Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Jul. 23, 2004 - 1:10 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Swiss Chard and Eggs, Painting Kids and Tibetan Dogs

Ah, I SEE why they put screen in windows and doors... maybe it is so that those mosquitos don't come and eat you alive while you type on the computer!

And here I was so proud of myself for having kept the sides of the dogcage my next door neighbors abandonned in the joint backyard 6 years ago... I have stuck them across the front and back doorways so that some air can flow through the apartment and cool it off, without getting innundated with friendly cats, just coming by to leave their pissy calling cards.

But I forgot about the mosquitos. Damn. The other bugs stay outside when I turn the front light on and close the ones inside (yes, I cannot speak de englisch anymore and say "close the light" "open the vacuum")

Hmm.. large smear of blood across my leg when I whapped the last little bugger. hehe.

How to eat five or six two foot tall rainbow colored swisschard leaves, as one person:

Pour a bit of olive oil in a large saucepan. Finely chop three garlic flowers and lightly saut� in the oil. Slice stems of swisschard and add to oil, stirring occasionally. Meanwhile cut leaves into ribbons. Add to saucepan with about 1/8 cup of water. Add lid. Let simmer til leaves are tender. Break two eggs onto top of leaves, cover and let cook for a few minutes until the eggwhites are opaque. Grate 1/4 lb mozzarella on top. Cover til mozza is melted. Serve with salt on a plate.

Hehe, I am not sure that is fine cuisine, but it DID get rid of that hugeomungo bag of swiss chard (anytthing with melted cheese....solves most problems)

Sorry, but yesterday when I finally arrived at the countryside tent with all the kids, once I'd gone through the traffic backups and the cop, I forgot to take photos of it all! I only got like three pics as it was nearly cleaned up, and a few remaining kids posed with their drawings. I'm not even in a shot to prove that indeed I was there.

But other than some kids being unilingual anglophone and I had brought a French book, all went just swimmingly spiffily. The book thing was weird, cuz I switched back and forth to repeat everything in English, which made the story too long, and it was hard for the kids to follow, since I'd change into an unknown language every two or three paragraphs. I am not sure what the alternative is.

It was so popular that they had to turn away more kids than we accepted. So we might have me do two groups the next year, and then we could do an anglophone group and a francophone one.

The kids totally got into mixing colors and drawing their friends as animals. There were a few who turned up their noses at the first four animals they got (I put pictures into plastic sleeves and they picked them randomly out of a decorated envelope), but eventually everyone was satisfied with their New Zealand buzzard, or Panda.

A minor drama when one little girl didn't have a partner (I asked them to pair up) and three other little girls refused to break up their threesome to include her. Jeepers. They didn't even have to move, just sit next to their friend and draw the little single girl. But they would NOT they would NOT. So the three drew an animal with elements of BOTH their friends, and the little girl alone seemed very happy mostly to mix colors on her porcelain plate, and not draw much of anything at all. At least there were smiles all round at the end. But my gosh, if it was a school setting, they wouldve gotten an F in following instructions, group spirit and flexibility. hehe.

Three or four times I thought "oh I should take a photo...look at all these long tables of kids painting... so great!", but I mostly was running back and forth as I was summoned "Ms Wench, could you help me make black?" "Ms Wench, how do I make brown like her hair?" "Ms Wench? I don't know how to make the feathers grey"...

They all did a stupendous job and managed to use bright yellow, reds and blues to capture brown hair of various tones, black leopard spots, and grey elephant ears. I can't believe that after waiting an hour for me to show up they were still so applied. And we were brilliant this year and got one parent to watch over the inevitable group of tagalong 3-4 yr old brothers, who all painted together. So they didn't bother any perfectionnist 9 yr olds by putting their bluepainty brush into the yellow paint. :)

It seems crazy to get paid for doing things like this. Though I guess I had to buy all the supplies and drive out there and all. But it is very rewarding.

Afterwards, we went for a dip in the pool, outside at the countryhouse of the woman who hired me, with her husband and three kids and another young woman who helped out. So beautiful out there, with the wooded hills around. It is about half hour north of the border with Vermont. That area is just full of little houses along dead end roads, peopled with sculptors and potters, painters and artisanal bakers and chocolate makers.

Every year they have this arts tour... ie each artist who wants to participate puts a sign out with numbers that correspond to a map... you can follow the route around and do studio visits for a month long. I really should take time off and do some of that next year.

That's the area that I was talking to ob about, and she could live over the border in Vermont if she couldn't change countries (hehe, that was what the getting married was supposed to help with... the residency thing). Well, she doesnt want to live in Vermont. I thought we could have a fetish bed and breakfast. It was just one of my many farfetched ideas. One has to be open to brainstorming, you know!

After the swim, we had this wonderful (though pricey) Mexican meal at an auberge out there.

... and then the rest of the story was written last night.

Tonight the guy who owns a Great Pyrenees dog that is, believe it or not, 14 years old... that is like some 120 yr old Tibetan guy... called me cuz he finished HIS dog trailer. Damn! I shouldve taken a photo.. though it was dark out. We'll go bike riding together with the dogs and I'll take pics, one day ok?

He only spent like $250 Cdn on his... he made it himself... put a huge rubbermade container (#3761...made to keep your rakes and shovels in) on a frame for a kid's trailer, added two wheels from some dolly on a turntable on the front (so it has 4 wheels, two of which turn to steer), and bolted on the tongue that pulls it behind the bike. He put in a door hook and chaise lounge cushion, and his 160 lb doggy is all set! He even put in dryer vents at the front on both sides so as he cycles, air goes into the wagon on his dog! Very cool!

I showed him mine too, and he was all compliments. Anyways, tooooo funny to know someone else at exactly the same time as myself, making a trailer for a huge arthritic dog. I had never heard of that before in my life. :)

Well, that's it for today. I am excited about the Evil Dead Musical tomorrow with Lucky Kitty.

And also going to Ottawa to see Patrick Cal*ifia... we're gonna take our bathingsuits and go into the Gatineaus, which is very beautiful. That will be a great way to spend a Sunday. :)

Icecream boy still has not called (I called this early eve to see if he wanted to go for an icecream but didnt leave a message on his machine). Maybe he has read my online comics which ironically were about me trying to go out with a straight boy and thought, oh, no, that girl is just TOOO complicated and weird. I guess that would solve any problems for me!!

Well, dat's dat. Tah!

me, wenchie.

ps, I was refered by Misstress to this wonderfully spot-on funny link: Annoying Conversations with Men of a Certain Age, which shed light on the Chuck problem.

Here is my horoscope for Thursday, July 22:

There's just no way to describe how charming and wonderful you'll be -- but you should see the effects of it soon. Hopefully, that will convince you.

Hopefully, huh. I don't think so.

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily