Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Eating today: Scharffen Berger chocolate

Drinking today: Reveil Matin fairtrade coffee

Listening to: Multiple Public Service ads by political groups pre-election

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Jun. 27, 2004 - 1:20 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Snail Mail Chocolate and Circus Banners.

No. I will not write any bad words.

I will breathe deeply and just be glad that it is not once again, Corona spilled on the keyboard (btw Mac PC keyboards seem to be immune to Corona... yay!!)... non, somehow i hit the wrong key and the past three paragraphs of entry just vanished and reappeared as "white blank page". youpee. I shall start over. sigh.

Youpee youpee!! (it is harder to be spontaneous when rewriting enthusiasm)... lookie here to the right! This is a prezzie newly arrived from our diaryland's dear Bindyree. I am not quite sure what I did to deserve not one but TWO packages of four bars as you see before you, other than whine "NOOO CHOCOLATE!! I HAVE NO CHOCOLATE! AAAAAAAAAGGgggggggggggggggghhhhhhgggghhhhhhhhhllllllllbbblblblblblblblbllbllll.......". Well, it seems to have worked whatever it was, cuz boy was I blessed with a prezzie! Thankyou thankyou Brindyree, queen of above who showers us mortals with the wonders of the chocolate gods! I must recommend the two coffee ones: the "Nibby" has chunks of coffee beans in it, and the "Mocha" has little ground beans in it. mmmm. Both excellente. So, yeah. good stuff, and I thank you with great appreciation Brin! Goes GREAT with coffee, of course.

Well, I went and looked ath the Scheffen Berger Chocolate website. It is manufactured in Berekely and has a store on the San Fran docks. Very interesting. I got stuck on this VERY LONG but informative page about organic chocolate, fair trade, coffee quality and production, sustainability etc. I am not sure, but I think it is all cuz the type of people who buy quality chocolate in California want to buy organic fair trade chocolate (well, me too!)... read it and you will, as the page admits, end up with more questions than answers. But it is very interesting and you will learn more about cocoa than you even knew you wanted to know. hehe.

Now another interesting thing to look at tonight, is these pages about Circus Banners at a Sideshow School...The class on how to make them is taught by one Dr. Marie A Roberts who has been the sideshow banner painter for the Coney Island Sideshow since 1997. Very fun stuff. Check it out. BTW I got there via the two people that Im2evil4u was chatting up in a bar the other night, who are in fact sideshow freaks themselves... Insectivora and the Amazing Blazing Tyler Fyre.

Well, today was an interesting social day. I was woken up to Fagboy phoning me to invite me to a "sleazy" fag barbecue... he said he'd made a ton of food and a bunch of people had cancelled and he hadn't seen me in awhile and would I mind to dress sleazily (he said he knew I'd be good at it) and come to join their gay boy barbecue. Well, I said I'd walk the dog, do my comics page and be right over. :D

Unfortunately in the next half hour a gazillion more people cancelled on him, so he called back and said it was off, but he'd reinvite me when they did it another day. In the meantime all the meat was going in the freezer. heh. Easy come easy go.

After the comics instead I was a very good girl and actually washed off all the leaves of the poor oleander with scale insects that has been waiting in quarantine since this past winter's bug fiasco, as I have mulled over chopping it down completely. Nope. I scrubbed it all down. It looks very happy and ready to express its joy with flowering. It has gorgeous flowers. Also, I sprayed it down a week ago with the bakingsoda/ floor soap mixture that I spray my peonies with for mildew. I figured what the heck. Maybe it will kill the babies before they make even MORE adults. But interestingly as I was scrubbing today, all the adults seemed to be dried up and dead as well!!

Have I discovered that baking soda is the secret ingredient that will dry out scale insects? I will try it on the other livingroom plants. THEY are now under scrutiny for having their stems lopped off at ground level. I am so tired of these bloody bugs.

Finishing off the plant leaves, I thought "oh, there is that guy who called me for a coffee whom I met at the copycenter. I am hungry, i could always call him back and invite him to go to the coffeeshop with me"... I had no idea what this guy even looked like, but he has called twice asking to go for coffee, and I was in a rush AND ill. I gave him my # when he was in the copycenter while I copied images for the Far North book, and I mentioned I needed a picture of an inuit constellation. He said he had a friend who'd written a paper on just such a topic, so I gave my number.

Well, tonight he was making dinner already so invited me over. Sort of a blind date. He lives about 5 minutes on bike from here. Turns out he is 45, does astrology, gardening, house renovations and is starting to paint. And has many cats. He doesnt seem to believe in getting animals fixed, so his two cats have had "about a hundred" kittens in the past however many years. At this point there were 4 very cute grey tigerstriped ones that were 3 months old. And they snagged the hell out of my jeans. oh well. I offered to clip their toenails and he just looked appalled and said "on est sauvage ici"... i guess that translates as being a nature boy or something.

I washed the veggies and he thought i was bogglingly strange to want to wash the peppers off with soap. I am used to washing with the Nature Clean soap I have at home... takes off all the pesticides and grime from people's fingers. I'm not real fastidious, but I am argumentative, so I started telling him what all could possibly be on his peppers and coriander when he was pooh pooing washing them. Now he's gonna ask all his friends if they wash their veggies. I told him a carrot with dirt on it, straight out of the ground, is cleaner (in a bad for us kind of way) than aboveground handpicked produce from a supermarket. ie you can get e coli from strawberries. He thinks washing strawberries changes their flavour for the worse.

Anyways, I don't know if I'll see him again (mmm, he did astrology for a living for years, and wants kids) but I suppose it was interesting brushing up against another adult's mindset for a couple of hours.

May I say fuck and fuck?? I am trying to update my comics page, but for some reason the stupid auto update system is reading the comic jpeg as width=0 and height=0. I know the comic is uploaded, or it wouldn't update and in the sourcecode, the actual img name of the jpg wouldnt be listed. But what is this 0 dimensions thing?? As a result it is not showing up on the page. And I don't know how to change it. I don't know how to delete what is there and replace it, cuz once it is auto updated it is out of the file I am allowed to upload into. screwy screwy. What is the point of uploading a comic if no one can see it. Well, this is my problem not yours.

Well, it is now nearly 4am. What have i been doing? well, supposedly putting away all the hundreds and hundreds of drawings fro my erstwhile US client, which they sent back to me on Friday all wrapped up in bubble wrap. Now that is nice since the bubblewrap can be used to send comic books off to people. yay. But why is it taking me hours? Because they have stuck little pieces of scotch tape on all the drawings. It looks like they used that matte scotchtape to stick the drawings on some surface, and then just used an exacto to cut them off the surface, leaving at least two pieces of scotch tape stuck on the front of each. It is a pain. It tears the paper. Sometimes they have cut into the front of the paper with their stupid exacto. And they have not returned them with the protective tracing paper I painstakingly stuck on the front of every one, so they now rub together. grrrrr. Now I KNOW that this is not a weird thing to ask, since the first ten books I did for them, the drawings came back with the protective papers AND no scotch tape AND no exacto cuts. grrrr. Anyways, it is a super pain to pull tiny pieces of tearing tape off about 400 drawings. grrr. That is between 800 and 1200 pieces of tape, BEFORE they tear. This makes me grumpy. Oh well. I have another 100 to do. What a waste of time. bye for now.

Here is my horoscope for Saturday, June 26:

Make your own action. You've done some fabulous work, and now you want to show it off. These next few days will be a time to remember.

What does that mean? Show off my work? it is all gone. And I called today, and the editor did NOT receive the package of Far North drawings I sent on Wednesday. They shouldve arrived on Friday but did not. poop. So you lucky people have seen them and she has not hehe. tah!

6 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily