Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Jan. 21, 2006 - 6:58 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Bye Bye Buddies Bye Bye

Well, some of you seem to have a few problems with my last entry.

Funny, when I wrote the last paragraph about harmonising with your neighbors, at that point I was thinking of if one is in one's house and the neighbors in the next house are such and such, one should be expected to be like them in order not to argue. Such as 'if you are a sensitive caring husband and your neighbors are macho beat their wives, you should too in order to keep good relations with them". If you do not personally beat your neighbors, then obviously this analogy does not apply to you personally eh? If you are not personally a Bush supporter, if you are not personally uneducated, in debt, aggressive, violent, outsourcing and inhumane, perhaps I am , well, not talking about you. At all.

If you cannot see that when I talk about Harper harmonising with the US (his words, not mine) means American policies and not American citizens, I have no idea what to say to you.

When we say 'the Germans attacked France' or 'Japan's aggression in China' we are not painting every German citizen as some attacking idiot, nor every Japanese person as aggressive. When an American says 'Our Canadian neighbors support gays rights to marriage', it certainly doesn't mean that every individual Canadian citizen embraces lesbian and gay rights, Far from it in fact.

Ironically, the words I used in the last entry come from Americans themselves, Americans I read in Harper's magazine such as Lewis Lapham, Americans from ACLU, Americans such as Michael Moore, Americans who write anti-Bush songs (they are legion), and deplore American invasions around the world.

So it is a bit bizarre to me to see left-leaning Americans, the same who express exactly what I wrote, tell me that it is horrid how I paint American policy and every individual American as horrid. A bit bizarre to have the same people writing me to say how they would like to flee America to Canada because of how America is being and becoming at home and in the international arena say that they suddenly think I am an intolerant bigot when I say that I am afraid of Canada becoming like the very America that they deplore.

I reread my entry.

If you remove me from your buddy list because of it, well, you are welcome.

Welcome to the new across-the-board North American policy, since you seem to like it so much. Harmonise Harmonise. la la la.

Let's all vote Harper in.
Yes, let's do.
After all, saying the truth about America loses you friends, and we'd not want to lose any friends by criticizing the very policies that they freak out on themselves.

See, Harper is right.
If we don't suck ass, we're given the boot.

btw I have written much more angry anti-American policy stuff before, esp during the previous US election. Funny no one freaked then.
What the hell is the problem now??

Anyways, I am not sure why I am writing this.
Apparently I am already blacklisted so the people it is written to have stopped reading.

cheers.
And I dunno...
I find it totally ironic how all the Americans I know begged me and other Canadians to be anti-Bush, anti-what american is becoming, at the American's last election. And how when I am afraid that a Bush wannabe may get elected in two days in Canada, suddenly those same people are not interested, have no idea even who Harper is or his policies, and take offence that I would want THEM to know what is happening up here.

I guess only Americans get to say "oh let's escape to Canada, America has gone to pot". Strangely dissent is patriotic if you are an american criticising america, but dispicable if you are anyone else.

Let's see. We may now have Freedom Bacon instead of Canadian Bacon (viva le French Toast),

all because of me.
wenchie

as the country swings right.

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily