Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Music Today: Cyndi Lauper: "At Last"

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, May. 22, 2005 - 7:07 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Countryside Cityside Lots of Work

This is my second entry today. To read the first, go here. And what is in blockquote is not mine, it is something I was sent... no idea who wrote it though. My comments are what is regular writing.

So, I should be dead tired, which I was at 11pm, but I'm feeling ok, so I'll write a real update. I DID have a nap at about 11:30 last night cuz I was so zotted.

Still kind of tired from wacky time turnabouts when I visited my friend in the countryside.

I had a really great time. Her girls are growing so fast. It seems like they were babies, then the youngest was three, and now she's seven. It doesn't help I only see them every six months or so. I got them these Audubon stuffed birds which have recordings of real bird species, which they loved. I could hear the birds chirping at bedtime and at breakfast time, and one of the girls made a nest for hers from a hat and leaves from a fake flower, and the other took hers to school. Although she said she gave it to the teacher for safekeeping since the books in her desk with it kept making it chirp! Incredibly enough since they sound like real birds, they are not annoying like most noisy toys.

And it was the youngest's seventh birthday this monday, so I got them both Groovy Girl dolls (since I never am there for the older one's birthday)... they already had one each, but fortunately the ones I gave them were different. Though they pointed out that if they had been the same, they would have simply been twins. Yay for kids!

We got to see the chickens (and bring home over a dozen fresh eggs), the new (6month old) Newfie dog they got, the duck in the pond, the kitty, the hamster. It really is great to have a hubby to makes $, a father who can build your house (ok I have one of those but hers is actually nice to her ALL the time wow), and a place in the countryside with two kids and animals and garden when you have an arts degree. Though she got a masters and so is qualified to teach art at college level (here that is BETWEEN highschool and university). I love visiting them, it just seems all so healthy and sane. Though she does look tired.

It was my friend's birthday the week before I went so I gave her "mommy-pampering" gifts: bath bombs (my fave is the lily of the valley one), a scrubby hand mitten, towels, some expensive body cream, all from Bella Pella, a botanicals shop here in town, and a back massage from me. I never knew before that Burt's Balm is great for giving massages! It is partly almond oil, but also has beeswax, so it stays workable longer than just oil, and smells rather nice. Good stuff.

So that's my little rundown of the visit in the countryside. Oh, i should mention, my doggy is showing her age... she really was lagging behind on the (not very long) walks around their property. Also she is grumpy with their exuberant puppy, and jealous of my attention. hehe.

Jump to today (Saturday). They had threatened rain starting in the morning, so I stayed up after finishing my work to sprinkle three bags of Black Earth on the backyard lawn where it has hollows, and then seed shady lawn grass seed, and thyme rampante (some sort of groundcover thyme that should have white and purple flowers, only 4" tall)... Hopefully some of it will take and cover in the bare spots in the lawn that the moss has decided not to invade.

Got to bed around 8am, yikes!

It didn't actually rain all day, so I got to do more work in the yard. I got a bunch of broken masonry from the grade school down the street where they are replacing the brick, and put it down where I will grow my potatoes. Bought two black rubbermaid garbage cans and drilled them full of 1/2 holes (well the bottom, and 2-3" on the sides at the bottom). That was very satisfying and fun to do. Stuck em on top of the broken bricks for drainage, and put some grow mix and shrimp (and homemade) compost in them. They are now just waiting for my seed potatoes to sprout so I can plant them. A fun new project.

I dragged the excess dirt from my fence-fixing project in my doggy's bike trailer cum garden cart (you can take off the bike hitch and put a garden cart handle) off to an empty lot down aways. So that's taken care of. It was sitting in doggy's airline crate on the lawn, killing the lawn. What would I do for gardening without doggy accoutrements??

Reseeded the lawn where the airline crate was. Snipped by hand all the weeds and groundcover.

The strawberries i replanted, and the ones in the lawn are all flowering to beat the band. YAY! And there might actually be some raspberries again. mmmm.

Took the wagon and got two bags of cat food, a huge bag of dog food, dog goodies and a doggy "rake"..... I fear I forgot her good "rake" at my friend's in the countryside, or in the car when I went. It WAS on the doorknob. Anyways, it was funny having this huge load of animal supplies in the wagon going down the sidewalk.

Used the new rake to get rid of some of the winter fur doggies still has. I don't know if it is her age or her anti-inflammatory meds, but she is totally NOT shedding her winter coat properly. It is mostly still stuck in there. She's tooo warm with it. It used to come out really easily, all at once in one brushing in March. And it's already mid-May. I don't get it. I think it makes her itchy too, as she is scrunching at her legs with her mouth crunch crunch crunch, as though she is scratching an itch. hmmm. I have to get into her tail and butthair (the back of her thighs is the longest hair on her body and some of the thickest... for sitting on ice rinks I suppose??)... but it smells like a public washroom so she's gotta have a buttbath with nice doggy shampoo before I get down into there to weed out the winter fluff. Dreadlocks soaked in peepee. yuck. hehe.

OK, what else did I do? Swept the floor, called Disappearing Boy for his birthday... I'll maybe take him out for a beer next week. He is working really hard on a decoration project... redoing the plaster on someone's walls and doing faux finis. Did two pages of comics. (finally caught up to Sunday)

I dunno, seemed like a very busy full day.
More tomorrow!
Forward and onward!

btw, reading about the difficulties of children in post-care adoption is mind-opening re my adopted little sister we gave up when I was about 9 or 10. Suddenly she is not a weird bizarre case, but one of a predictable set of unpredictable behaviour. It even says they tend to be overstimulated in grocery stores... one place that she'd exhibit weird behaviour. hmmm.

ok, nite nite... it is already 7:13 am.

yikes
me
wenchie

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily