Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Nov. 13, 2004 - 4:28 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Slicing fingernails and Cherry Tomatoes

A totally quick entry.

This is what I did today:

  • Got up by 12:15, yay
  • Walked doggies, paid bills at the bank machine, forgot to post a book to someone while I was there
  • Drew my comics page
  • Drew 10.5 drawings for the Toronto Adult Language Ed people and faxed them
  • Vacuumed
  • Rolled the cabbage rolls from the filling I made last night (I poured the boiling water into the cored cabbage and let it sit while I vacuumed... worked great
  • Chopped the rest of the cabbage and put it with the tomato sauce I made last night... put the cabbage rolls on top
  • Put the cabbage to simmer and walked doggies
  • brrrrrr
  • Ran the dishwater (see trick) and made and ate guacamole with tostitos since the cabbage rolls weren't cooked yet
  • Read emails
  • Ate the mushroom vegetarian cabbage rolls (well, two of them... the other eight are in the fridge) mmmm yummy!!!
  • Called my ex, M.Black,'s mom about the green tomato recipe and got all the inside tips
  • Wash all the dishes from all the cooking last night
  • Sliced into VERY THIN SLICES the green tomato equivalent of twelve large tomatoes, mostly in cherry tomatoes. This takes a long time and gives you cramps in your hand holding those tiny tomatoes from rolling while you slice them. That is a LOT of tiny tomatoes!
  • Slice 3 large onions and chop them... and YES I got smart and wore my SWIM GOGGLES!!
  • Layer the onions and green tomatoes in a bowl with "gros sel" to sit overnight
  • Do about half the painting on the doggang book cover.
  • Realize it is 4am and I want to get an early start on my day tomorrow
  • Write a diaryland entry
  • Go to bed
  • Well that's about it. I'm happy cuz the cabbage and green cherry tomatoes are taken care of and not rotting. The dishes and the floor are clean (well vacuumed, let's not talk about the washing it needs with all that cooking!). And I got most of the work I set for myself to finish as my goal for the day done. Yay!

    Tomorrow: make them salted tomatoes into green tomato ketchup, find SOMETHING to take to the mother of that little girl who came to visit, since I am invited to her surprise birthday party tomorrow. This is when you realize you know a lot about what someone treats "slaves" like in a fetish club, and NOTHING about their home, their likes and dislikes, their taste etc. Dang. Hotsauce just called me since he is invited too... and he is having the same problem. Maybe she'll get a jar of homemade green tomato ketchup. hehe.

    After figuring out what to give her, draw comics page, draw the 1.5 drawings still missing for the Adult Ed contract, draw the sketch for the magazine story (New Year's Eve between two old friends in their 60's... sort of a nice ladies bonding tale), and then get to the party for 7:30 pm.

    It is a wine and cheese and lots of people are going out to a fetish playspace afterwards. I will come home and finish the colors on the dog cover. And then hopefully that will be ALL my contract work for Monday DONE.

    So that Sunday I can put together my stuff for teaching at the college on Tuesday (I leave on Monday afternoon), do two extra pages of comics for while I am away, get the dog ready, pack, and work on the Leo's dog book.

    I think I have it under control.

    It is boggling how well I do when I am busy. I procrastinate, get all neurotic and chase my tail when work doesn't come in, and I am all wishywashy about what needs doing when. Very strange. Or not. I guess that my self-esteem is all tied up in my work ethic. So when I am not working, instead of getting a lot done, I beat myself up, get depressed, don't know whether to look for work, do other housework, take time off, or socialize. Dang. So silly.

    I must admit I am still mulling over the father thing. Do I just ignore him forever? Do I write back something noncommittal? Do I address the issues? Do I flush him forever now that his "change" has turned into recidivism on the asshole front? Do I ignore the issue and just shop for a christmas present? Dang.

    Well, that is not a problem for tonight (though I admit it invades my headspace while minutely slicing cherry tomatoes ... who the HELL slices cherry tomatoes instead of letting them freeze on the vine??).

    Off to bed. Another busy day tomorrow. And YAY my floor is vacuumed! It makes me so happy!!!

    cheers,
    me
    wenchola
    patola
    doing
    fine.

    Here is my horoscope for Friday, November 12:

    Don't let a petty issue spoil what looks like a wonderful evening. Your natural tendency now will be to overreact, but that won't be your best bet. Patience really is a virtue.

    Hmmm. Bizarrely this could be my horoscope for like forever. And yet it didn't apply today. A totally good day. No petty issues. No spoiling. No overreacting. And no patience was needed. But maybe I should print this out and carry it in my pocket!! tah!

    5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
    Leave yours too!!

    Go to "notes" instead of comments

    Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
    email:
    Powered by NotifyList.com
    ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

    previous meanderings - future past

    Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
    Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
    Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
    sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
    The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

    about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

    Prism Comics!

    *inspired by Chaosdaily