Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Mar. 21, 2005 - 12:11 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

A Short Computer Situation Rundown

OK, you brilliant helpful people. Onewetleg gets all the brownie points cuz she understands it isn't Mac trying to steal the market but rather the mac copycats ("oh, look at that wonderful OS, why don't we make Windows??") and the horrid Microsoft people. Booo to microsoft.

Radiogurl, thanks. The only thing I can tell is that apparently PCs are easy for people to take apart and put back together. Believe me with the amount of shit that you write about on them computers, it has sold me on buying another Mac. Sort of like people saying they hate Toyotas because they are hard to fix. Um, yeah, well, how often do you actually NEED to FIX a toyota? I have had to get servicing on my mac a total of three times in over 5 years, and two of those three times were just to add more memory and have the guy upgrade it, not a problem of viruses, computer dying etc.

Have I ever lost anything on my Mac worse than a diaryland entry? no

Ok thanks. I shall stick with Toyotas over Ford, and Mac over Microsoft, thanks a million.

Next.

Here is the rundown on the puter (which works fine if people would stop "upgrading" browsers):

  • Macintosh Power PC G3
  • Mac OS 9.2.2
  • Total Built-In Memory: 448 MG ( and no I have not idea how much RAM I have... I"m assuming it's way more than that since I have tons of images....) Oh wait, I found it: Harddrive: 4.01 GB, available 743.1 MB ... see I told you there are tons of images on my puter... I'm an illustrator, what do you want.
  • ViewSonic PT775 17" color monitor
  • UMAX Astra 1200S 8.5x14" scanner
  • Epson Stylus Photo 700 printer
  • Wacom art Z II 8x10" graphics tablet
  • and some CD burner... La Cie but sorry, don't know where the specifications are
  • highspeed cable modem
  • So there ya are.

    Please look it up yourself before you tell me to get browsers that don't support Mac 9, OS's that use 2GB of disk space and won't be compatible with any of my peripherals.

    That gives you a vague idea of what all, which is totally functioning (except the monitor needs replacing since it is losing brightness and focus) would need to be replaced if I replace the puter itself.

    Quite a little shopping list. And we won't even start on the software I'd have to replace. Photoshop, BBEdit, Word, Fetch, Excel, Quark, Toast, Acrobat Reader, not to mention the things that just take time and energy to configure... quicktime, flash macromedia, browsers etc.

    Anyone who wishes to buy me a new computer system, supply me with the software, and spend the time installing it and transfering all my files is welcome to do so, if it means I can use Firefox, Panther, Linux, Blogger etc.

    Until then, please don't suggest something unless you've checked compatibility with the above hardware and peripherals constraints.

    thanks.

    And I still think that developing whole browsers and websites that are non-mac compatible is the equivalent of gasoline and tollbooth bridges that are not Toyota compatible. And believe me, my puter was top of the line pretty much for a graphics artist type person 5 years ago.

    To put it in perspective. My stereo was second hand in 1985 and works fine. My toaster and electric kettle, ditto. My blender, new about 1982. My microwave, 1994-95. My oven, secondhand in 1992. My camera, new in 1989. My fax, new in 1992. My refrigerator, secondhand in 1995. My freezer I just sold, new in 1989. My tv, new in 1997.

    Pretty much the only thing I have replaced was my boombox, second hand in 1990.

    All that stuff works fine. I have had some of it repaired, but repair was possible.

    My mom's Toyota? New in 1988, still running great.

    And yeah, my puter is great. Just not the idiots building the new roads.

    If I, who have no children, don't work a minimum wage job, don't support a spouse, and can justify a computer at home as a work expense, cannot afford to keep up, who the hell can? Yes, people who work in large businesses and people buying their first puters. A few techies such as computer graphists, really have no choice, but they often share software and work in offices where it paid for by the business.

    Who the hell can afford a new computer and all that software and new peripherals every 4 years?? Not me.

    Fuckers.

    OK, back to work. With a pencil. Incredibly enough they work just fine. Even when they're five years old.

    cheers.
    grumpy still,
    wenchie.

    4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
    Leave yours too!!

    Go to "notes" instead of comments

    Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
    email:
    Powered by NotifyList.com
    ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

    previous meanderings - future past

    Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
    Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
    Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
    sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
    The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

    about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

    Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily