Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Oct. 04, 2004 - 2:05 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Premenstrual Subsides into a Great Day

Hullo! Hullo!

Don'tcha love it when the day after you have had an emotional meltdown you get your period!! Oh yay! I was premenstrual! ACK! what a stereotype! I cannot tell you how many times this has happened. WHY oh WHY can I not see it coming and be prepared for it? Well,l the fact that I sort of spot and thus THINK I am starting my period several times of month would account for little of it.

(didn't you just DIE of curiousity to know all that? But I should do my gettinolder survey for y'all... that is one of the little body facts that inspired me to write that survey... weird period stuff as I age).

Anyhews, that lovely revealing start of an entry continues thus... had a great day.


Copyright 2004 wench77

It started off slower than I would've liked since they are filming a movie down my street, ie about three doors from my house, at the intersection. They have turned the small publishing house into a tavern, and stuck a "restaurant" sign with fake posters (well real posters of fake things) on the d�panneur (corner store, on the corner of course).

Today was the highlight: a car crash scene! They were all lined up, measuring things, with cars and stuntmen etc when i looked out the front door around noon, and Dad went to ask... they said it was to be right away and we could watch if we passed by the alleyway. Well, "right away" in movie production speak means about two hours or so. We waited as they did the crash with the extras... but with no cars, just someone yelling "pow!!" as they all spun to look at the empty intersection, tavern goers, pedestrians and mothers with strollers all at once. I took a picture. You can see it soon.

BUT they said "we are doing the PRODUCTION SHOTS NOW, you can NOT take any photos" so that was no fun after that. They ran through the scene a couple times with the cars, measuring, checking timing etc (no extras to get squished by flying parts), they sprayed with water. Ambulances and fire trucks stood guard, stuntmen in fancy outfits walked around next to technicians with crashtest dummies and walkietalkies.


Copyright 2004 Wench77

Still no crash. Finally we realized our sunny day in the countryside was being eaten away, so left. We went first to see a World Press Photo exhibition. It was very cool... two whole rooms crammed of award-winning photojournalism. The hard thing was so many different topics... each photo or series had a whole page of writing next to it, about 12pt (about the size on this entry page), and since there were so many people, we had to read it standing about two or three feet away. After about half the first room my eyes hurt and my head was tired. Dang. I DID make it around the whole exhibition, but i felt overwhelmed by information and words... I wish I had gone three or four times, so I could read slowly, look longer at the actual photos and have time to digest Sierra Leone and Wrestling in India before going on to Dead Civilians in Iraq and Illegal Immigrant African Prostitutes in Europe. But I'm glad we went, even if it cut MORE time out of our sunny afternoon.

We finally got on the road. I was headed to the area of southern Quebec near the Vermont border, where I had taught the art class to kids in July. We stopped off for coffee, and Dad was disappointed to have to settle for an apple turnover when he wanted apple pie. Oh well!

He seemed impatient to be walking about, and it was already 4:30 pm so I didn't push the "going into the mountains" area, and we had a walk on the bike path in the small town where we were... took some nice photos of fall leaves, reflections on the water etc. Again.... some images soon.

Finally we tired out poor doggies with her arthritis, climbed back into the car and headed to the area I had in mind. It was getting too dark (sun going behind the rolling hills that are eroded mountains) and a bit chill to walk anymore but we had a great scenic view of red fall hills and green valleys as the road wound along. Haha, THEN Dad was like "darn, you're right, we SHOULD have hurried up to get here... it is really scenic"... next time. I find it so hard to actually push someone into doing what I want... I am always sensitive to the "what's the rush??" argument, and not wanting to nag. I'm more like "um, how much longer do you want to stay for coffee? Do you want to get on the road? I'd kind of like to show this nice place I think you might like" instead of "Get in the car, I'm leaving now. We're going to Glen Sutton". Dang.

We DID find the Auberge at Glen Sutton I was looking for... it thankfully was open and we had a wonderful meal... I had Mexican (Dad was like Mexican? Mexican? I don't eat Mexican. I don't eat cornbread cuz I don't eat corn. Do they have apple pie?)...
Dad had a huge rib steak with baked potato (he doesn't eat potatoes either anymore but he's on holiday) AND!!!!! They HAD APPLE PIE!! hallelujiah! Hot apple pie with juicy apples, lots of cinnamon and ice cream. We had a wonderful talk about family (cousins, his childhood, aunts and uncles etc) while eating and he said it was the best meal he had had for ages. Yay!!

We stopped by my friend's place in the countryside, the one who has a couple of little kids who like me so much they fight over me, causing stress for their mom. At that time in the evening I thought the kids would be in bed, but the parents would be up for a tea. Nope. Two cars in the drive but all lights out. I guess I don't run on the same time schedule as parents of small kids. Oh well. I can at least say I DID stop!


Copyright 2004 Wench77

So, that was it. A good day. Yay. No stressing, no crying, no fighting. Nothing. Just a nice day.

We have prolonged the carshare reservation so we are going to Home Depot at noon to buy bifold doors for the upstairs tenant's closet, posts for the back fence, a propane torch so I can have water in the backyard, maybe even a new bathroom sink for me! wow. yay! I should stop saying yay, i sound like a blonde cheerleeder. Oh dear!

In the meantime I leave you with a possibly to be junked image that I drew to promote my website. Tell me what you think. Dad says that he couldn't tell it was a computer they were looking at. I think that it isn't colorful enough, and rather agree with the Dad assessment. I wanted the animals to look like they were enthralled with what is on the computer screen, so you'll want to go look too, ie log onto my website. I don't think it is that successful. And perhaps I should have children too, not just animals. Let me know your criticisms and comments please. It is like a market survey, ok??


Copyright 2004 Wench77

Well, that's it for now. Must finish my comics page and scan it in. It is about 24 hours late. Dang it anyways, days off! Who has time for days off!!

Oh, and I wanted to say thanks for all yous who wrote really nice supportive comments the past three days, with my previous angsty stressed out emotional entries. I totally appreciate it. It helps alot. And sometimes even made me laugh. yay! (she bounces her cheerleader fluffballs!)

nite nite

Wench77

Given what I wrote in this entry about not asserting myself about my plans, this is rather funny!:

Here is my horoscope for Sunday, October 3:

You're feeling lively, restless and not eager for anything even remotely resembling routine. Better talk to your companions before they schedule something you won't enjoy, because you won't hesitate to veto it.

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily