Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Apr. 06, 2005 - 1:09 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Raking and Washing and Shipping Oh My!

oo ooo The buddy list lights up red again when our buddies update! woo woooo!

I must say, this server shit is boggling. A week after Diaryland went down, the whole Moder*ntales comics empire went down. Complete loss of data since their last backup end of January. They have been changing servers, moving data, rewriting everything in the control panels, taking out bugs etc for the past week. Cartoonists cannot put new comics. Subscribers cannot sign up. They HAVE got most of the archives up and running now, which is what subscribers pay for... if you read the comic daily you don't need to subscribe since the current comic of any strip is free til it goes into the archives. But there was just a nice grey "sorry, server down" entry page to the sites. lovely.

So, any of us planning on counting on the internet for archiving our lives?

whoopsy! There goes years of writing, work, images etc.

Humbling isn't it.

Basically, you know all them mysterious things like "how did they make the pyramids, and those stone walls in the Andes that cannot even be matched for technology nowadays?"... well, we, my friend, are going to go down in history as one of those mysterious things.

No one holding a dead computer in their hands and the remnants of the cables will be able to understand that instead of libraries and hard copy mass communication, everything was done in bits and bytes of electronica. heh.

What a mess.

Anyhews... so there. That was just on my mind since I am getting this unending stream of "I have a bug" "ok i'll fix it" emails between the creators and the website owner/ programmer on this comics yahoolist I'm on. I am supposed to have my work up on this site in June, and I am hoping that the "well, now that we've had to rebuild it, we've taken out all the dinosaur remnants so it is bigger, better, stronger, simpler, cleaner, wonderful" take is correct, and not the "eeeeek, that is not a good place to put my work in front of the public cuz look at the crash and the loss and the bugs" feeling I get watching it all go down.

I guess it IS the same as diaryland... at least here we are mostly back up. Though every once in awhile I get that "please click here to reload your diary" page when visiting someone else's diary. And I know that some of my images were lost and I'll need to find time to re-upload them.

In the meantime, I have been extra busy. I managed to get two pages of comics done, so I am caught up. Tomorrow I need to do another two pages for Thurs and Friday, as well as a "byebye for a week" image celebrating my ONE YEAR of a comic a day online, which co-incides with APE on Saturday. yowza! I should have a birthday cake!! Maybe jellybeans??

I wish I had one more day. I'd make "birthday cards" to give out to everyone at the comics con to get them to go to my site. oh well. we'll see.

I got a box of stuff sent off UPS to San Fran. I called and the copycenter there got my comics paste-ups I sent Fedex yesterday and are making the minicomics for me. I got the front yard cleaned up in the sun while waiting for the UPS man... bought a new rake, raked up all the leaves, tore down bean, cucumber and tomato vines still on the trellises, picked up garbage, swept the sidewalks. I like to leave the vines over the winter cuz they look SOOO nice with frost and snow on them. I don't understand why people are so manic for cleaning up in the fall... just makes everything look sterile and dismal instead of wintery and naturey.

I got most of my taxes together. Last night I did all my business paperwork. I made $10,400 less than last year. yikes! I also for the first time did a quick calculation of how much I spent on dog and cats... about $3900!!!! YIKES!!! What with the doggy cart, all the anti-inflammatories, vet bills (that ear operation, getting her hips looked at etc), glucosamine, devil's claw, dog and cat food, dog permit, anti-flea stuff, etc. Dang. I calculated it was about 12.5 % of my income. Yikes!!!

Let's say YIKES!!! one more time.

Let's just say it was cheaper to have a dog before she needed the anti-arthritis stuff.

What else. Oh, tonight I did the building part of my taxes... well, just put it together for the accountant. The taxes paid, electricity, insurance, repairs, all that shit. And my RRSP contributions, charity donations etc.

So it's nearly ready for the accountant in the morning. What a nice way to wake up! Ding dong! It's the income tax lady!! hehe.

I am HOPING that the first books of South Korea will cover my income tax. Though that may be a bit optimistic. The second payment should come through April 22, and the taxes are due the 30th.

Now I need to wash the doggy, put away all the comics stuff from making the minis (there is originals, reductions, pasteups, photocopy-ready originals etc all in neat labelled piles. They need to go into neat labelled envelopes, in order in a neat labelled box. Except the box is labelled wrong. Says something like "Harpers magazines". hehe. But *I* know which box it is.

And I think the Christmas tree will stay til I get back. It is a real tree, remember, and it will lose ALL the needles ALL over my nice swept and raked front yard if I drag it out. And I have no idea what to do with it. Last year they used Christmas trees as decoration around the skating rink next door, so I just dragged mine over and stuck it with the rest, seeing as the actual city Christmas tree pickup from the street is like the second week of January. Silly people.

So. Wash the doggy. Laundry. Vacuum. More comics. ... I think I'm doing fine.

I DID get the next two units of South Korea work, looked them over, asked questions. I had some idea I might start some of them as a gesture of goodwill, but I may not have time. We'll see.

ooo ooo I am getting excited about the trip now. I am NOT GOING TO DRAW for EIGHT DAYS!!! no illustrations, no comics. No doggywalkies or vacuuming. I could die just thinking of it!! I am SO glad I was extravagant and gave myself 7 days there instead of 5 like last year. That means I will have time to wander. To have coffee. To veg a wee bit. And hopefully come back refreshed and happy and excited.

Oh, exciting... I will go to Toronto at the end of May as a "guest"... HAHA that means we pay for a table to sell stuff, but they put us in the promo material for a comics con. AND I got asked to do an interview for an online cartooning site. I don't know what I'll say. It is like the comics panel I am supposed to be on in San Fran. I will say "um, I go everyday to a coffeeshop and manically draw a page, usually having no idea what I'll write til my coffee is ordered. I then upload it, and do other things. I do not have time to read other comics, I know nothing about the industry. I can't even afford to print up another book, nor the time to distribute the last one. So. Do you want to know about the paper and pens? Same as I used in 1992." hehe.

Dang. I hope they don't expect me to know anything. But at the panel in San Fran I DO get to sit on the same side of the table as illustrious people whose names I am familiar with. That is cool.

Oh... I also have to RESPRAY the plants for bugs ... 2nd of three or four goes... tomorrow. And go to the gym. And pack. What a day. yikes.

Now, here for your edification, is a page on hymen reconstruction. When you think about it, it is kind of a funky way to UNDO the whole brouhaha, since at first people would be fooled into thinking both those with hymens AND those with reconstructed hymens are virgins (they well may be)... BUT when information gets out that many women have their hymens reconstructed, there will STILL ALWAYS BE A DOUBT ... ie all apparent virgins could ALL be reconstructed, therefore bleeding WILL become meaningless.

Now it would have been good if it was already. But if it ends up this way through expensive reconstruction, so be it. Goddamn. Thank god I live here. I didn't bleed when I had intercourse for the first time (though it hurt)... and I WAS a virgin. I couldve been killed if I had lived elsewhere. Dang.

OK< back to work!
I will try to put one more entry before I go for a week!
tah!
me
wenchie
tired
busy busy

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily