Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Apr. 29, 2005 - 4:21 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Wonderful Old Ladies and More Underwear!

Fascinating woman of the day???

No, not me! silly!!!

It is Doris Eaton Travis, who at 101 (yes on April 14th she was 101!!), is still (or perhaps again) on stage at the Easter Bonnet Competition. Scroll down a wee bit on that link to see her... the tiny one in a tux.

She used to be a Ziegfield girl; got the job by lying about her age when she was only 14!! Apparently she went along with her sister (they come from a showbiz family) who was a dancer, and the manager said "oh my , she is a dead ringer for my wife! Can she dance? Oh good, then she can be my wife's understudy!".

Not content to just dance, she wrote her first book and published it at 99 years old. It is called "The Days We Danced: The Story of My Theatrical Family from Florenz Ziegfeld to Arthur Murray and Beyond. And she graduated from college in 1992. That would make her 88 at the time. She says it's important to get exercise and use your mind. No kidding.

Her husband, siblings, and I think also all of her children are dead. But incredibly she still lives in the house she and her husband built, and still puts music on the victrola and dances in the large foyer she insisted the house had to have for dancing practice. Dang.


She was on the radio just now, and I tell ya, she did NOT sound feeble at all, not frail or scattered. Here is one last photo of her for ya (ok, you can click to see a second one of her around 30-40 yrs old I think, as well)

OK. End of admirable cool old lady plug!!

What a day... I was just clickety clickety with my heels despite cool and rainy weather, since I sent off my income tax returns. It is wonderful to have paid my taxes and still have money coming from the South Korea people. I will not die in poverty THIS YEAR yet!! dang! It so cheers me up. I was stressed for the past year about my income taxes this year; they were hanging over my head like a black cloud with an unknown dollar symbol on them.

Then I did my quarterly provincial tax report thingie. Fun fun. But that was paid too... and only $83. Last time it was over $800 I think... it totally depends if I work for people here in town... I charge them tax and am supposed to pass it on to the govt, but you know how it works... you spend it and then have to cough it up again three months later. This year I have mostly worked for South Korea and I don't charge them taxes since they're out of the country, and thus don't get into that trap. yay!!

I was a good girl and went to the gym after the post office and banking, then did my comics page. And now I am trying to be a good girl and work on the South Korea contract. I am still only on Unit 4... they have only sent me up to the end of Unit 5, but I could be quicker. This is going to be the expanding forever contract from hell.

I also did three loads of laundry.
I DIDN'T yet spray the bugs on the plants. They are going to get out of control again. But it DOESN'T stop raining! It is hard to spray the stuff on them if the rain is going to wash it all off again. Dang. I hope it gets nicer this weekend.

Oh poop!! I just realized I should have arranged a car for tomorrow... it is the book sale (like I need more books!) of the Friends of the Library Association... members like me get to shop a day ahead of the unwashed masses, and I wanted to invite Disappearing Boy. He says he has no $$ but really, the books are 50cents apiece for kids books and $1 for adult books. That includes all sorts of beautiful coffeetable photographic reference books in hardcover. Library books, after all. I guess I'll try to call him in the am to see if he's interested. Bet his car is still dead but he lives up north where the book sale is, so I could swing by and pick him up.

yup yup.

On Sunday, the artist who owns the car I used for a model to draw the vehicle in Leo's Dog book is having an open house to show his paintings from over the winter. I told him I used his car for a book, and will take him some printouts from the puter (the book itself doesn't come out til Sept)... he had no idea and is thrilled.

OK, I REALLY need to pee. So off I go. I'm glad y'all enjoyed the wifebeater pics yesterday! hehe.

sorry, no more today. Though I COULD google something like thong or jockstrap if you like. I take no responsibility for google hits eh.

cheers!
me
wenchie!!

Oh yeah, like I can stop now I've googled jockstrap!! SHEESH!! OK, you leches, here y'are!!:

Yeah yeah, sorry, the first one before the list WAS the best... tah!!

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily