Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Nov. 21, 2004 - 4:38 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

All is Not Fair at the Book Fair

This is a prezzy from Onewetleg... what a sweetie.

Well, a pretty good day. I signed a few books at the Book Fair with the author. She was rather funny, or sort of annoying, you pick... and then I gave her advice which she hated... yup. Dang me and my mouth. Cuz she INSISTED on telling the WHOLE story PAGE BY PAGE to EVERY poor person who slowed down... and you could see that they were being polite but dying to leave. Or dying to pick up the book and look at it, but she was holding it down and pointing to things on the page. One little girl was even trying to turn the page and the author HELD DOWN the page and continued to tell the whole bloody story in detail...

I was like "leave them wanting" "don't tell the end so they'll want to read it" "just give them a summary and then let them pick it up and flip through it".

I am sure that her storytelling is wonderful when she is going into a school or somesuch and the children are sitting there to hear a story and she is the sole focus. But these are poor people stuck in a maze the size of a football stadium, filled with booths of editors, each of which is peppered with tables at which sit eager writers and illustrators, salespeople and editors... books and books and books and books and books and books. Did I ever mention I HATE ok just dislike quite alot, the Book Fair??

So, someone who is planning to go all the way through this place in several hours does NOT want to hear the WHOLE bloody story, PAGE BY PAGE. They want to glance and take note, take a card if they want to keep it in mind to buy it later.

And even if they want to buy it now, do you want to have EVERY plot turn, AND the ending pointed out? Dang.

Not to mention that when I shop I don't mind someone making suggestions, but standing there and pointing out every feature, "look at this, look at that, did you see this" makes me want to put down the item and escape. You could clearly see that on these people's face, as they politely waited to vamoose as quickly as possible.

So the book-signing/ table staffing was somewhat painful.

But ok. At least several people bought books. Usually I just sign lots of bookmarks. Or sit there blankly. hehe.

Gosh I hate that place. Huge. Indoors. Accessed through subway tunnels and interminable underground shopping malls. Dry air, overheated, flourescents, echos, a gabazillion and three people. Ack.

Give me a dusty bookshelf, a cozy room, a comfy chair and a coffee anytime.

Anyhews, yeah I annoyed the author. OH well. But we went for coffee afterwards and that was fun... lots of chatting.

Got home walked doggies and got lots of work done on the Leo's Dog book. The author was there at the Book Fair and I was afeared he would accost me and demand to know why the book wasn't done yet, but other than waving at me he vanished. So that was great. He was probably overwhelmed too cuz he was signing books AND was there in editor capacity (he is the editor for other books I work on at a different company).

Vaccuumed and washed the dishes. Now I am zotted. Sorry I am too lazy to scan in any pics or drawings. I am off to bed now.

Nothing funny to relate, not really. So I'll leave it at that.

And yeah, cheese is great on sandwiches, especially melted. But when you have the very last tomatoes from your very own vines in your garden, you just want to taste ONLY tomato so, no cheese. mmmm.

nite nite!
me
wenchie

Here is my horoscope for Saturday, November 20:

As a fire sign, you're familiar with the concept of impulsive action, and that's a good thing. Today's astrological buffet will give you all the reasons you ever needed to act out, especially if you've been feeling romantically repressed.

Haha. romantically repressed. act out. impulsive action. haha. I dont think I have any romantic to BE repressed. Nor sex live nor lust desire. Speaking of which, whatever has happened to Dangerspouse? I swear he used to be online EVERY DAY. I miss him.

well, nite nite again!
tah!

6 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily