Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Oct. 10, 2004 - 2:38 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Me Too! Product Spiel

First entry tonight here: Dad Gone.

OK, this thing is running around Diaryland. thedevlyn did it and so did might-could (her diary needs a password so I'm not putting her link... sorry) So here I go!:

The Wench's Spiel on Products and Stuff!:

Shampoo: I use Herbal Essence shampoo with Rose Hips, VItaminE and Jojoba, for Colored/ Permed/ Dry/ Damaged Hair. Cuz I had my hair bleached before, also it gets dry if I wash it more often than every three days. Ironic, cuz as a child/ teen/ young adult I had to wash my hair every day or it was horribly greasy. Also cuz it is biodegradable and not tested on animals. The biodegradable is important, and more so when I take it with me to Musicfest where the stuff goes directly into the ground, from which directly comes our drinking water. Take care of your water yeah.

Conditioner: Paul Mitchell "The Conditioner", leave-in moisturizer and conditioner. This I got from an affair who had rather stiff hair, and I tried it at her place when my hair was bleached and trying to imitate an overused toothbrush. It works great great great. Doesn't make your hair sticky or stiff or anything, just soft and nice. And doesn't have any wild and crazy overpowering smell.

Deodorant: I use a natural crystal. It works great... dip it in any water and rub it on. No more stinky. It lasts forever, and you can carry a piece of it in your bag or suitcase (buy a big one and drop it on the floor to get a piece). Some people say it is aluminum salts and therefore toxic, but I researched it and it doesn't appear to be the same form as the aluminum metal that is in lots of stick deodorant, and so is not linked to alzheimers. Maybe that's not true, but anyways it is more natural, not scented and at least no worse than normal commercial deodorants.

Perfume: None. zippo. zilch. And then it is cool when people tell me I smell really good. It is just me.

Toothpaste: Sensodyne. Yup. I brushed away part of my gums by brushing too hard too often, so I have sensitive teeth. Sensodyne helps the situation. Good stuff. I also started whitening my teeth with Dr. George's Dental White, which is totally great and affordable (but will make your teeth ache if you use it too often) since ob taught me about it.

Floss: I don't really have a brand. I used Butler for a long time just cuz I didn't floss often and so it lasted and lasted. Now I have Reach unwaxed, but I find it hard to fit between my teeth which are tight. I might try waxed next time.

Soy Milk: Well, might-could put this, so I will answer: I like the original nonvanilla soy milk. Just regular soy milk. I like it cold in a glass. Very refreshing.

Though I more often buy Cow's Milk I buy mostly Organic 2% milk. Put it in my tea, coffee, postum etc. And my cereal and in soup etc etc.

Chocolate: Cocoa Camino Organic Bittersweet 71% Cocoa. Num Num. It is also Fair Trade. Great stuff.

Soy pre-made foods: This is also from might-could. I dunno. I guess those little fake meatballs, or the fake hamburger. It is pretty convincing in spaghetti sauce or chile con carne. Other than that, i don't really go for meat-substitutes that much though I will eat them. I am more likely to very rarely buy real thinly sliced ham or turkey. Yeah, it's a baaaad thing. but I do sometimes.

Shoes: I wear black Converse hightops, though will wear other colors and lowtops, esp if I get cheap knockoffs. Canvas on the feet rules... it is breathable, you can throw it in the washing machine, it just shouldn't cost what Converse cost. They price it ridiculously. Before they were popular, you could get similar normal hightops for $15 Cdn. But then Converse became IN and the market exploded and then they were out of style and now only Converse are left. That is my running shoe bitch. I also wear these second hand army boots I got about 1990 for $20 and have resoled, and another pair with lighter softer leather that are so comfy, also second hand in Detroit for $20, and also resoled. I am ALSO a true Birkenstock fan... I had one pair from 1986-1993 and another pair since then, both resoled several times. I wear them outside in summer and as slippers in winter. I have various other shoes and boots I wear on occasion.

Purse: I don't do purses. I have a fanny pack with everything I need in it. If I need bigger (ie carry books etc) I use a black backpack from Walmart: "Outdoor Products" brand. I bought it about 1993. I also have a small black leather Roots backpack (tiny one) that I use instead of my fanny pack when I go out dancing etc.

Earbobs and other Jewelry: I have a wooden plug about a quarter inch wide in one ear. It's great cuz it breaths. I had a metal one before but it got icky and stinky. I have two ball rings in my other ear. They do get stinky. They are surgical steel. I sometimes wear a chunky metal bracelet that I got for $5... very solid. And I have the same rings since about 1983: my highschool ring (silver with a fake peridot) from 1980, a gold wedding band from my Mom, and a thin goldish ring with a tiny maybe-diamond from my Dad and stepmom. I also have a white gold thin chain around my neck, rather short. No other jewelry. Always same stuff unless it is Halloween or fancy dress up (then it is just cheap costume bangles)

Computer: Mac. And only Mac. I have a Power PC G3. It was top of the line when I got it but now is old stuff. But I love it.

Stores: Food: ValMont (fruit and deli), Passion des Fruits (fruit and coffee), Coop Bio (organic chocolate, cereal, pasta, meat, soap, cheese), Metro (all other food including organic milk, bread and butter). I don't buy that many clothes, but I do get a few things at Le Placard, the cafe slash vintage shop I frequent. Sewing stuff: a little shop on Mont Royal that is staffed by the owner. Also "Fil de Montagne", shop for "outdoor" material to make backpacks, tents etc, and Rix Rax, a notions shop (buttons, corset stays, fringe, other dodads). Books: The Beguiling in Toronto, Fichtre in Montreal, sometimes Renaud-bray and Chapters.

Skincare: Not sure what they mean, but I always use Keri Moisturizing Bath Oil in the shower or bath. If not I have such dry skin I feel i am being eaten alive by tiny ants after washing. urk. I also use Curel Fragrance Free Moisture Therapy Lotion. Great stuff. Not oily, not sticky, works. Lipcare: I am a Labello fan. esp the medicated one or sunscreen one. No weird flavours or tastes please. When I drink my coffee i want it to taste like coffee, not cherry or peppermint. urk.

Soap For some weird reason this isn't mentioned but I cheer for Nature Clean All Purpose Cleaning Lotion. It is just unscented clear biodegradable liquid soap. Fantastic stuff. I put it in push bottles in the kitchen and bathroom for my hands, I wash dishes and fruits and veggies with it, put it on spots on clothes before throwing them in the washer, use it in a bucket of water to wash walls etc, and use it in the shower. I love it love it love it. All natural, not tested on animals, organic what have ya. This is the ultimate great product.

Makeup: None really. I do have some, ie Personnelle brand (the house brand from our neighborhood Jean Coutu pharmacy) black eyeliner pencil. Lipstick, mascara etc I use only when I am doing dressup... I don't mean going out to dinner or looking good, I mean Halloween, fancy dress like a Cowboy Party, or Fetish Club, or Halloween Devil etc. I don't wear makeup to look good. I wash my face and put the Curel hand lotion on it. That's it.

Well, that seems to be the end of it. I am sure there are other products, but I think that's enough. yeah.

OK I am gonna wrap this up. I could go on about the Dad situation but I think it's ok. I called Onewetleg and chatted my head off with her and tman for awhile tonight. It was fun. Turns out we were both nuts about the book Julie of the Wolves... she just reread it recently and loved it again, and I read it when I was 11 and wanted to dedicate my life to the wolves. I am a flake, I never did such a thing. Oh well. But I draw dogs.

Hey!! I might have got another contract from the US, which is great. They called me on Friday but I wasn't home. I gotta call them back Monday to say "I'll take it I'll take it" ... unless of course it isn't ok. But it seems to be spot illustrations for a textbook, and that is usually easy to squeeze in around books. And right now I have another book from the Eavesdrop Boy people, and a second dog book in the Dog series, as well as the Dog book that will be full color. I gotta come up with new names. Too many dog books. The more you do something the more people hire you to do the same thing. Dogs and more dogs. That's ok. I like drawing dogs. Weird for someone who was a total cat person for most of her life, and has only had a dog for 8 yrs now.

So, busy schedule now til January.

In April I'll probably be back in San Fran... the comics convention I went to this year in Feb is moved to April this time. I wish I had the $$ to produce another book. Who knows, maybe by March I will. That would be totally cool.

Well, tomorrow I am back in the saddle. Gotta get my mind focussed and stop twiddling around and not working enough. Once I start, I will be on a roll. That is me. Procrastinate and then totally obsessive compulsive working. yay. Watch me just watch me.

Night Night, me, Wenchie

Ooops, forgot to put my horoscope yesterday. Weirdly enough they don't seem to have sent me a Saturday one. Oh well:

Here is my horoscope for Friday, October 8:

After days of hiding out -- or at least seeming to, according to your fans -- you're ready to come out and face the world. Great. Now prepare yourself. They're going to want you to do some 'splaining.

That's kind of funny, cuz it is true. Hiding out. hmmm. yup.

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily