Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Apr. 19, 2004 - 4:27 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Catching up on Baby Showers and Glam Rock

OK, now that I have searched Google images for pictures of Canada Geese with their mouths open (I need to have LOUD birds in my far north book), pasted them into a photoshop montage and printed it out for reference, do I feel like drawing? No. But I now have a loud arctic tern, a loud kestrel and a loud flying gull drawn, and a verily good idea in my head of what the loud Canada geese will look like.

So I am going to procrastinate a bit more by writing here and then go to bed. Maybe smoke the last bit of tobacco left over in my hookah from the last time. mmm. old tobacco! If I could get more cheaply here (it is like $25 here for a box of hookah tobacco and $7.99 in Dearborn MI) then I wouldnt be so stingy with it. Oh well. If anyone wants to send me some strawberry Al Fahker tobacco, just send me an email for my snail mail addy!

Today I did NOT manage to get out of bed at 11:30, though I WAS up by 12:45. So much for getting into the car at noon to go to my friend's baby shower. I managed to get there by 2pm, once I had cleaned up, washed my hair, walked the dog... who doesn't WANT to poop quickly since she could just tell I was going to curtail the walk after that happened...and managed to figure out on the map where the heck I was going. Thank god I wrapped the prezzie before going to bed last night!

I DID manage to arrive in time for the prezzie part, and got to eat some of the potluck later when we played more games. I lost ALL the safety pins on my soother-tether (which I got to bring home, in case I ever have a soother to tether) by forgetting all the time that it was forbidden to pronounce the word "baby". And I didn't do so great at identifying all the baby items in the bag... we had to feel about for like 2 minutes, and then write down everything we thought was in there. I didn't realize the tube was diaper rash cream, and I think the tiny rubber ducky was hiding in the sock and diaper so I never felt it. Oh well.

So, the mommy to be (who is HUGE, and expecting in July, not May like I thought), LOVED the drawing I did last night, and was so happy I made a little white doggy like the one she owns (her "Big Boy"). And we ended up talking about adoption at the end, and the weird thing is that 3 of 6 women still there at that point had been foster children. Two bounced around all over the place, one was adopted by the second placing at a year and a half. Weird. They concurred with me that fostering is best for people who are in a couple, with their own kid. So the kid coming in comes into a stable scheduled environment to start with, and it is not changed so much by the kid's arrival or departure. Hmm.

At that point my community car share time was up so I came home. What have I done since then? I don't know. Looked up Canada geese.

Now I'll write a wee bit about Friday night.

Oh, let's jump around all over.

Here are a couple things NOT to do while vacuuming the floor and tidying up: Do NOT knock over the box with easter candies your mother has sent in the mail. This is really easy to do with the hose on the vacuum. Smarties and jelly beans really roll around. Also do NOT pick up a bag of ground coffee that has fallen over (and has lost it's little metal closure thingie) by the bottom.. coffee grounds do not roll around but they sort of fluff all over the place. But the vacuum smells nice afterwards. Mmm. coffee.

Back to Friday night.

So, I managed to force myself to go out, despite having exhausted my reserves of energy at the Library Book Sale, since it was DB's birthday. She said it was at a glamrock club with goth on the 2nd floor. I wore black tights, short black stretchy skirt, red 0% American tshirt and a black belt with my little army boots. Sort of a compromise between slouchy comfort clothes and actual going-out clothes.

Rode my bike there. The place was jam crammed! I did find DB pretty quickly... her Pat Benatar 80's rockergirl haircut helps. She was wearing some funky little outfit that looked like the front of a tux, with sort of a halter-top cut. It hooked up the sides. Shorty shorts, and TALL white boots with funky buckles. Black stickers at the top that said rude things like "I fucked a Nun". Fishnets. Very funky. She was dancing in the crowd with a group of friends, including a tiny little girl with no curves, wearing a red satin poofy skirt, a black tshirt and Converse hightops who sang along to every word of every song that played. And for the first hour I didn't know a single song. Not a one.

I felt old. I would say the age was about 21-27 max. And I mean max. I think I saw three people over thirty besides me and the employees. The outfits were incredible and varied. Pointy white boots, stretchy tops with batwing sleeves that haven't been in since Olivia Newton John did Xanadu, Some girl with a crinoline and boa who had the greatest hair and makeup but couldnt dance worth shit. Some other girl with a Betty Page 50's thing going on... polkadot top and poofy bangs. Lots of adorably cute guys, some with mohawks, some with long hair, some shaved heads, all under 24 I swear. Some really adorable couples being sexy together. And everyone dancing dancing dancing.

Near the end of the night they played Blondie, an Elvis song and some Nina Hagen, as well as the Cure, so I at least recognized a few songs. Yup, I am OLD.

Upstairs the crowd was less colorful... less white, pink, and red. More black. Long dark coats, flowing skirts, goth dancing. A bit older too. There were a couple paunches, a chicken neck, a few double chins.. you know the kind of thing over-30's get, depending if they are edging towards filling out or drying up. Let me do neither thankyou.

Anyways an interesting night. I don't plan to be going back there and becoming a regular. Too young and not enough space to move on the dance bar. Though DB tells me that if I went every Friday for a month I'd know all the songs since they are all "Bar Saffyr standards". I think I can live without.

But it was fun to check out the fauna. :)

That is all I have to say for now. Those were the little bits that didn't get written down, what with lists of books and requests for three questions. BTW I am taking requests for three questions from each of you til Wed. I will answer them all in an entry Wed night. Please leave them on the comments on this previous page. Thankyah!!

nite nite all!

zzzz

me,

dawench.

Here is my horoscope for Sunday, April 18:

Before you start checking air fares, be sure you can actually get the time off you're sure you need. No one says you can't take a nice, long trip -- but cash flow does come in handy when you're on the road.

Grrr, like I need this reminder. I want to go to Toronto in May and also in June, to Saskatchewan in July and musicfest in August. And I am earning negligible moulah now. glll. sigh. tah!

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily