Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Dec. 19, 2003 - 1:00 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Supergirl Runs All Over Town (and dead babies)

OK, so like there are things that you regret in life and things you REALLY regret and may never get over.

I don't think I've done the second yet.

How about this one. This past Monday, some father here in a suburb of Montreal put his 18month old child in the car seat in the car, proceeded to take the foot of snow off the car, got the other two kids to drive them all to school, and then realized the youngest was unconscious. Got her to the hospital ipso vito, and she was dead.

Yup. While she was snug and warm in the car, and Daddy was probably even watching through the window, noting with a smile that she was dozing off instead of crying and fussing, being early morning and all, she was actually being poisoned to death by carbon monoxide.

Turns out it was an older car with a leak in the exhaust line, and also the snow around the car was against the exhaust pipe. Dead baby.

Doting dad, two other kids, mom. and a dead baby you didnt even leave unattended. But it is 100% your fault. You didn't think to check if the exhaust pipe was clear, or crack a window for fresh air.

Big bobo. They have had multiple cases of carbonmonoxide poisoning in little kids in the past two days... but that I believe was the only death. Horrid. I wonder how that family will do this Christmas. How their marriage will do. How that guy's self-esteem and esteem for his parenting skills will do. Fuck. Guilt soup he will be eating for the rest of his life.

Icespirals, Detroit april 2002, Copyright 2003 Wench77
Well, just for a little break after that public service announcement, here is a very fun website. Hopefully no one will be offended. It is mostly remakes of Barbies...and other funky stuff. Have fun at Spatula Jackson's.

I am happy to say that somehow today between 3:30 pm and 6:30 pm I managed to drop off the doggie cover, take in my passport form (and get new photos of me looking like a corpse... b&w and NO SMILING!!), drop off a Christmas card at Second Hook Bookstore (somehow I spelled the woman's name wrong, even though I thought i'd done a typo... it turned out to be a CORRECT mispelling!), where I bought two cassettes of stories and a David Suzuki book for my Dad. I also sussed out some envelopes for my Christmas cards.. what a pain. It is almost impossible to find envelopes only for cards made out of half of a regular sheet of paper. Just you try. I finally opted for buying three packages of horridly cutesy Christmas cards on sale, just for the envelopes. I even bought a $25 gift certificate for The Future Shop for my sad bro. yup. Good dutiful sis that I am.

Icespirals, Detroit april 2002, Copyright 2003 Wench77
I did opt to get off the subway halfway home to try and sell some books at a secondhand bookstore seeing as I was downtown, but they didn't want them, and then I was totally late, with no cash, and in need of a taxi. Amazing how an hour can disappear in the snow, slogging around city streets in and out of subway stations and looking for a bank machine. I shelled out for a taxi (grrr) and was only 10 minutes late for my last flamenco class for the year. Strangely the teacher... Sonia DEL RIO, seems to like me, and thinks I am funny. That is a relief. Whereas some people just find me incredibly annoying when I try to figure out what logically went wrong when I screw up, she just smiles, shakes her head and goes "Lena, lena lena"... I shall soon start to answer to Lena I believe. hmmm. I think she just makes up names and then expects us to get used to them. Simpler than remembering our real names I suppose! I should try that. "I'm sorry, but my name is Bob"... "oh thanks Billy! Billy you are such a sweetie! Sorry I got your name wrong! Bye Billy!!!"

I can't believe what a weight is off my shoulders because of taking in that passport application... I was running around getting photo (bad SMILING photo), photocopies of ID etc signed by my dentist back in MAY. Jeesh. I can FINALLY cross it off my todo list.

I wonder if it is possible to have withdrawal symptoms from caffeine even if I only drink one long espresso a day. I am trying to find out by chugging down a couple of watery coffees at home... my head has been aching since about 7pm... by which time it usually would have been awash in that nice legal drug. swish swish!!

This entry is getting long, so I shall stop here. Oh... I did remove the brown paper packaging from my Dad's present, and it says from Dad and Stepmom. So I have decided to give Dad AND STEPMOM a book by Raymond Briggs, called "Ethel and Ernest: a true story" which I read and is good, but would be just a good present to parents esp ones who married your dad 25 years ago. It is a beautiful story of his parent's life, done as a 103 page color comic book in hardcover like a novel. Very touching. hmmm. Gotta wrap presents tonight, and then do the mail thing tomorrow. With my new "smallbusiness discount" Canada Post card! yay!

til another time or later! ciao!

Here is my horoscope for Thursday, December 18:

Everyone respects the same order. Libra facilitates friendship between those that rarely have much common ground. Inspired activity keeps you warm when the weather turns cold.

ps. If you have any opinions on emotional vs sexual infidelity, go read Sleepyzoe's entry today and leave her a comment. yeah.

ps again... If you would like to read a funny editorial by Raymond Briggs, illustrator and cartoonist extraordinaire, you should go here:"Why I'd Like to be a Proper Author". It is short and a really good read that I can totally identify with. The guy is great great great I tell ya. (You might know his book, cum animated movie, "The Snowman". Good stuff.

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily