Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005 - 9:59 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Onions in San Fran and Wolfie Lost in Space

Yo!

Here i am at Onewetleg's in San Francisco. woooowwweeee! That means I eventually arrived.

I DID get a good sleep on them super cool comfy boarding lounge waiting room chairs in Toronto. hehe. So I didn't realy sleep on the plane. Instead I read this hilarious funky book about punctuation, called "Eats, Shoots & Leaves". If you can believe it, it is laugh-out-loud funny. A great book for Sticklers and those who are not.

So, well, I have absolutely NO idea how it says there are FOUR copies of my stuck-in-the-airport entry. They ALL have the SAME URL, which I didn't think was possible,they all have the exact same comments, and also when I click "back" I don't go to four "stuck in the airport" entries, I go to the raking leaves at home one. That is just too weird.

Speaking of comments, I bring to you this delight from the anonymous Wolfie, who has a few problems with the concept of linear time flow and also autobiography.It's near of the bottom of This page of comments. Anyone know who our snarky friend Wolfie is? Sorry to disappoint you, Wolfie, I don't delete comments. I let other people see what an illogical stupid ass you are.

Hmmm. Let's see. I bought a book in the public part of the Montreal airport around 4:45 am. I forget it inside the security-cleared part of the Montreal airport at the boarding-lounge-side bar where I bought a croissant. I then boarded a plane, went to Toronto, went to the bathroom, went through terminal 1, took a bus to terminal 2, picked up my bags, went through US customs, at which point I missed my plane connection, and had to spend 20 minutes getting rebooked onto another flight to San Fran. After that whole fiasco, I got onto the annoying bell internet terminal to make a diary to let off steam past 8:30 am.

And our brilliant Wolfie says I wouldn't have forgotten my book if I hadn't wasted time on the crappy internet to make the entry. Hmmm. Does anyone else see a little problem with wolfie's ability to see um, event order, and um, time continuum?? hmm

Then wolfie says I plagiarize my artwork. Now that is fascinating, since I do autobio, about my dog and my friends and my conversations in life. Apparenty I lift work from shari flenniken (btw wolfie, you seem to have some knowledge of hard to find alternative comic artists, as she is definitely cool, but you need to learn to spell..) In this case, Shari must herself have hung out with my dog, in my neighborhood, with my friends from SF, and had conversations with my neighborhood cafe staff. Who knew? I hope I bump into her sometime. It would mean she writes about my life and publishes it years before I live it myself, and then somehow after living my life I have lifted from someone else's artwork, I then WRITE about my plagiarized life.

Once again, there seems to be some time/space disconnect in Wolfie's world I wasnt aware of. Here I thought my thought, dog, friends, conversations and life were my own, not plagiarized from a comic book. It is ALSO interesting cuz I don't remember that shari even did any queer content. Wrote some cute sexy relationship stuff and also stories about a little girl and a dog sort of like little orphan annie, but I am 41 yrs old, scarcely a little girl.

So bizarre. How anyone can criticize someone for plagiarizing for autobio is a mystery to me.

ok,

well, to continue the comedy of errors, when I went to buy the funny punctuation book, and some fruit gummies, and pay with my bank card, they handed me the little handheld thingie to put in my nip... and it said $698.67 wow. My croissant cost me the $30 book I bought, and the replacement book was $700. hmm. glitchy day.

Then I DID have a nice flight to SF. We watched Electra, which is a movie you can miss. yup. skip it.I laughed at the punctuation book. They fed us real hot food. yay! I chatted with a fun nice girl coming from India who lives in the Mission here in SF.

Oh, and I had called ahead to the people putting me up to get them to buy all the ingredients for green curry stuff (well, the fruits and veg)... so I could make them dinner when i got there even though I was 8 hours late.

I got there ON TIME but they projected that if I missed one connection i might miss another. How anyone could miss a flight when they are at the boarding gate 8 hours early, i don't know. But they made macaroni tuna melt casserole. Idunno about you, but that wasn't satisfying my urge to cook them dinner to thank them, NOR my urge to eat curry with mango and fresh basil.sigh.

I went to a cool funky party thingie that had lots of great cartoonists, got some new queer minicomics zines, went to a coffeeshop for a latte to read them, hung out with my hosts shooting the breeze and watching the pope's funeral til 4am. So i was pretty tired this morning.

I went to the copycenter to pick up all my minicomics... they've had since tuesday to make them. haha. They were ALL mistapled and misfolded. ALL 468 of them. And they charged me 35 cents EACH for stapling and folding. agh. They wanted over $450 for the comics. That's nearly $1 US apiece. At home they cost me 45cents apiece.Yikes.

Anyways when i pointed out how badly they were done the guy looked really sheepish, redid a pile of 50 of them that were photocopied crooked, and knocked the bill down to $278 cuz i have to refold all 468 of them tonight. ok ok I will refold about 200 of them tonight and the rest on Saturday night. Dang. Anyways, yeah, bad day. I was at the copy center for 2 hours and that took up all my browsing time. I was sposed to have from 11am onward on thursday and all afternoon today to be a tourist.

ya know what?? a boarding lounge in toronto, montreal and san fran pretty much look the same, and a copycenter in SF looks pretty much like a copycenter in montreal. I have seen more flourescent lights and white walls in the past two days than i care to see in a month.

But after that the day got sunny, i had a great egg sandwich AAAAAANNNNNDDDDD.....

I got my onion tattoo!!

woo woo! I got a tattoo for the first time in my life. It was cool... she drew it while i was there, and made it to fit behind my ear. We had to redraw the shoots cuz of my mole (the one that my dr. certified "it's nothing its nothing")but it looks great. It was fun, it was done by someone i like alot but didn't know if we'd get along these days. It was a totally good time. yay.

we went afterwards to this comic book distributor's open house, and had cheese and artichoke hearts and browsed through bookshelves, looked at stuffed heads of two-headed calves and carnival posters, and now i'm here. Having a beer. hehe. that's what we do here at Onewetleg's. Tman is here too. He's playing starcraft i guess, some sort of war game thingie.

ok that's all. And ya know what? this is a diary. if something makes you whiny, this is the place to do it man. And if what happens to you that is a bummer,and it happens to a million people too, well, it doesn't make you royalty if you are pissed. it just means you are one of a million pissed people. All writing about it in their grumbly diaries. IF you want drama, rent an effin movie.If you read diaries, you will get dishwater. Yup. the effluvia of the day of ordinary people washed off their hands and minds. If you want brilliant commentary, go google some professional blogger, read harper's magazine, or look at yourself in the mirror. ,Don't come to diaryland, hello!! it is called DIARY LAND!!! and read diaries and then complain they are diaries. jeesh. And then leave comments so idiotic that we can all laugh at your idiocy. Better to be dishwater than an idiot eh.

cheers! thanks for the nice comments, every sweet non-wolfie oneofya.
hugs
me
wenchie
in SAN FRAN
at onewetleg's

8 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily