Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Aug. 07, 2004 - 1:13 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Birthday Plans and Combine Photos

Yowza yowza! I gotta update or no one comes to visit! LOL! I suppose that is not surprising.

Sorry, I have been sort of busy. I have been drawing comics, vacuuming, gardening (boy, tomatoes flop alot in a week, esp if it rains hard!), got lots of photos back so spent time looking at them instead of uploading them, cooking and dealing with veggies, updating my page of stores which carry my comic books, and registering a domain name and getting a webhost.

Who knew it was so time consuming and all... Well, actually I *did* know... I did most of my research way back when. Now that I already have a comics site, I really only need one domain for my illustration, instead of two, so that narrowed down my options.

Pricewise and good reviews wise, I went with IX Webhosting. You may notice, as one reviewer said, that their site is hard on the eyes... rather tacky template and icons but it gets high marks for service, no-question refunds and reliability, as well as ease-of-use. I must admit i would like fewer classy icons and more descriptive words in the control panel, but then I like things explained in detail.

Right now the actual name is not working yet... apparently takes 24-72 hours for all the browsers, servers, whatever, to connect the registered name to the IP addy. That's ok, cuz I have no content built yet to put up. Perhaps tomorrow night or Sunday more likely, since tomorrow is my birthday. Well, according to this Diaryland date, it is today. Yup. the 7th. A nice magical number.

And I am taking the doggy over to L'Ecrivaine's house for a BBQ for my birthday tomorrow evening (Saturday)... Hotsauce was supposed to have his yearly BBQ out at his country place (well his so suburban that it is a tiny old small town place) which would have nicely coincided with my birthday, but he is dying of acid reflux. That is not a good thing. I am worried about his health. He said his throat all closed up and he felt like he couldnt breathe.

But in the meantime, we are having a BBQ without him, albeit a very much smaller one. Ie 3 people instead of 20. hehe. That beats last year when there was me and Chuck, and I asked the neighborlady to come and join us for a slice of cake. hehe.

I actually have a box with prezzies in it which is quite exciting... I hope for Elita bras or socks from my mom, and looks like a book or two. The prezzie from Lucky Kitty is probably funny... I already pigged out on part of it, which was cheese curds, since she warned it wouldn't keep in the gift bag for two weeks. And Chuck gave me some little thing wrapped up... don't know why, since actually the Evil Dead Musical was his prezzie to me. And what a prezzie it was!

Well, here are some photos to prove I actually went to Saskatchewan to polka (though not with my newly decrepit uncles... the aunts would have been a better bet!)

Well, here you can see Saskatchewan is indeed flat. Yes. Very very flat. I took the pic here cuz there wasn't even a granary or a single bush in sight! eek!

Yup, that DOES say "Combine World". And that IS a real combine, ie a huge thing weighing several tons, up there in the sky to be seen from miles away. Given the thunderstorms and huge winds on the prairies, that is a scary thing.

And here is the community center where the eating, dancing and manic photo-taking took place... you can see that the most important things in town, the "Sports Center" and the "Co-op" store are clearly designated with plywood signs.

And the final shots of the day... yes, me polkaing... first with my cousin's hubby (the one who organized and rewrote the rules on the softball) and the second with my Dad's cousin's son. Yeah, it is complicated. But we are on the same family tree, so what the hey.

Well, that's it for today.

And may I mention that I might skip supporting "Community Supported Agriculture" next year by getting a weekly organic veggie box? Yup. TOO MUCH VEGGIES!! or rather, getting them all at once and racing to find something to do with them before they rot. I swear one week is enough to totally get sick of any veggie if it is overdone. Now I am feeling sick of zucchini and beets. I would be sick of chou rave too if I hadn't given the last three weeks of it to Chuck. Really. Too much veggies. Yesterday I ate a whole squash, AND four whole beets with leaves. AND a gazillion beans and peas. Too many for one person, not enough to make to freeze. gack.

Tonight I ate not a single veggie. I had creamed eggs on toast (this is sliced hardboiled eggs in a lovely butter white sauce over buttered toast)... there was nothing green, nor red, nor leafy. Nope, not a veggie in sight. See me smile. hehe.

Night night all...

happy birthday to me!!

daolderwenchie!!

(41 big smackers!)

10 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily