Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Music Today: "Viva WIsconsin" by The Violent Femmes

Reading Today: Emails that give me hope for my career.

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, May. 05, 2004 - 4:00 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Doggy Carts, Good Emails and Kitty Mommies

Well, I'm dead tired but thought I'd write an entry anyways.

I had a stressful night thinking about finances and doggies and work and lawyers. Every few hours I'd wake up thinking of something else. Like the fact that the Baby book I am working on now is actually a job I got through my former agent in NYC, and as such, will be billed through them, and they will get 25% even though I haven't had anything to do with them for three years.
One thing I hated about this 25% deal is that even when I had gotten a repeat customer (ie they got me a book with a client, who was then happy with my work, and wanted me to do another book, such as the one I am working on now... it is the second I do with the same author and characters) I had to fork over 25% anyways, even though they didn't have to do any work... ie showing my portfolio, negotiating a contract etc etc. The client would work directly with me on everything, including having requested me in the first place, and they get 25%. Gll.

That is one reason I'm not with them anymore. They got me tons of work, but almost none of it stuff that I felt proud to add to my portfolio.

Lots of mindless school books, and really dull novels that were sold through schools.

That said, I have been busy on all fronts. The first was opening my email today and doing a little jig in my studio... the Bear people have emailed me to say that they got the grants that they applied for and are going to pay both me and the author of Bear in full. How very exciting and completely unexpected. So I don't have to call a lawyer, mull over options, write nasty letters to them and granting agencies etc. Yay and triple yay!!

I have been checking out doggy meds... someone suggested Devil's Claw for arthritis. I googled it and found another dietary supplement called Cetyl Myristoleate. If anyone has ANY information at all about this let me know. It sounds like another amazing thing such as glucosamine...which did absolute wonders for my doggy's arthritis for the past 5 yrs and now is just not enough.

I tried getting Metacam, the non-steroidal anti-inflammatory she takes, from a vet here in town, but they can't get it any cheaper than when I order it from the veterinary teaching hospital out of town which apparently gets it in bulk. It is still $118 plus delivery for about 20-25 days. shitola.

I shelled out today for flamenco, flea prevention for the cats and dog, and ordered that Metacam. Amazing how one can spend nearly $300 before even buying anything necessary like a bottle of milk. BTW Ultra'cream keeps really well. The carton says "best before Jan 6" and it is really quite a while after that, mainly 4 months after that, and it is fresh as the day it was born.. mmm. I just wish I liked 10% cream in my tea more than I do. Give me 2% milk please. But 5 month old cream is better than spending huh!

In researching for doggy, I found this really incredible trailer called the Equinox Tourlite. They make bicycle trailers for kids, convertible into strollers, both push and jogging, and even sleds. Here is a pic of a doggy in a bike trailer! But my doggy is bigger. They have a garden cart model which I think is just the right thing for my doggy... you get it as a kit for only $139 US and then build a plywood box. I can do that. I am not sure if it comes with wheels or not... on these frames you can put bike wheels of nearly any size. I would get a stroller type garden cart handle and the bike hitch which is only $17-30 depending on the type of bike you have. So I could take her even to parks farther away, and get my exercise. That is so exciting. And the cart would be good for use in the garden or hauling any sort of shit with my bike. Very very cool and exactly what I was hoping for in my ideal world! It is so great when someone has designed what you want in your wishes!!

I am being an excellently good girl and eating everything in my packrat stash cupboards. I didn't buy more breakfast cereal, but am eating my way through my oatmeal and other rolled grains. I have soya macaroni, quinoa and all kinds of shit like that stored away for years. I hate to say it, but I am actually enjoying my budgetary restrictions. It makes me feel like the thrifty soul I was for all my life except for the past 4 years when i had disposable income for the first time in my life. Yay, thrifty me!

And it is lovely to know i am not completely addicted to chocolate. No chocolate now for a week. And I am not addicted to breakfast croissants. Ditto for the past week. yay. Cheese and butter yes, but I am spacing them out.

The other thing in today's very long and eventful missive is that the guy upstairs has been taking care of a feral cat who has popped out a bunch of kittens into a cat carrier he put out on the back balcony. I have to call around a bit. I think we might be able to close the door on the carrier (she just hisses, with all the babies stuck on her) and take her to a vet where they could maybe give her some shots, and maybe even get her spayed. I dunno. I must consult. And I want to start handling the babies asap so we can tame them and they can be given away. If not they will just completely exponentially swell the feral cat population in my back yard. Six more cats to reproduce freely? Did I mention I spent all Sunday afternoon on my hands and knees picking cat shit out of the backyard? huh? hehe.

Other than that, the weather is cold again (down to 4� C tonight I think)... and the flamenco class went well. No one shouted or fought. The teacher praised us, everyone smiled. It was a good thing.

Well, I am off to find the links to put in this, then off to bed. I am slowly getting up early and earlier ... I was actually up by 12:30 today, instead of 1:30... and earlier this year it was 3:30 pm often eeek!...

tah!

hugs to me,

wenchie

(ps I DID have a cold... it has turned into a sneezing dripping thing with a dry bronchial cough. Yay. But at least I don't feel like shit like last week!)

Here is my horoscope for Tuesday, May 4:

It's not like you to stay home when there's an invitation offered, but you might want to think about turning one down tonight. You'll definitely need your strength for the coming weekend -- and aren't you exhausted from recent games?

Haha. Recent games. As for invitations, I didn't get any, but tonight Peaches was playingn again in town. I loved her last time and would totally have gone again, but our flamenco teacher threatened we cannot miss even a single Tuesday rehearsal for our upcoming show. Drat and sigh! Oh well.

All images copyright 2004 Wench77

7 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily