Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

music today: Beck

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Tuesday, Nov. 23, 2004 - 1:24 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

The Munchies

This is my second entry tonight. First entry with photos go here.
yeah

i have the munchies. I am trying not to go for it. I don't really have any snack foods. I have been slicing off a slice of butter on a butterknife, and then picking up peanutbutter with the same buttered knife and licking it off. hehe.

The Pep bar is gone. No other chocolate. Well, there is powdered cacao, but unless I cook something, no go. Pep bars are excellently good... and remind me of being MUCH younger, but they make you salivate and get a sugar rush that makes you eat more and more and then they are all gone.They are not so good for eating over long extended periods as dark Swiss chocolate that just slowly melts in your mouth. oh well.

Yesterday I had some nasty chocolate. It was little fancy chocolates and looked amazing. All them assorted shapes, different colors and finishes. But the insides. I ate them all in two evenings hoping eventually for a good one. They were sort of too fatty, like eating lard or something without flavour. Not enough chocolate flavour. The fillings were either incredibly bland or just not good. One looked like marzipan inside but was some weird blue color. Another was white chocolate on the outside, and seemed like it might have a marachino cherry. But whatever alcoholic sort of filling inside tasted like windshield wiper liquid. Deary me.

Why oh why do people make bad chocolates? It seems like one could not go wrong with standard ingredients. How do you make chocolate and sugar, cocoa butter and almonds go wrong? And why would you? To spite people who like chocolate? To get back at those you consider to have a sweet tooth or drawn in by the decadence of them fancy forms?? I just don't know. It is inexcusable.

So, no those chocolates didn't last a week like I thought, and like they would have if they'd been good enough to savour slowly. But when they taste like windex, one just wants to spit or swallow real quickly. And you don't even get taken out for a movie, or a ride home! sigh!

I am listening to Beck. It's ok. Not great. The song now reminds me of Prince. Most of my best music is on vinyl and I've become lazy to put it on. How did we become so lazy? For years and decades people were quite happy to put on records. Sigh again!

I bought some avocados. But no more chips. So no point in making guacamole. And I am supposed to be drawing, so eating an avocado is not practical. Takes two hands, and a spoon. I suppose I could take it out of the skin, and cut it in little pieces on a plate. Or just lament in writing here, and eat nothing and go back to drawing.

The Leo's Dog book is coming along. I suppose I should scan something in to share.

I'm back to it now. mmmm. munchies.

ciao.
wenchie

oh yeah, I DID go to the gym. Good girl. I think I have vestigal muscles from when I was 19 or 20. yeah. good to go to the gym when you're young... it helps not to get flappy underarms when you are 41.

Ok, yeah, I got stuck googling Pep bars for ya. For your candy browsing pleasure here are a couple websites:

This one, Cybercandy has a listing of chocolate bars and candies from different countries (click on the flags at the top), and you can get descriptions with pictures AND reviews. wow. Lots of old favorites and less than favorites. Who knew someone besides my mom likes Eatmores and them Cherry Blossom bars.

And here is a funky site Childhood Candies from the Candyshoppe. yeah. browse and drool!! :D OK and especially for Chaosdaily who has a little by the highway store herself with all sorts of nummy things she makes and orders in, here is the homepage of the Candyshoppe, which is up here in Canada... I love their description of their store hours:

"Our hours during the winter are from 9-6 daily and until 9pm Fridays, unless the roads are closed or we've lost power at the shoppe.

Our phone number is 1-705-327-8337 and there is an answering machine on it for off hours or if we don't hear it because we are shoveling snow or vacuuming."

Like how great is that!! Down to earth people. Order some favorite childhood candy from them !

6 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily