Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Sept. 03, 2004 - 4:37 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Shelving Rocks but it Shouldn't

Oh I am a lazy suck. No pics tonight. tuff shit.

I cannot believe how time flies. All the work I plan to get done in a day. I did the L-Word dvds back to the girl who lent them to me, AND I picked up her short black Billy bookshelf... she was a real sweetie and just gave it to me. I offered money but she just wanted the billy out so she could put this other wooden shelf there.

Imagine people who can give bookshelves away. Boggling.

So I just managed to get it set up in the livingroom. I had to move a large blue chest (one of them cedar lined type ones, blue metal on the outside... my mom bought it to store stuff in when she divorced my dad in 1974... it really has seen its better days). And now that the shelves are there instead of the chest which was three times as wide, the room really opens up.

I will put all the large format thin kids books there... all the color picture books. That will free up space in my studio for reference books. And I can always read stories to kids in the livingroom.

I wiped down a bunch of the books and got rid of two boxes. I couldve done more but I have to level the shelves tomorrow. They ARE level but rock, since they stand on the bottoms of their side walls and the floor has a little hump in it. I'll just get some of them little felt thingies... the thickness will be enough to stop the rocking. Just a wee sliver.

It is so exciting to see boxes leave the livingroom. I realize that these Billy shelves take so many books, that I think I can dispense with all the boxes if I buy just one tall wide bookcase. But I might go for two... allllll my books are so squeezed and no space.

Anyways, it takes a lot of time to wipe down books one by one. They have to be set up like a card castle (and fall over like one) so they can dry before I shove them all squeezed into the shelves.

I also tied up all the tomatoes that were falling over, and snipped off a coupla scraggy long ends that weren't ever going to produce a tomato this year. Poor things. They are TRYING to reach the light... there are flower buds on the top of them where it is brighter, but too little too late, sweet tomato plants. sigh.

I also worked on character sketches for my new dog book (the man, not the dog)... it is complicated. He is mean and wants to get rid of the dog. If I make him a cantankerous old man it will be stereotypical. But then if I make him a young groomed man, that is what would be expected to counter the stereotype of the ugly guy is evil. And let me tell you I have NO desire to spend the next three months painting some guy who is properly groomed and has nice modern surroundings. Urk. It would be fun to shop for such props for a movie, but not to draw it. Very dull. All those clean shiny surfaces and straight edges.

So I think I will go for maybe 35-40, not so groomed... I think I'll maybe make up a subtext that he had a family he has lost. And he is pushing away intimacy. (hehe, boy oh boy for a kid's book eh)... that wouldn't be written, just I would have him be his grumbly dog-hating self, but have a photo of a woman and child on his bedside stand. Maybe a pic on the wall of him cleaner and spiffier with a woman. Have the dog be annoying the man by chewing up the photo or something, or getting into a box of kid's clothes. Hmmm. It would explain why he is illkempt in the woods alone, being cantankerous towards a dog.

What do you think?

Well, I'm gonna look through a few more books for ideas on settings, furnishings, clothes and the look of the guy (cheekbones, big thin nose, stubble, straight stringy hair too long)... hmmm.

tah.

me,

tired

wenchie.

Here is my horoscope for Thursday, September 2:

You're in the mood to chat -- there's no doubt about it. You're also in the mood to chat long distance, so hopefully you've accumulated some rollover minutes. If you haven't, better stop and buy a phone card.

They are wrong. I didn't chat much today, and phoned absolutely no one. zero. zippo. nada.

And this is Tuesday's:

Here is my horoscope for Tuesday, August 31:

If you're on top of your game -- and when aren't you? -- you could move quickly into an extremely favorable romantic situation with a minimum of effort. Don't miss a single chance to work it all out.

They should be weathermen, who are known for being wrong about 3 times out of 5. yup. that is so dumb. duh. Romantic situation. Well, I did watch the L-Word. Does that count? I think my cat purred once or twice.

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily