Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Oct. 27, 2005 - 5:12 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Adopting the American Flag

ahhh the last foster adopt class tonight.

It's over.

Do I feel prepared? No.

How long will it take? They cannot give me an answer.
Apparently they don't start assessing me until they get in all the references (they have to mail them out, people have to fill out paperwork, and mail it back to them) and the criminal check, which takes 6-8 wks. So I won't be assessed til after Christmas at the very least.

How long does the assessment take? oh, apparently each social worker does it her own way. some meet several times the same week, some meet at your home, some in the office, some at weeks apart.

WFT?? There is no procedure? That is just um, weird. I can understand it can take different amounts of time depending on the situation. For instance, to adopt from China, they usually do one visit with each spouse, then one with the two together, and one in the home. That is 4 for a couple. But if you are a single, there is simply two... the one with you, and the one in the home. That is pretty clear.

Also with China it is pretty clear that if they start putting together references, background check etc in August, they send the dossier to China for Dec 1, so that is 4 months.

Why is it so nutso here in town? I am sure that the people wanting to adopt from china are just as varied as the people adopting from here. It is so annoying.

so who knows.
It makes it very hard to know... if they are going to assess my house (and they are), do I start changing the furniture now? Or in June? Do I get the back balcony repaired before it snows (which I would have to do on credit) or do I do it in April or May when the snow is gone? If they are going to assess me in March, has to be now. If in July, April or May is certainly soon enough. Goddamn.

OK, so that is that. Right now, nothing to do but read books and wait.
No, I have to hassle the lady to get a criminal check appointment. I have called twice and she hasn't called back. Nothing goes forward til the criminal check goes out. Dang.

Other than that? Did I say that doggie's visit to the vet was a complete and utter success? The nice nice vet (same one who gave her her walking papers (haha, that is a pun!) after her knee operation in 2000 saw her. He said that it was nothing personal that the vet a year and a half ago was a miserable mean bitch to me, that he had been against her being hired, that she has no beside manner, that they had complaints about her behaviour from many people. Isn't it amazing how these people are nasty to everyone, but you wouldn't know it cuz they make it out that it is YOU who is a pain in the ass, provoking their behaviour. Nasty.

But it was very nice to hear it wasn't me.
And he said doggies is doing great as can be expected given that it is a degenerative disease (arthritis) and she is aging. That I should keep doing what I am doing, that it is obviously the right thing. That she hasn't really gotten much worse in the past 2 yrs. And that she has pain in her hips now but none elsewhere. That is good to know, esp when I give her massages. Yes, she gets massages almost daily, in the park during her walkies. I make her walk around quite a bit... want her to stay in shape as much as possible, and then I offer her a massage. Which makes her happy. She plops over and looks up at me, and lies flat as a pancake (different position from 'rubmytummytum'), and I massage her back and legs and hips. And then she kisses me profusely. yay!

Anyways, nothing but good news about doggies.

He did blood tests and called on Monday to say that some liver levels are high, but nothing alarming, and her kidneys are great and her cholesterol level is fine, ie keep doing same old same old. It is good to know that her two years on intensive anti-inflammatories isn't ruining her insides. YAY!!!

That was all a big relief.

And the South Korea contract? Should be done on SATURDAY!!! That is my hope. It might be done on Sunday, since Saturday is Halloween. And once it is done, I will be FREE FREE FREE!!!

I have two novels and a colour album (picture book) to work on, but since January I have done several novels and color picture books CONCURRENTLY with the south Korea contract. So it will be like a bloody vacation! So exciting. I will have to make a BYE BYE SOUTH KOREA party!!!!! yay!

And I may ALMOST get out of debt. Maybe for a week or two. Til I pay some bills.

The other not so fun thing is that i DID get the check for the Bear book. And it wasn't 1200$, like the author got. Turns out I got $3000 advance to do the book and she got only $2000 advance. So she got a check for $1200 and I only got a check for $200. Drat. Better than a kick in the ass, but it was a kick in the hopes. Fortunately the softcover edition is coming out soon, and it is on some reading list, so we should sell lots of copies.

But I probably won't see that money til this time next year. That's ok. It's like $ in the bank, coming in when you need it.

The final thing is this page on how to treat the flag.
My favorite part is this:

1. How and when should a flag be disposed of?
The United States flag should be disposed of in a dignified way, preferable by burning. It should not be flown when tattered and torn, dirty, significantly faded, or when it is no longer a fitting emblem for display. Note: The flag should not be used as apparel or in advertising. It should not be used on napkins, boxes, or anything that is designed for temporary use and discard.

Cuz we know that Patriotic Flag-Lovin Americans NEVER would do such a thing as put the flag on napkins and other throwaway articles, nor on clothing items. Never. Sheesh. And they say I disrespect the American flag. hah.

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily