going to bed around 4-5am, getting up around 12-1pm... and now somehow it is 6:18 am already and I haven't gotten the second coat of navy blue paint on the bookshelves yet.

I am painting them so that I can put them on top of the chest of drawers in the Moroccan livingroom and put my novels in there... free up studio space. yup. I found the shelves on the sidewalk awhile ago. I'm painting them navy blue with a lighter blue Indian (ie india not north america) motif on them, to match with a small throw on the couch. yeah.

I might even get my ass in gear and scrape off the peeling paint on the ceiling and fill it in with plaster so that I can paint it navy blue as well.. and then paint gold star constellations on it. mmm.

I AM going to go to Ikea on Tuesday... I am giving another literary dyke (friend of L'Ecrivaine's) a lift there in exchange for her lending me the L-Word on dvd... did I mention that that damn Seite and her teenybopper daughter (incredibly, I met them when the daughter was still breastfeeding age!) got me hooked on the L-Word when I stayed with them for my family reunion? Damn and drat! All those very very funny stereotypes... and so many threads to the drama. Now if they weren't all so darn femmey and well-put-together. I cannot stand too polished and sophisticated. Makes me 1) feel I am a huge awkward clumsy sloth and 2) that they will be SOOO high maintenance and probably very judgmental. Ironically, it is rather judgmental of me to think so, without knowing each and every one of them individually eh!

Well, every publisher and bookseller knows that people DO judge books by their covers. And too hoighty toighty doesn't do it for me. So I am surprised I got so sucked in. Funnily enough we watched that right after the Spice Girls movie... that is another trend I tried desperately to buck for a long time, until I caught myself humming their inane songs one time too many. So I admitted it... I like the Spice Girls. And I'm hooked on the L-Word.

I can hardly wait for Ikea day... I hope to get bookshelves, a wall-hanger thingie to hang up the ustensils my Dad gave me, eat some Swedish meatballs (taste like grandma's!) and maybe steal another book or two. I am a BAD girl... I have snitched more than one Swedish book from Ikea. Actually I attempt to buy them... but they are not considered merchandise.. they are considered book-shelf display filler, and so they refuse to sell them to me. I have never hidden them, but rather carried them through the checkout in plain sight, and no one has ever said "oh, let me ring that in"... and it is not like I come INTO Ikea carrying remaindered books på svensk.

Do I still count as a shoplifter???

Well, I would be a very successful housewife I think... I DID get all my swiss chard parboiled yesterday and put in the freezer, as well as some kale and some green beens. So i did NOT get to bed early last night eitiher, as I wished in my diary entry.

I am proud to have gotten a first load of swisschard processed this year, so I'll have at least another one or two harvests from the same plants. Last year and the year before the leaves just yellowed as they got older. Gotta get em while they're good and they'll keep producing up to frost.

I got three loads of laundry done, and guy FINALLY came to pick up the chest freezer. Now I can dance around my kitchen... indeed it is wonderful. I also did a load of doggie-laundry. And last night put a coat of that blue paint on the shelves, and screwed new metal L's on so it doesnt wibble wobble anymore. Cost me a whole $1.37 or so.

And tonight, I somehow got caught up in Amazon.com. Yup... I was looking to see if I could sell my comic books there on their Marketplace thingie, and then checked out what an "Associate" is... and signed up for that, so I can put a link of all my books on my illo website. And being the compulsive person I am, I did just that... redid all the html pages for each book you can buy through Amazon, so that people can click through and I'll earn the big bucks... 2.5% of cover price, so that is like getting paid royalties twice on the same books.. once from the publisher and once from Amazon. So that is a good thing. IF people actually buy any. The thing is that they have to buy WHEN they click through from my site. If they bookmark it and go back later from the bookmark, then Amazon cannot tell it was a referral from me, and no $$. And since it is a US site, they won't put my $ into my bank account (min $10) and it was minimum $100 for them to send me a check. ack. So I opted for the "payment in Amazon gift certificates" which only has a minimum of $10.

That is not necessarily a bad thing, since my Amazon wishlist is longer than my arm, and it will be a way for me to buy those books without actually "spending" any money... since it doesn't cost me any $ to put their link on my pages. Let's see if people actually buy buy buy. hah.

So, that's what I've been doing since 11pm... adding little Amazon links.

I should sign up for Diaryland too... then if people buy the books or cds I mention when I put an amazon link, I'd make mooolah. mooooo.

I think i am really really tired.

This is quite dull. But you learned all about the "Amazon Associate Program". There are over 900,000 amazon associates. who knew.

Well, gotta go. More to say tomorrow.

nite nite, me, wenchie.

zzzzzzz

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily