Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Aug. 01, 2005 - 7:25 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Cukes Rock My Day

Woohoo! Here's my first english cuke of the year from my front yard. Juicy and crunchy! I had cottage cheese salad with it... take a bowl full of cottage cheese, cut in about a third of a cuke, three or four thinly sliced radishes, and maybe 6 or 8 chives snipped into pieces. Salt and pepper. That's it. Sooooo good and summery. yay for cukes.

I was in the garden tonight to water it (and of course it is raining now)... and some idiot has thrown tomatoes everywhere. It is quite sad. There are green tomatoes and getting pink tomatoes all over the place, including stuck into fencing around the gardens, smashed onto the ground and torn into other garden veggies. In various places hundreds of feet apart. Very sad. Weirdly enough the whole swimming pool next to the gardens was decorated with festoons of toilet paper as well. Hopefully not in the water, but all the fencing, the life guards' chairs, diving boards. And now it is raining, so it will all be a mooshy toilet paper mess. How will they clean that up without it getting all into the pool. I have no idea who in the neighborhood thinks they're funny, but they simply are not.

There do seem to be some problems in the garden. When it was hot every night as well as during the day, the powdery mildew stayed away. But it has been cool the past three nights, and the zukes are totally covered. I was going to spray them but it seems pointless in the rain. The tomatoes and the swiss chard are getting brown leaf edges and some yellow. Not so good. I will try to cut the swiss chard and scald it again for freezing before i leave on vacation. I have no idea where I'll find the time. I spent the night doing my quarterly goods and services tax report... just finished now past 7am. ack.

I did go out to Meo*w Mix, which is a cabaret/ dance night which closed up gay pride week. It was ok. Not great. And it took a huge chunk out of the evening. Well, I didn't do much for pride... just the parade Monday, then came home and worked, and community day yesterday, and came home and worked. In fact I haven't taken a day off. And I am still behind on the work I need to finish before I go away. Sigh.

Sometimes going away seems more work than it is worth, rushing around beforehand and when I get home, trying to catch up. But I know it is good for me to have a change of scene and not sit in my office for a week. Every summer I don't go away, I miss it. It feels like there is no break. Well, maybe because there IS no break! hah!

I am looking forward to sleeping in the tent under the trees. Sitting around chatting to people. Sitting at the stages listening to music in the fresh outdoor air while I look at the sky with its falling stars (meteor shower time!). Yes, it will be good. But I will also be exhausted to drive if I am working til the last minute, dealing with house, garden, contracts etc. At least doggy is going to the countryside on Friday, and I leave Sunday, so I'll have two dogwalky-free nights.

Well, it is past 7:30 am, I totally have to get to sleep. I kick myself for being lazy for getting up at 2pm, but that is just a little more than 6 hours sleep if I go to bed at 7:50 am!! yeeeks!

OK, nite nite!!
me
wenchie
hugola patola.

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily