Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, May. 14, 2004 - 3:06 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

National Moving Day explained, and off to TO

Well, I haven't dumped my flamenco show yet... it would be fun to actually do the dances we learn in the class in front of a bunch of people... but it is learning all the extra choreography that she makes up while we are there ...so we are not actually "learning it" but having her do it ten different ways, shoving us around, and then SOMEHOW when she nods her head the last time we have done it a different way... we are supposed to have remembered, without even repeating it, what we have done, to practice and memorize it for the next week... totally not how she teaches the rest of the time. It is so frustrating, and many other people were saying they take the dance for fun, not to have stress like that and need to unwind FROM THE CLASS. aagh...

One girl is not doing the whole show, but will just do Carmen with us. I am going to tell her that I am not doing the show, and would like to do Carmen like this other girl. Or else just go and watch from the audience. I know I am as good at doing the dances as they are, I just don't have the time for all the extra work the actual choreography and rehearsals take up.

And no, we don't get cool costumes. We are like the only ones. We wear pants like we do in the class. The ones who do fancier things wear costumes.

And no it doesnt fuck up anyone else or a choreography if I don't do the show... because we are in a line like Riverdance. If there are 9 or 8 or 7 it doesnt make much difference. We don't interact with parts that would need to be filled in by someone else if I am not there. It would be just one less person to synchronize with. sigh

I don't know. I actually enjoy the class itself, so maybe that is what I should do.

Thanks to the people who said they'd come if they could. If all my friends were in town, and not busy, and had $20 (or if it cost way less), then I'd have lots of people there. My mom and dad would come for sure. And my friends in SF, and Toronto, Ottawa and Stoon. I have people who encourage me, but they are out of town. That is what happens when you make friends and keep them for like 20 years. People move.

And yeah... "National Moving Day"... actually July 1 is Canada Day. But since here in Quebec they are not so hip on Canada, AND since they have a "National Holiday" for the founding of Quebec (St-Jean Baptiste Day) on the previous long weekend (June 24th), and everyone gets July 1 off work, everyone moves then.

Now the vacancy rate is really low, and it is really really hard to get an apartment, so people don't move as much. But when I first moved here in the 80's, and indeed through the 90's when a lot of people left out of fear of separation with the '95 referendum, there was high vacancy. Here people mostly sign leases for one year. And almost all leases are up June 30, with the next one starting July 1. So everyone moves July1. It is kind of cool cuz this big pool of apartments is open when people give their requisite 3 months notice around March... then it is like musical chairs. You have given notice, so the landlord is renting out your place. Will you find a new place to move to??

It used to be like buying new clothes...lots of people would move every year of two, as they moved in with different roomates, or wanted to live alone, or decided to move in with their lover, or get a larger place. It was really wild. As a result the price of moving trucks is insane, and it is really hard to get a truck and men if you don't book like three months in advance. So it ends up being "national moving week"!! And it is the best time both for garage sales (pre and post people's moves) AND garbage picking, since many people just shove all the stuff on the sidewalk that they don't want to move, or won't fit in their new place. So you can just walk down the street and find the greatest perfectly fine clothes and furniture sitting there for the taking. Very cool.

So yeah, Quebec National Moving Day. That's what happens when you aren't into Canada Day!! Very sweaty.

Well, I am making an entry cuz I actually managed to get the sketches done for the Test Project...that is what I shall call it... it is a Toronto client who is hiring me to do black and white drawings of people for an adult textbook. It takes some attention to detail.. I had to draw families in different formats... ie the same girl with three older brothers, or with two older sisters and a younger brother, or with four younger sisters, etc. So making the ages, and family ressemblances. I dont know if I succeeded. We'll see what the client says.

But now I am packing up my books to go to the Small Press Fair. I leave at around 6:30 am. I am cutting costs and so am going to take the regular city bus to the bus depot instead of taking a taxi. Perhaps that is crazy. Oh well. And I am taking my lunch so I don't spend money so much on restaurants.

I admit that it is alot of work to go away, with the dog and cats, plants and garden, home office etc. But that I am looking forward to being in another city. I only have to drop stuff at one store on Friday, and then 11-5 at a table on Saturday. So I have all Friday afternoon and night, Sat night, and all day Sunday just to hang. Not to work, or do dishes or anything. Not to practice flamenco or wash bugs off of leaves. Yay. It is so exciting.

I will be tired again on Monday, since I will sleep tonight and Sunday night sitting up in a bus with people yammering (I shouldn't complain, sometimes it is me yammering)... but at least I will have a couple days away, and it counts as a business trip... since that really is the only reason I am going.

Well, sorry for no exciting pretty photos etc in this entry. But I have other things to do instead of scanning stuff in.

Have a good weekend, and I'll be back playing catchup on Monday.

tah, and hugs to me,

wenchie.

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily