Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Aug. 19, 2004 - 12:39 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Da Wench Decides to Half Spring for Dad

OK, so I finally bit the bullet and asked my father if he would be willing to chip in a coupla hundred bucks to come here... Ie that I make him work less... ie 350$ worth instead of $600 worth, so I wouldn't cover his plane ticket completely... and he seems up to it.

Jeesh. I cannot believe the guilt I feel and trepidation about not coming up with $600 to import my dad. It is quite silly. He has not, as far as I remember, coughed up airfare for me since we went overseas with my grandmother when I was eleven. And it is certainly not like I never did work around his place... really, the number of nails I put into his house in the countryside... the one we were obstensibly building for "us", but it actually ended up being for him, his wife and their kids... I stopped going out there to visit (and do construction) before it was finished being built.

Sigh.

But I totally trust his building and repair skills... it means I get to see him, AND get advice on building shit (ie is my house sinking into the clay... the answer is YES but need I do something quickly??). And hopefully not have to hire separate people to fix the back fence, the back patio, my basement door etc etc. I will have to ask the tenants what they need to have done.

I MIGHT have BOTH my father and a friend staying here who is attending yoga school in Montreal starting Sept 22. It will be sort of weird I suppose... a yoga dyke and my dad. hmmm. well, what can I say, I didn't think they'd overlap but they just might. The yoga dyke is doing a buddhist retreat right now I think. Actually I think she may be coming to Montreal to do a thai massage course. She is a wonderful artist, a fun person to dance with, and I met her doing massage at musicfest. She also manages to get all the cute butchy dykes *I* am interested in. I guess she's more charming, and she drinks more.

Anyways, it will be a really weird mix. Maybe my father will be charmed. I am sure I have enough space in a 6 1/2 apartment for us all.

zzz I am totally sleepy and don't know why.

Small amounts of work were done today, in the form of cleaning up a huge pile of stuff (mostly photos and newpaper clippings) on top of a chest of drawers.

I WAS going to do tons of cleaning/arranging in the kitchen area since i was supposed to have a visit from two friends with small children tomorrow, but they have postponed for a week. So now i'll have to clean behind the toilet AGAIN! ;0)

Well, I hate to say, I think I am going to read in bed. Or see if there is some olympics coverage on tv. What a day... picking veggies (oh drat. THAT is what I am going to do now... I just remembered I have a bathtub full of swisschard to parboil ack!), then hanging out with l'Ecrivaine, then having dinner at a friend's, then reading emails. Not exactly "forcant" as they say.

tah!

me, wenchie

ps, here is my entry about my swisschard and my cat in the bathtub, with photos, from last year.

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily