Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Nov. 03, 2004 - 4:11 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Ohio Ohio Oh where for art thou Ohio?

Depressing.

Haha, to those who called me cynical yesterday... haha.

Yeah right. You want to know why we, every once in awhile, sound like rabid anti-americans? Well, because of how 50% of you vote. That's why. Because of the values that are betrayed by that voting. Or the lack of values. It is truly frightening to people who care about people. To people who care about the planet. Who care about peace and tolerance. Who want to live a good life and allow others to live a good life.

You realize that if Ohio comes through as Bush, then we Canadians are stuck on the longest unprotected border that y'all want to defect across eh. Yeah right.

How much do you want to bet within the next 4 years we will be welcoming draft dodgers. Huh.

Do you realize that we have to cross that border every time we visit you, and deal with border guards that act like WE want to, are dying to, just can't wait to, MOVE TO the UNITED STATES? Do you realize how hard it is not to curl your upper lip and spit when they say that? I realize that parts of the states are lovely. That sometimes we have lovers and friends and family there as well as intelligent artistic gayfriendly wonderful good friends there and actually are not adverse to them or their neighborhoods, but that in general, we are going THANK GOD I'M A CANADIAN AND COME HOME!!!

Imagine. Our government is not overturning legal rulings stating that constitutionally gay people can marry. And the world is not falling apart. We have healthcare, and for the most part can read and write and the world does not hate us. We don't have to travel without our country's flag on our backpacks for fear of the reaction. Let me reiterate what Bin Laden said. They did NOT attack the states cuz they hate freedom. If they hated freedom they would have bombed Sweden. They did not bomb Sweden. Or Canada. Or any of us other democracies.

The funny thing is that people are behind Bush because he is being attacked. And thus they feel attacked. Hello people of the United States of America. You are not your president. You are not your vice president. Or your secretary of state or your security chief. When we say that America is invading countries illegally, they are. Your leaders. When we say they are giving warprofiteering contracts without bidding to their cronies, they are. When we say they are taking away your civil rights and making it legal to secretly disappear people without trial, they are. When we say that they are and have been dabbling in international politics like a bunch of greedy children playing a monopoly game combined with Risk they are. But saying those true things explains why people hate them and hate what your country stands for.

By chosing leaders who do something else. Like create a wonderful country where the much vaunted and oft forgotten Christian values of tolerance, love, peace and charity instead of mucking about in the world, making sure it is safe for SUVs and McDonalds. Worry about your impoverished citizens. Worry about the racism the sexism the classism within your borders. Work hard. Eat less junk food and get more exercise. Make sure everyone has a financial net and healthcare.

And funnily enough, you would be more like Canada and Sweden. People would write emails and comments in your diaries saying "we want to come live in your country" like they do to me. First world people, not third world people, like the ones who want to come to the USA. But of course for me to say such things is arrogant. Unlike Mr. Bush who tells the world, and your citizens who tell the world through Mr. Bush that YOU are the BEST THE GREATEST THE MOST POWERFUL THE MOST GOD-FEARING THE MOST MORAL country in the whole world. Of course that is not arrogant. Seems that Frawnce (which is how one American wrote it to me in an email) has the corner on arrogance in American minds.

So frightening.

Yay for preemptive strikes. Yay for the world being afraid of them, and so feeling they need to arm against a nuclear bully who may look their direction any moment. Yay for the fear of international nuclear war. I missed it in the several years between the fall of the Berlin Wall and Sept 11. I really did. I mean, what will little children have to be afraid of if there is no nuclear war?

I hate to say it, but there is a reason why Bin Laden attacked America. And will attack again. With more and more supporters as American policy creates more death, more destruction, more havoc and chaos that comes with war, together with the joblessness, homelessness, poverty and desire for revenge that that war brings. Yay for replacing dictators with terrorists. Someone said to me "oh, yeah so those Iraqis all died in the war with Americans, well just as many would have died in shredders if Saddam were still there". Great. So now everything Americans do is ok as long as it is the equivalent of a sadistic murderous dictator. Yay.

Maybe the police should act like that. "oh we only killed as many innocent citizens looking for the serial killer as the serial killer would have killed". yay. At that point, there is one sadistic killer but every police looks like death. And I suspect that soon every American soldier will look like death to Iraqis and soon whom? Iran? Sudan? ...

I am just ranting.

Sorry. I am sort of venting in disbelief that 50 % of your population can be deluded. No, not deluded. Standing up next to the bully. That is what happens in schoolyards. If the bully is your friend you are happy to sneer with him and push down other kids. This is exactly why I lost ob. Isn't that funny. She loved me when she said I was crueler than her Mme. But her Mme was steadfast and uncaring in her cruelty so ob looked up to her, rather than liberal take everyone into consideration me. In times of uncertainty, who wants knowledge of reality? It is so complicated and messy. What we want are cruel uncaring disdainful liars with arrogant attitudes as long as they don't waver.

Gosh. I need an editor. blah blahblah.

I feel like puking.

On other news... my veggies from the garden still aren't scalded for the freezer, and the Dresden Dolls were fantastic. Perhaps I'll try another entry.

And no, you may not come and live with me in Canada. We have enough problem here in Canada with idiot businessmen who want to "harmonize" with the United States and do "deep integration" with your policies in order to remain friendly and buddylike with your lovely government. I believe it is called asskissing. Asshole licking. Bootlicking. Funny how submissives act in the interests of others.

Nope you have to stay and fight against this horrid turn of events in your country. Even if somehow Ohio comes through as Kerry, you still know that 50% of your electorate are pro-Bush and his policies. I just hope you don't start disappearing. Your govt likes secrecy. A lot.

And here I'll do my best against our idiot businessmen.

You know what's wrong with me? I put morals before self-interest. It is hell on the finances and social life.

cheers.
good luck.
wenchie

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily