Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Nov. 22, 2004 - 6:47 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Dog Drool and Overcharges

OK ok, I think last night I didn't get an entry done. Nope. Early in the evening I thought, oh I should work, not make an entry. And then late at night I thought, oh I should sleep, not make an entry.

So to avoid the same situation today, early in the evening I am thinking, oh, I should make an entry. So there.

First of all, there will be funny and adorable pictures of my dog. Well, I am biased, but hopefully you will bear with me. The first is her trying to sit down on the car seat. She puts her feet too close to the backrest and then tries to sit... bum goes on backrest. Then she can't get down. She is not so talented. It eventually works out, as you can see in picture two. In that one she is showing how good she is at putting her chin next to her wrists and ankles at the same time.She'd be a great bondage subject. hehe.

The last picture of her is her laying her chin on my nice cleanish (well, clean would be exaggerating) black backpack on our way to me teaching at that class at the college a week ago. Yah. I hadn't planned to bring her, but she looked so dismal I did, and plop, the drool and white hair right on my backpack. Sillilly enough (that is the adverb of silly) I brought one of them hair and lint roller thingies, and then didn't think to use it. Oh well.!

And let me tell you, I am an ambitious person yes I am. uhuh. I have ambitions to get rid of these blasted scale insects that have ALMOST disappeared over the summer but have not. Remember the momentous battles with them last winter, and the subsequent dispairing? Ah, well, now that I have discovered that adding baking soda to the water and Murphy's Oil Soap, and can just SPRAY it on instead of scrubbing every leaf one by one, top and bottom, I have ambition. yes, I SHALL overcome. Last night it was not quite freezing yet (compared to the night before where there was sleet changing into snow... though no accumulation of white this year yet). So I lugged ALL of them tropical plants outside one by one and sprayed them and lugged them back in. It was drippy and wet and they were heavy and dropping leaves everywhere, but I saw two or five of them darn scale insects and that was enough for me. Get em early, be merciless. Yeah.

I also chopped down the skinniest oleander a wee bit.. .and took the advice of the phone-in radio plant guy, and chopped the ends off a bunch of stems so hopefully they'll branch out and it will stop being so skinny.

And being ambitious, I have decided to use most of them choppity bits with nice leaves (cuz of course that is why they get long... I am LOATHE to chop off the few nice leafy bits the oleanders have, once most of their stems lose the leaves. sad but true.).

I stuck them in some rooting shit (well it's not shit, just some slimey green stuff that comes in a little expensive bottle) maybe rooting snot... and they are all in a carton of water. Like i need to root more oleanders. Dang. The tallest of the two I have is about 8 feet high and six feet across. They take up alot of space.

I have cut down the ambition a weeee bit now I am less stressed about money... having taken on the women on New Year's magazine picture, and all them adult ed pics (I still have a shitload of those to do the finals on, as I have sent in the sketches and am awaiting the comments for changes)... AND *Ding*Ding*Ding*Ding*!!! ... the South Korean people have okayed the sample sketches of a several pages of their characters and settings and are sending me a contract in the mail. If the contract is not shit as hell, then I will sign it and have work from January to May. YAY! it will be like a base salary and then hopefully I will have time to do other work concurrently. IT will be SUCH a relief.

But as a result I have turned down yet more of them adult ed language illustrations. I have to do the finals for the last batch as well as the two dog books before Jan 7. So I am learning to be just ridiculously ambitious instead of stupidly ridiculously ambitious. yup. Good move eh!

I also have ambitions to get my studio cleaned up. God knows when. But I DID spend about an hour last night measuring and figuring in my head where to move furniture... and see if I can actually use the 6' doors from the bifold closet door we removed upstairs as shelving... They are hollowcore and solid, but um, six feet long... so they don't really call as modular or flexible. Hmmm. ambition ambition. I can ALMOST imagine a studio without boxes of files and drawings and books in the middle of the floor. ALMOST. hehe.

Other things on my mind... "why do people argue when they know or think they are right and other people tell them they are wrong. What is at stake". "Will a check come in before I have to pay that $2000 taxes I owe?"

"will the Canadian dollar continue to climb...it was at a 12 year high today... so my US $ savings will dwindle as a result of being fiscally wise and saving instead of spending". "how long can I put off using beets, carrots and potatoes for something... and if I keep eating stuff out of the freezer, will it open up enough space that I can use those veggies to make veggie soup that I put in the freezer BEFORE they dry up and rot??".

Other things happening today: I got my Visa bill with an new addition this month of $1600 when I thought I only spent $300 all month. AHHHH... it says I spent $!300 on ONE fedex shipment. Wow eh.

Now you know that it costs $1300 to send 150kg to Boston. Wow. That's a lot of money. And you also know that people use zero common sense... you have to check "lbs" or "kgs" in the area to indicate metric or imperial measure eh. And since everything I send is grams not kgs (my scale is metric) I write things like 150g or 72g or 368g for weight, and check the "kgs" thing. Apparently that leads some employee to misread 150g as 150kg, even though it is worth $5 cdn, is documents, and fits in a Fedex envelope (9"x 12") uhuh.

150 kg fits in a nine by twelve quarter inch thick envelope. Imagine your surprise picking up THAT bugger! Not even lead ways that much for a small piece. Some new sort of heavier than heavy metal I suppose.

Cripey.

$1300 mistake. One would think that the dinglebrain's head would click someplace instead of going "oh she shouldve not written it in grams but rather as 0.15 kg"... apparently that is what I am supposed to write. Weirdly enough since the instructions on the envelope itself say "can hold up to 270grams" rather than "up to 0.27 kg".

Sigh.
At least that is straightened out, and hopefully before I have to pay interest on $1300 I didn't spend.

Be careful filling out your forms. AND be VERY attentive when reading your statements and bills. Dang. If that had been $75 overcharge instead of $1300 I wouldn't have noticed. dang.

Ok, my borscht is going beep beep cuz it has been warm in the microwave for ages now, and I must plop in some sour cream and toast some toast, and then eat and walk doggies and work and maybe work out and ya know, stuff like that.

Ok, bye. tah
me
wenchie
doing fine.


Here is my horoscope for Monday, November 22:

It's time to learn something you've always been dying to know about -- and if you're smart, you'll really dig deep to learn everything about it. Let your imagination run free. Go for it."


Hmmm. well that grams vs kilograms thing. Yeah, I've been dying to know that.

Oh, here is a great webpage about them personality tests we all know and love and love and hate to love and love to hate and you know what I mean... yeah. read it.

7 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily