Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Sept. 18, 2004 - 5:13 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Quiche quiche put me to Sleep!!

Agh, why do I write entries at the end of the day. I am dead tired.

And yes, Mom-on-roof, I did make my quiches tonight. Three broccoli quiches, two spinach quiches and one spinach and broccoli (the leftovers you know).... I ran out of eggs or I wouldve made two little quichettes out of the leftover pastry dough and swiss chard.

Now I should be cleaning up the kitchen (already it is pretty clean, one has to continually wipe down counters and wash up dishes while cooking)... but I think I'll just stick the now cooled quiches into ziplocs and shove em in the freezer and then go to bed.

Dang. How did it get to be so late? Well, I took the last quiches out of the overn at 3:30 am, and I have been browsing FtoM sites on the web... that is the subject matter I am tackling right now in my comics.

Speaking of comics, I am thrilled today to have gotten an email from the guy I was worried may have dropped dead of brain cancer (which has been invading his whole body for over a year now... yes he is very sick). Yay!! I wrote him back "glad to see you haven't kicked the bucket yet!!"... I think of him when I think of comics since he read most of my comics as I drew them in the cafe I frequent... and when the book came out I signed a copy for him, but haven't gotten around to dropping by his place (to be fair, I didn't have his address for months), and I haven't seen him in the cafe for months either. So I might go over for tea if he feels up to it. Which is the major issue.

He is a fun funky, cute and intelligent guy who reads science fiction, astute political stuff and is witty and interesting. He has an ongoing relationship, or nonrelationship with a girl he is in love with.

zzzzz

that is my tiredness kicking in.

Here are a few photos from last week when I made borscht:


All photos copyright 2004 Wench77

So there we see the borscht occupying my two largest saucepans. Then compare the color of borscht made with green cabbage (brighter red) and purple cabbage (dark red). The soup beside it is the corn chowder, made from corn on the cob from my organic veggie box.

BTW to the left of the stove you can see the ladles and spoons I got from my Dad for my birthday, hanging up on the funky rod I got from Ikea. Also on top of the stove at the back, the marble rolling pin I chill and then use to roll out my pie dough for the quiches.

Now I rather with I HADN'T sold my small chest freezer. My freezer is almost full and I have not gotten to the end of my freezersoup list. Dang. Let alone space for a turkey or dead bodies or anything. Dang. I forget that shelves in the freezer really cut out alot of storage space, although it is easier to access things. Poop and fart. And I still have all my veggies in the garden to make it to the freezer yet. Swiss chard and kale, and pesto from parsley and basil. hmmm. I'll have to pack it better.

Well, I was gonna write how to make the quiches (in sets of 6 of course... who would bother for one??... well, me for a date) but it is quarter to six in the morning and so i am just going to go to bed.

Oh, and if you couldn't be bothered to check all through those FtM sites, you can just check out this "how to pass" hints site... some interesting stuff in there, which is why I got stuck for quite awhile.

I had so much more to say, but it'll have to be another day. Oh, and go read the new dictionary words over at Radiogurl's... they are excellent plays on words and pretty funny. Now if I could just remember them to incorporate them into my regular vocab!!

Oh yeah., several people expressed disbelief, disdain or diffidence concerning the prunes in the cock-a-leekie soup yesterday. Me too, until I actually threw caution to the wind and cooked the bloody recipe. They plump up and cook up and add flavouring to the broth, and they do not seem like prunes at all. They really make the soup I tell ya. it is one of those things that don't seem to make sense, but is scrumptilicious. One doesnt really even think of them there... like the apples and potatoes in the borscht, without them the soup would be lesser, but they are so part of the recipe that they don't stand out in the final mix. So yeah. Don't Diss the Prunes.

num num

nite nite,

me, wenchola

de cookin lady

Here is my horoscope for Friday, September 17:

You're more concerned with quality now than quantity. So, while you're still fond of striking up spontaneous conversations, you're more likely to politely bow out the moment it looks like it's going nowhere.

OH! btw interesting news of the day: the homeless man who read his own obituary in the paper, and called up during the funeral to say he is still alive. It is kind of cool... his family had forgiven him and all seeing as he was dead... and then he wasn't so they were overjoyed to see him. They even let him have a drink which his sister wouldn't have allowed under other circumstances. They are now doing an inquiry into why they allow distraught people to only visually identify dead bodies, often of relatives they haven't seen for years, and who are partly mashed up or decomposing. When you think of it is a bit weird. I mean, you'd think they'd use DNA or something. Now the dead body is being held in a morgue and they are trying to find out who it actually is. Someone's relative is definitely dead, and was almost buried under another name. Weird. And lots of implications. Just think about it. tah!!

OK, I'm not asleep yet, I got back stuck in the passing links, and I dunno... I think that the LOOSE swimtrunks show a helluva lot more than tight ones, what do ya think (scroll down the page a bit) sheeeeesh!!

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily