Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Jan. 09, 2005 - 5:14 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Yes, Mom-on-Roof, Here's Your Quiz!

OK ok, 2nd entry of the day here cuz we just cannot let Sport down, even if it is 5:13 am eh. Jeesh, what a sport *I* am! GRIN!
First entry here, about sex. yup. of course.

Forward and onward. It's really late so don't blame me if the answers suck (see I'm covering before I even paste the questions! dang!).

THREE NAMES YOU GO BY:
1) Um my first name
2) My first AND last name
3) Um, my first name. (gosh, I start off so REVEALINGLY!)
THREE SCREEN NAMES YOU HAVE HAD ::
1) wench77
2) rvastrid
3) LtheW
THREE THINGS YOU LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF ::
1) I'm generally open to considering anyone's point of view
2) I'm curious
3) I try to have integrity
THREE THINGS YOU DON'T LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF ::
1) I am impatient
2) I am too reactive
3) I can get insecure and needy really fast
THREE PARTS OF YOUR HERITAGE ::
1) Swedish
2) German
3) Prairie immigrant
THREE THINGS THAT SCARE YOU ::
1) Getting old alone (or getting sick/injured alone and not being able to care for myself)
2) People leaving me
3) Fucking up in front of people
THREE OF YOUR EVERYDAY ESSENTIALS ::
1) washing my feet. really.
2) lotion
3) lip balm
THREE THINGS YOU ARE WEARING RIGHT NOW ::
1) my chunky metal bracelet
2) green cotton sweatshirt
3) birkenstock sandals that need resoling
THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE BANDS OR MUSICAL ARTISTS (at the moment) ::
1) Hmm, I haven't been listening to much music. Bratsch I have been listening to...
2) Mary Margaret O'hara
3) The Beach Boys
THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE SONGS (at the moment)::
1) ditto #1 there. So I'll have to write in old stuff. "Ne me quitte pas" (Edith Piaf french)/ "If you go away" (Cyndi Lauper english) ... same old song.
2) "Surfer Girl" Beach Boys, esp covered by Phranc
3) "If you didn't want me you shouldn't have been born" Jonathan Richman (I am too lazy to get up and see what the actual song name is. Thems the lyrics.
THREE NEW THINGS YOU WANT TO TRY IN THE NEXT 12 MONTHS ::
1) Egads, this isn't going well. hmm. putting aside enough money to pay my taxes instead of waiting til the last minute?
2) Finding time to visit my mom in Vancouver
3) Egads. Really. Some years a million new things I aspire to trying and this year. I dunno. I cannot even think of three. yikes.
THREE THINGS YOU WANT IN A RELATIONSHIP ::
1) someone to talk with
2) someone to have sexual fun with. The key word is fun.
3) someone to spoil and to spoil me
TWO TRUTHS AND A LIE ::
1) I have an inny belly button
2) I squirt
3) I have native American blood
THREE PHYSICAL THINGS ABOUT THE OPPOSITE SEX (or same) THAT APPEAL TO YOU ::
1) strong hands that came make and fix things
2) a sense of humour evidenced in twinkly eyes and teasing smile
3) muscles, veins and tendons I can see
THREE THINGS YOU JUST CAN'T DO ::
1) find enough time in a day
2) play team sports. Any
3) Stop myself from crying if I start
THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE HOBBIES ::
1) reading and discussing things online
2) baking
3) taking classes (is that a hobby?)
THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO REALLY BADLY RIGHT NOW ::
1) pee without walking to the bathroom
2) sleep while I'm doing this
3) have someone I love be sitting behind me with their arms around me, or massaging my neck
THREE CAREERS YOU'RE CONSIDERING ::
1) teacher
2) journalist
3) photojournalist
THREE PLACES YOU WANT TO GO ON VACATION ::
1) Cuba
2) Iceland
3) Yukon/ Northwest Territories
THREE KID'S NAMES ::
1) Christopher
2) Sarah
3) Miranda
THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO BEFORE YOU DIE ::
1) be part of my own family
2) feel like I have someone to pass on my memories, heritage and stuff to
3) Have a life partner
THREE WAYS I AM STEREOTYPICALLY A BOY ::
1) I wear the same jeans/ henley's/ sweatshirts/tshirts all the time everyday
2) I speak out my opinion
3) I want to punch things when I'm angry
THREE WAYS I AM STEREOTYPICALLY A CHICK ::
1) I like skirts and dresses
2) I like cooking and cleaning (incredible but true!)
3) I can't catch a ball.
THREE CELEB CRUSHES ::
1) Jodie Foster
2) Johnny Depp
3) Jonathan Richman
THREE PEOPLE WHO HAVE TO TAKE THIS QUIZ NOW ::
1) Onewetleg
2) Dangerspouse
3) Maidenofskye

Well, I think that's it. Which reminds me, I want to do that food quiz thing. Let me find it and I'll be right back.

OK here I am. And yes I had a pee, no I didn't sleep and no one hugging me... that's ok. Here goes, from over at Chaosdaily's:

According to the BBC, these are the fifty foods to eat before you die (the idea is to cross out the ones that you've eaten). GW adds, don�t cross off anything if you haven�t eaten it under the listed name.

1. Fresh fish
Not much but a bit. Once or twice when I was young and my dad fished.
2. Lobster
It's ok. Good with garlic butter. I feel bad for the lobsters.
3. Steak
i admit I am a sucker for med-rare filet mignon
4. Thai cuisine
Mmm, there are quite a few good thai restaurants here. I love the curry stuff, esp green curry, and anything with peanut sauce or coconut cream
5. Chinese Food
Well, that's pretty vague. I suppose it covers everything from dim sum, to American Chinese Take Out to Cantonese. So yup.
6. Ice cream
Well, really, of course!
7.Pizza
And who hasn't eaten pizza in North America?
8. Crab
Egads, these hot butchy dykes took me out to eat huge snow crabs in San Fran once. nice
9. Curry
Well, that covers everything and its dog as well, eh! Yup.
10. Prawns
Yup. Usually in some asian food resto. I used to dislike shrimp and prawn, but now they're ok.
11. Moreton Bay Bugs
OK I'm stumped. No idea what that is
12. Clam chowder
I love New England Clam Chowder (the creamy one) but dislike the tomatoey one. urp
13. Barbecue
I like pretty much anything done on a Barbecue. Well, chicken brochettes or filet mignon is best eh! I am not so crazy about pork or ribs
14. Pancakes
I've had various types. I really like the buckwheat Ethiopian ones, and French crepes.
15. Pasta
I live for pasta. No, I live because of pasta
16. Mussels
These are ok. Lots of people here have huge bowls of them, with frenchfries and beer. I can take or leave em
17. Cheesecake
mmmmm
18. Lamb
I am not so into lamb, nor mutton. I think it tastes like licking a barn floor. Yes, even with mint sauce. no thanks
19. Cream tea
OMG I could live FOR cream tea! Bring on the cream tea! Here I don't think you can even get clotted cream, let alone nice scones. MMM. Best cream tea I experienced was in a restaurant at Land's End, on a cliffside in England, with the sea bashing up foam against the window. mmm. Cream tea. They also serve it on British Airways. A good reason to fly to England with them instead of Air Canada
20. Alligator
Nope, don't think so.
21. Oysters
Yah, they're ok. Again, I can live without them. I'm not a seafood junkie
22. Kangaroo
Nope
23. Chocolate
Hard not to have eaten chocolate. It's up there with pizza in this society. There is a lot of REALLY BAD chocolate. I like not very sweet very dark chocolate. Mmm
24. Sandwiches
Um, yeah, I think I have tried sandwiches. I think it is one of those categories like Chinese food or pasta, that goes on in infinite variations forever.
25. Greek food Ahh, another thing like the chinese food... there is the fast food variety and the real variety. I've eaten both. The real variety has excellent fresh ingredients, and lots of fish. Pretty darn good
26. Burgers
Some burgers are ok... I do like them best barbecued, and juicy. Many burgers just taste too much like dead cow. Cheese and mustard are good
27. Mexican food
Mmm, Mexican food. mmm. San Fran has tons of mexican food. Strangely mexicans seem to have really greasy bad corn chips. Weirdly they are better in Montreal. More corn, less grease.
28. Squid
Haha, I had this in Spain. It's ok. Kind of like octopus. It is better fried than all wiggly squiggly
29. American diner breakfast
What does that mean? I suppose the same breakfasts we have here at the coffeeshop but in a diner. Eggs, hashbrowns, sausages, toast? yup. Best when you've done an allnighter
30. Salmon
Canned, fresh, frozen, smoked. Yup.
31. Venison
Yup, a couple times. I think the last time was as fondue.
32. Guinea pig
Nope
33. Shark
OMG Shark was the "catch of the day" when I was in Nova Scotia for my birthday once. It was like chicken imbibed with butter. It was so nonfishy, and melt in your mouth. MY GOD. mmm. good fish
34. Sushi
mmm, I had only homemade vegetarian sushi at potlucks until Mi*dori came to town and took us to a real sushi place and ordered. The raw quail eggs are great, as are the trout eggs i think they were. omg it can be so good. Who knew.
35. Paella
yup, but I'd like it again, done by someone who really knows what they're doing
36. Barramundi
Barraquoi??
37. Reindeer
I don't think I have. Maybe but I don't think so
38. Kebab
Yup. Actually lamb kebabs are not half bad, now that I've dissed lamb. hehe
39. Scallops
I've had these once and I don't think the cook was very good so I don't think I can make a fair assessment. They were blah and overcooked
40. Australian meat pie
Is this how we eat the kangaroo??
41. Mango
I love mango. Very good in thai curry at home, as mango dessert, in salads, or just fresh like that, esp in the bath. Makes me feel decadent and like I'm living in the sun. Also good in juices
42. Durian fruit
MWAHAHAHAHA!! Me and ob so wanted to try this. It is called "King of Fruit" and is supposed to taste heavenly even though it smells like natural gas or something rotting. Sorry it tasted like natural gas or something rotting. I tried not to breathe while eating it, (well drinking it since we had it in one of them tapioca drinks in chinatown) but I still burped that smell then farted that smell for a whole day. Never never again.
43. Octopus
Yup. It's ok. I haven't had a big octopus though. I googled pics of octopus for a contract once, and you can see huge chunks of arm. I have never eaten it like that.
44. Ribs
Ribs CAN be ok, I usually like if they are well-cooked and not fatty. I'm not crazy about them
45. Roast beef
It can be ok. Again, no fat. I like when it is pink inside and juicy, and the outside is very browned, and there is juice with it. Good with yorkshire pudding
46. Tapas
I ate tapas all the time in Spain. Bar food. It is the cheapest way to eat out in Spain. Spanish omelet is ok. Also ate squid as tapas.
47. Jerk chicken/pork
I'm not going to cross this off cuz I don't remember. This is sort of spiced dryish meat, jamaican?? I am not sure
48. Haggis
Definitely not
49. Caviar
Yes in various guises. It is nice when it breaks under your teeth, and is salty. I like salty
50. Cornish pastry
Um, it isn't Cornish pastry, it is Cornish PASTY, no R. Yup. It is a little dry, at least when I had it in England. It's ok. Jamaican pasty is better.

Whoever cut and paste this to start with must have corrected it. I just googled it and the original BBC site for this list of 50 Must Foods has it listed as Pasty. Here's their website. And I just discovered that they tell you about these foods with a picture. So now I can see what jerk chicken is, and that other coupla foods I have no clue about!

Cheers! And take care to spell pasty pasty! Esp if it goes on your nipples! hehe

NIte nite! it is now 6:28 am, so I think I better hit the sack. Pictures of the dog gang book tomorrow. I got alot done today so I should finish not too late tomorrow.

Now of course i shouldn't think that... I have "The Panic Room" with Jodi Foster on dvd here, as the free extra video with the rental the other night, and it will now be tempting to actually find time to sit and watch it! eek!

zzz,
me, wenchie

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily