Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Jul. 23, 2005 - 4:55 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Fans and Photos and Italian Icecream

Ya ya I was dead tired at 10pm. I was dead tired at 2pm. So.

So I am sitting here blogging and reading blogs at nearly 5am. silly me hah! I am having a mint-chocolate chip hookah and drinking tea. I am trying NOT to eat more fattening shit.

I really have to start chopping out the daily grilled cheese sandwiches or get MORE midsection exercise. I went to the pool two days ago for the first time this summer. It was fun it was free and the water was so warm from weeks of plus 30�C weather that it wasn't even refreshing for a cool-off. And then I got out of the pool, showered and looked in the mirror. EEEK! Now we know why 42 yr olds shouldn't necessarily wear bikinis! I look really great with my arms stretched above my head. Or lifting up my midsection so it doesn't sag. Suddenly I understand tummy tucks. AGH. bad aging. bad.

So, yeah, hookah. haha, I smoke it so seldom now I got a buzz by the second puff. But I am having fun blowing smoke circles.

I am also wearing a henley shirt. Why? Cuz I was cold. YAHOO!! I was COLD!!!!!! Breakthrough weatherwise. It has not gone down below 25�C at night for like a week now, and tonight it is going down to 17�C!!! OMG I could kiss the ground i am so happy not to feel greasy and sweaty!! yay!

Funnily enough it was tonight that I went across town for an amazing italian icecream with l'Ecrivaine, who dropped by my place. The ice cream was fantastic! We had half amaretto and half pistachio. I was going to have vanilla and peach flavours but while waiting I tasted her choices and then had the same thing. mmmmm. They make it on the spot. Egads it was great. And the company was great too. I totally love hanging around with l'Ecrivain. She talks alot too.

Here is a sample drawing of what I sent to South Korea yesterday (I cannot express how much weight lifted off me when those drawings left even though I still have another whole batch to do for the last two books for them).

You can see it is very simple, with hardly ANY people at all! LOL!:

Copyright 2005 Wench77

It is the chapter about "doing" verbs... the "we" and "they" versions... so it had to be more than one kid doing each action. Ack. urk. Yuck!! The whole effin chapter AND the review chapter! glll.

I am admitting here to being unfaithful.

I have discovered some adoption blogs at blogspot, and I am going from them to their adoption and parenting buddies from their links and comments and have been sort of living at blogspot instead of diaryland. Ack. My diaryland buddy list of regular updaters has dwindled to about six. If you can believe it. Ava-reborn, Onewetleg, Chaosdaily, Radiogurl, Sasori-gal, im2evil4u. And occasionally a few others. I have been amiss in not checking out regularly my other readers (hangs head) or adding anyone new to my buddy list for ages. Do any of you have adoption or lesbian or single parenting blogs to recommend at diaryland??? I admit to being somewhat obsessive about this topic right now.

Today I was going to take photos of my garden and yards for y'all, to show how my cukes are coming, my tomatoes, my swiss chard, and my amazing oleander that is blooming enough to make me swoon... it even smells nice. But it was cloudy and rainy all day. yay!!! yay for the temperature, not yay for the photos.

I got a contractor guy to come in and install the kitchenlight/fan in the 2nd floor tenant's, fix his sagging door hinge, and install the doorbell my dad bought last fall and never installed (it actually is much more human to have people knock I must admit). He said on the phone he charges $15 an hour. And he was working from about 1:50 to 4pm. And then he didn't want to make an invoice for me, even though I need such deductions from my rental income which I am taxed on. I finally got him to accede to signing a bill I made out myself, and he wrote in the price... $70!! WTF!! But then I was afraid to rip up the bill and make another cuz I thought for sure then he'd refuse to sign it, and so I paid the $70.

Let's see. That is um, nearly FIVE hours at $15 an hour, not a few minutes over two hours! Goddamn! That ends up being $30 to install one ceiling fan, $30 to install one doorbell (both are really just wiring issues) and $10 to install new screws to stop a door from sagging. eeeek! I had been talking about getting him to come to replace my back porch before I put my foot through the rotting wood (I am on the ground floor and it doesn't involve liability for tenants' injuries, so I only replaced THEIR balconies last year, not mine), and perhaps putting in electronic thermostats on baseboard heaters.

But hell, when I think it will cost $30 (I thought that was a bit cheap so I would have given him a 10-15$ tip), and he charges me $70, I don't trust him anymore. He may say he'll charge me $50 and then end up charging me $120. Fucker. Oh well. Easy come easy go.

Now I am going to get back to my hookah, and read one more blogspot diary about adopting. And then off to bed to um, read a book about adoption! hah!

nite nite!
me
wenchie

feeling every day more hopeful about the foster-to-adopt thing!

Here is my horoscope for Friday, July 22:
You've done everything you can in a situation like this. Your mission now is to look forward even as you're realizing that there are all kinds of wonderful lessons to be learned from the past.

Jeesh that is the first time in ages my horoscope hasn't tried to feed me some line about how wonderful my love life is going, or how everyone is smitten by my multiple charms. Ridiculous.

AAACK! I forgot mom-on-roof! Mom on roof always updates! AACK! sorry! and sorry to anyone else I forgot off the top of my addled head at 6am.

6 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily