Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Feb. 06, 2004 - 7:01 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Le Journal's Macabre Morality Tales!

Well, it is 7am and I really should hit the sack but the radio people are so wide awake and cheery (since 6 now) that it is so inspiring to write another entry. First rather dismal one here.

I promised two stories from yesterday's newspaper, le Journal de Montr�al... Well here ya go. First off, here is a window that someone nearly died behind. It was a housefire not so far from my place. The whole building is inhabitable with 40 people homeless. But the man who lived here barely made it out. Why? Because he has bars on the window to stop theft. He broke the glass with his hands and screamed and screamed. Fortunately for him he was rescued before he died of fire or smoke inhalation. He was incredibly lucky since the flames were keeping him from leaving the apartment. If no one had heard him, if they hadnt had the tools to get him out, if the fire had invaded the room... they wouldve just watched him die in a cage.

Now this concerns me. My bedroom window has bars like this. My kitchen window as well, but it is RIGHT BESIDE the back door... and so doesnt worry me. But if I wake up at night and the kitchen is full of flames, then I am stuck behind a window bar like this. I think i will call and see if I can get some company to make it hinged so that a key can open it. Right now it is totally permanently screwed/ stuck on the brick wall outside. Very scary I tell ya.

I'd rather have someone steal my stereo (hehe, what an idea... my stereo has no cd, no cassette, only radio and record player, with wooden speakers, and I inherited it in 1985. hehe. ( DO have two sort of broken 15 year old boom boxes for cassettes, and two broken walkmans for cds plugged into the boomboxes! (the volume on one doesnt work, and the other totally skips if you move it... thus they only work plugged into a stable machine like the boom boxes... I am such an up to date technological person!) I guess they could steal my huge computer with an OS that is out of date, plugs that arent compatible with anything, and all software antique! hehe. Or my 10 year old fax machine?? Sigh... I am not so tempting for theft... unless they are into used children's books!) So, I guess I should worry more about dying behind window bars.

The other promised thing from Le Journal, is the page two from yesterday... most of which is here if you click on the pic of Janet and her boob... Yup! A whole page showing close ups of tits getting pierced. I thought it was rather cool... instead of freaking out, they published in a family newspaper, an expert opinion on her nipple adornment, which is of course held on by a piercing. And then they proceed to tell us how a nipple is pierced, that it is indeed one of the more popular piercings, though one of the most painful ones... and interview a new piercee, who remarks: "It pinched"... getting pierced that is. A slight difference from US coverage in the mass media I tell ya.

However this is the same newspaper that shows us pics of squished cars in accidents all the time. Really... lately I am being way more careful of how I drive, more conscientious about winter tires vs 4season tires, and think about my jaywalking, all because of their somewhat sensationalistic coverage of tragedy and crime. A woman about my age recently went into a river with her friend, her first time driving a skidoo (at night, in an area she didnt know). Another woman about my age was instantly killed on the road about three blocks from my place this last weekend, jaywalking. She was halfway across the road, saw a car coming, so stepped BACK, and was hit immediately by a car travelling on the part of the road behind her which she had just crossed. The poor driver had no time to stop, since of course she expected the jaywalker to continue advancing, not to step back into her path, and hit her full speed. Squish. Dead. Gives one pause about how one jaywalks, doesnt it. I see people do that everyday... venture into the traffic and then step back into a lane without looking behind them.

And finally, to end this sensational news entry, there was another article about a family searching for a white cube van... it turned right from a middle lane, cutting off a 30 year old father of two who was cycling. He braked, went over his handlebars, and the rear wheel of the van ran over his head... pop squish crunch... instantly dead. The van continued careening on its way. (the driver behind it saw the whole thing... in fact had passed it twice in order not to be behind its erratic driving, but the cube van passed it madly both times... unfortunately she had a description but didnt get a plate #)... so the family is postering all over, trying to find this killer white vehicle. Hmmm.

The world feels a lot safer when you don't read this newspaper with your coffee, I'll tell ya.

Well, that is the end of this entry. I will quickly write another to say how my day was, and then have a grilled cheese in bed. I don't know why I don't just have breakfast! LOL!

Hope you enjoyed this macabre diary!

Wench77

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily