Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2004 - 11:07 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

From Chunk to Hunk

Hiya! Well, I just finished a really nummy greenpepper and spinach (thankdalord for frozen spinach in nuggets so I don't have to defrost enough for a family of four!) and cheese omelet. mmm. And reading a few diaries, I clicked on a "go fuck yourself" link over there at Sleepyzoe's, and ended up at Bitchypoo's place.

Where I found a link that LOOKED like something about chunky hunks... I thought maybe it is a fat promo thing for big guys who are hunks... who knows? Maybe they'll be the next Chippendales for the generally obese US population?? Now that we put down skinny women, why not put down skinny men?

Nope, it is for a book by a guy, Fred Anderson, who lost 170 poundseating well and exercising. No funky diets, No eating at Subway everyday, No tummy stapling. Just eating well, NOT counting calories, and exercising every day.

Looks like one of the saner things I've ever seen. I mean really... I have a dog. When I don't walk it, and feed it too much (like when she makes THOSE EYES at me!) and give it too many goodies, she gets sedentary and obese. Yup. And when I feed her the amount it says on the bag, and walk her twice a day, she stays the size she grew to when she stopped growing. Has been the same weight for 7 years now and the vet always says how she's in great shape (despite her hereditarily bad joints due to arthritis and dysplasia poor baby... but if she was overweight TOO she'd need a wheelchair).

And I used to binge eat when I was upset or lonely or depressed or whatever when I was let's say 15-20. I went on diets with roomates and friends, or swore off all fats, or all kinds of drastic stuff. My weight would go up and down. I felt like crap. I counted every calorie. I felt guilty if I so much looked at a chocolate bar. And if I ate one I felt so guilty I'd eat another six to mollify myself. (anyone else ever done that? hehe) I weighed myself all the time. I stressed.

And then a friend got me into weights, and I started doing it regularly. I felt strong and healthy (though I GAINED rather than lost weight). And then my massage school teacher asked when the last time I ate a proper meal was... she offered to take me shopping in a foodstore. I felt so humiliated, I turned her down, and started eating properly the next day.

BAVOOM, I wear the same size jeans I wore at 25 (I'm 40 now)...Not the same size I was at 16, which would be unrealistic and crazy, but the same size since I became a fullgrown adult. I have gone up and down a bit (ie a massive 30 pounds fluctuation from biggest to smallest), but never counting calories, never dieting, never depriving myself of yummy things like butter and chocolate, never pigging out due to shame or fear or hatred or just plain gluttony (well, like this guy says, on some Fridays... his day to eat ANYTHING, he pigs out)... but not pigging out such as eating a whole box of breakfast cereal at one go, or eating 12 muffins, or eating three bags of chips,... that sort of pigging out. I do the sort of "Christmas dinner, too many good things ohmygod" pigging out... which happens... well, at special times like Christmas!

And being fat actually runs in my family. I can put on weight like a BALLOON I tell ya... just like my grandma, my Dad, my cousins and aunts. But I don't want to be fat, cuz all those fat people have the heart problem shit that ALSO runs in my family... And let me tell ya, it is hard to lose over 100 pounds when the doctor says he has to do heart surgery and even that isn't gonna help if you don't lose the 100 pounds. EEK!

I may still die of a heart attack, but at least I can do sports without losing my breath, and can fit into clothes off the rack, or into seats on buses and trains, and when I bend down to tie my shoes my fat doesnt pinch in rolls under my ribcage (it DID when I was 19... ouch!).

So, anyhowz, this guy has written a book about how he went from a Chunk to a Hunk (it's a cute title... he knows he's not a hunk, just normal!) by eating normally and getting regular exercise.

And so I wanted to pass that onto you. Cuz one of the best things you can do if you love yourself, is just eat well and be active. Cuz it's fun (I've done weights... very zen, climbing ... very allover body and head challenging, but prone to injuries, bellydancing, flamenco, cycling, swimming, canoeing... whatever is FUN or makes me feel GOOD when I'm doing it and when i'm done). Yeah.

And if you do that, your body will go to whatever shape it was supposed to go. Which may be thin, or may be medium or may be just round and healthy. Yeah. And throw out the scales, the diet tea, the calorie counter, and the stress. I eat less food when I savour every mouthful... mmmmm St Andre cheese. yeah.

That's it for now... totally not planned topic... but I wanted to save the link to this guy's book and pass on his site, even if you don't get the book (which I won't).

Tah!

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily