Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Mar. 19, 2004 - 10:57 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Belgium exports Snobbery

Wow and wow. Now we see why "PRIDE" is one of the seven deadly sins. In French there is fiert� and orgeuil... the first is pride like "Gay Pride Day" and "I'm proud of my son". The second is .... well I'll give you an example.

I did a wee bit of shopping tonight (new thin socks to wear in my flamenco shoes since with nylons my feet slide into the toes, a wall calendar so I can see what's up etc). I brought with me the few color "Book Launch" posters I had left to put up when I walked by someplace that looked likely.

The last one I was going to put up at the entry of the mostly french bookstore Renaud-Bray. But then I noticed a little sign that said we had to get flyers and posters approved before hanging them in the entry. So I go to the cash. And wait while this very self-possessed young woman checked out a few clients, including having to walk back and forth several times getting prices checked. I thought... look how she dresses and carries herself... looks so mature. Hmmm.

Finally it is my turn. She puts out a page for whomever it is who will approve my poster. And then I make the BIG MISTAKE. I ask her if she reads English comics, planning of course, to give her a little invite card if she says yes. You know, all friendly and welcome to my book launch like.

HAHAHA!! She draws herself up and says "Of COURSE NOT!!I am Belgian!!! I'm like yes, but you could still read comics. (I mean, what the hell does "Belgian" have to do with what one reads???)

"WE are world-renowned for the BEST comics" she intones down her nose. Um yes, well, I cannot argue with that, (though some Manga fans might argue in favour of Japan...)

I'm like uhuh, but of course you could STILL read comics from OTHER places. She looked like I had suggested she lick my dog's ass.

I told her, you know there was no way I could know from looking at her that she was Belgian, that if I KNEW she was Belgian, that had no bearing on what languages she might speak, and indeed no bearing whatsoever on whether or not she herself read comics in ANY language. I said I would not presume that a whole country LOVED comics and ONLY read Belgian comics.

She was totally insulted and would not speak to me anymore, fixedly looking at the wall after telling me to lower my voice.

Very strange.

Anyways, that is Orgeuil with a big O. Some weird kind of pride that is insulted if someone asks you your personal preferences in order to invite you to something.

Very very full of herself. And once again adding weight to my theory that external trappings of maturity and reasonableness have absolutely no correlation to actual maturity and reasonableness.

I guess I won't ask any asian people if they like sushi if I want to invite them to a restaurant. With my luck they would be Chinese and act like "I am CHINESE and CHINESE have the BEST food.". Bizarre.

Better luck to the rest of ya.

tah!

wenchie

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily