Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Tuesday, Jul. 26, 2005 - 5:36 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

No One Will Come to the Parade And I'll Lose Business

BWAHAHAHAHA!! No One Will Come say the oh so supportive (not) gay village business people. Shikesorama. Stupid farts don't give a damn about anything except the $$$ they are afraid of not making.

So!!! It was gay pride parade day here in Montreal!! on a MONDAY NIGHT! YAY!! Can I say how LOVELY it was to have the parade NOT be at 2pm with the sun beating down? Esp since today it was over 30�C again with some whizdinger sunburn rating. For the first time the parade was OPENING pride week (cultural events all week, and parties next weekend to close it) on Monday night at 8pm. Usually it CLOSED pride week on a Sunday afternoon when everyone was burnt out from cultural events and then parties on Fri and Sat. Usually I left the parade with a splitting headache and the edges of a heatstroke.

So.

Today, I was all ready to do the parade thing. And then I didn't get enough sleep for the past few days (I have no discipline... I end up reading blogs and then I end up reading adoption books in bed til past 7:30 am sheesh), AND I got my period. So I was tired, crampy, bowels doing that period bowel thing... and ZERO interest in dressing up and marching around.

So, at 5pm I went to bed. And slept and slept and slept til quarter to 8. And then leapt out (oh I didn't mention the tylenol at 3pm, and at 5pm and again at 8pm?) of bed, somewhat refreshed, washed my hair, threw a feather boa around my neck (red), insoles in my running shoes and scooted down the hill on my bike. Thankfully attitude and a feather boa a pride outfit does make. I wore the same skanky khaki armytype shorts as the last three days, and didn't even change my tshirt or socks. I DID brush my teeth. heh! And thankfully the parade prep area was RIGHT down at the bottom of my street... a whole 3.7 minutes of downhill biking, not counting red lights.

So... yay! I am so glad I did get my sorry ass down there. I saw a gazillion people I knew. Hugs and kisses and smiles and whatnot. And I took a bunch of photos of the gayrobics people warming up, and the asiangays warming up, and the linedancers warming up (about three hundred of them, dressed in totally matching competition beige outfits in synch), and the drag queens posing, and whatnot. And then it got too dark for photos and I joined the T*ip of the T*ongue group: lesbian social group for 20-30's... ok ok i'm too old but i'm like an honorary member and too young for the "ARC" group... the ain�s et r�trait�s de la communaut�... which means elders and retired of the community... who were all decked out with glow in the dark rainbow ARC letters on them, and did dance formations with parasols!

The ToT pickup had a huge paper mache tongue on the front with a rainbow tongue piercing. Lots of people laughed and took photos. A bunch of other friends including l'Ecrivaine met up with us along the way and we waved glow bracelets and boas and screamed and threw candies and it was fun fun fun.

The streets were lined 6-8 people deep on both sides all along the route. YEAH YEAH, NO ONE WILL COME!! Duh-uh. Gays and lesbians, straights and priests, families with old people and kids, lawn chairs and balloons. Tshirts and leather, face paint and noisemakers. No one will come. Sheesh.

Everyone came and no one died of sunburn and heatstroke. wow.

Anyways, it was a great cool fun thing to have the parade at night.

And the silly business people. We broke away from the parade before the end to get something to eat. Unlike the business people we knew that there was gonna be a rush on restos when it was over and we weren't chancing it. Had vegetarian poutine mmmm. And onion rings. And when we exited the resto, the streets were awash with people all over the gay village. It is REALLY warm out so it was a great party atmosphere. Went to a club and it was wall to wall people. Totally intolerable.

One of them businesses that were screaming on national radio that the parade organisers were ruining pride, ruining their business blah blah. Duh. They should have made them close their doors at 8pm, and told everyone to go downtown to the straight bars, since the gay bars were supportive ZERO of the parade. I don't remember seeing a single float from a gay village bar in the parade this year. So much better to stay home and scream "ruined profits" than to actually participate. It WAS nice that it was less commercial though... no Bell Canada, no Hydro Quebec (really, pride parade had become some sort of corporate show a couple years ago). Air Canada had a big contingent though, with blow up airplanes worn by employees. Lots and lots of community groups like Gay Line (helpline) and GRIS (against homophobia in schools).

Anyways, not being able to deal with the heat and 5 billion people inside one bar, despite it having four floor and three outside terraces, me and my red boa, glow bracelet and blue tinsel came home.

So, now I gotta get some sleep. Work day tomorrow, and a busy pride week to come!
cheers!
me
wenchie

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily