Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2004 - 5:32 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Composting Yourself!

***This is the second entry tonight... first entry here***

Ah, listening to the Radio Sweden on CBC Radio One... I love CBC... we also get Radio Poland late at night... it is expanding of one's mindset to think of what is important to those in non-American places... IMAGINE!! LOL! Apparently much of Europe is freaking out about an influx of Eastern European immigrants... eek gypsies and poles!... when some new European Union rules come into effect soon. It is too much. Jeez.

Anyways, back to Radio Sweden... they interviewed a fascinating woman, Susanne Wiigh-Masak, who has invented a new way to deal with dead people... YES! A new burial alternative. She says she was thinking about her kitchen compost, and how people should be part of the circle of life the same way, ie going back into the soil.

So she invented this very cool way to deal with corpses... you plunge them into liquid nitrogen to freeze them, while vibrating them with ultrasound waves. In a vacuum so all the water particles get sucked out. The freezedrying vibration thing reduces a person into 20kg of stink-free innocuous powder, which is buried in the top layer of soil. Apparently within 6 months you are part of the soil and the plants growing on it, since you are just powdery organic matter, and the top layer of soil has many living microbes in it (like compost, and unlike the ground 6 feet under) that decompose that matter in no time.

Very non-polluting and ecological. And apparently the Church of Sweden says it is compatible with the bible. So there you go. Fascinating. Compare that to the space-eating cemetary system, which in most countries demands that you be pickled in formaldehyde which leaks into the water table, or the air-polluting cremation system.

Here are some links about it: Human Potting Soil at Landscapeonline.com, Freeze-drying offers green burial by Newscientist.com.

There are other green alternatives out there... here is an article in Mother Jones online: Beyond Six Feet Under (Disposal of Human Remains) which details all sorts of ways to deal with your dead body... like turning you into a man-made diamond, and sending you into space. I dunno if the last one is green, but you'd apparently be in good company with people like Timothy Leary and Gene Roddenberry... I mean good company, and you wouldn't be crowded... Just more space junk to tear a hole into another manned space vessel. (oops! sorry!... but I really think the freezedried compost thing is a better idea... uses less rocket fuel too)

And since I was searching for some articles after hearing that radio interview, I discovered this page vaunting this book which definitely looks very enticing: "Written in Bones: How Human Remains Unlock the Secrets of the Dead"

If you aren't ready to keel over or bury any relatives yet, but are inspired by the human composting thing... here is a book called Humanure Handbook... yes how to compost the remains of your Sunday dinner, instead of sending washing it off with potable water.

And if you want some more macabre in your life, here are a couple of deadly links for you: Underground Paris... bones and more bones!! And Crime Scene Cleaners... they will clean up all your ewky messes! What a job! You think Dangerspouse and his broadcaster friends have bad taste in jokes to deal with the job (or perhaps just people with bad taste go into these types of jobs!)... I can just imagine what coffeebreak with crimescene cleaners must be like! eek! Those two links I found courtesy of the wonderful SquirrelX

Well, that's it for the environmentally lovely macabre theme!

I got my comic book proofs today and they were great! Yay! No changes! That means I didnt fuck up anywhere! I okayed them and sent them right back, so as long as their presses don't break down or something, I should have my book out in time for San Fran in a week! My GOD that is coming up fast! eeeeeek! I have SO MUCH work! I got the first two chapters of the next book (about pets) from the US client, so I can research the things I have to draw. AND I got a check from them... I really had thought I had been paid (and spent) all the checks from them, but no, I was wrong... so it was like winning the lottery! I have money! It will totally pay for the printing of my comic! Yahoo!

Well, I WAS going to scan in some color images for you, but I've got a few things to do before I hit the sack, and that is not one that is a priority right now. Tomorrow.

Here is my horoscope for Tuesday, February 10:

Expect twice as much of the good stuff and only half of the bad stuff. You have more support than you ever dreamed. Students of technology take great cognitive leaps at this time.

Well, that was pretty much a correct horoscope for today! Though it didnt mention running around like crazy and working working working! Hehe.

Off to bed with me wenchie. And I have to remember to buy cheese tomorrow... NO CHEESE = NO GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICH in bed before I hit the sack. Sigh. My tummy is not so happy about that! Tomorrow, tummy, it's ok, tomorrow... :)

Thanks for everyone being so supportive.

nitenite!

Wench77

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily