Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Sept. 08, 2005 - 10:56 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Computer Schmozzles Steal My Sleep

Oh goddamn.

The doorbell rang at 9:30 am, about three and a half hours after I went to bed. It was the computer guy with my new computer. Big surprise there, since I hadn't heard a thing since telling his boss I wanted to buy the G4 early last week. In fact I had left a message last night on his answering machine saying "excuse me, I need to upgrade my computer, and I haven't had a call to arrange an appointment since we spoke over a week ago".

The computer guy tells me "oh, my boss said he confirmed Thursday morning with you".

Strange since his boss doesn't do the work himself, but gets computer guy to do it, and THUS had said "ok, glad you decided to get the puter, computer guy will call you and arrange an appointment", which is certainly not the same as "how is thursday next?" or even "I'll get back to you about an appointment time".

So yeah. Big surprise. I had a book in my scanner. 6 months of paperwork, notes etc on my computer top, my computer open to things I need to reply to in the morning when I got up etc. No new furniture or spot cleared on the floor to put the new tower harddrive instead of the desktop model I have now. etc etc etc.

But then I thought, well, if he can put it in while I sleep, when I get up it will be done.

So I let him in, cleaned off the top of the puter (ok it is all in a pile on the desk now where I need to work) etc etc.

And am ready to go back to bed when he says "oh, I forgot about the printer, and your wacom tablet" I am like huh? He is like well, I remembered you have a scanner so I made sure I could plug in the scanner. Your printer and wacom aren't compatible with this computer. I'll have to get you a new printer. ACK. More $$ AND no, I cannot right now, without notice, have no printer. I would have printed out things I need printed out if I knew this would happen.

"maybe I can come back this afternoon".

Um, no, I need to run around and then get tons of work done when I get up. If i had had notice I might have rearranged my week differently. I have deadlines.

So ack ack ack.
Who the hell decided to upgrade the Mac Power PC G series from a desktop model to a tower model, to make the new G4 (which came out ONE MONTH after I bought my G3) incompatible with printers and wacom tablets bought only a month before. Who decided to make the effin G4 tower with transparent handles all curvy and designy, above and below the box, so it is 19 inches tall, and also is not flat on the bottom (or top), so you cannot put it on a shelf smaller than the full depth of the tower? Take off them effin handles, or make them collapsable, like any boombox, and the tower would have fit on the shelves on my computer furniture. Effin design idiots. "but it LOOKS *cool*!!)

So, now we are where we should have been 9 days ago. Looking at my agenda and making an appointment for NOT 9:30 am, looking at just WHAT I need for peripherals and connections (why didn't he call about this... even if his boss "confirmed" the nonexistent appointment, why didn't he call to ask about my peripherals? What home office doesn't have a printer???) so that when he comes back he can actually do the work. etc.

But fuck, now I have been awake from 9:30 am, arguing and bitching (oh no, would I do that when someone shows up to do work I NEED to have done a week ago without warning 3 hours after I went to bed with equipment that doesn't hook up?) and it is already 11am and I wanted to be up around 12:30. I am totally awake. With three hours sleep and my only full day of work for three days TODAY.

GRRRR.

I hate computers.
I hate throwing out (yay for environmental responsibility) printers and wacom tables and cd burners that work cuz they are no longer "compatible".
I hate people who try to cover for the fact that they have left a client 9 days without calling for an appointment by sending over the workman without warning the next morning first thing without calling you. (and lying the workman that I had "confirmed" the nonexistent appointment for while I'm asleep).

And I hate being woken up and not getting back to sleep for zero, yes zero, productivity. My puter is exactly the same as when I went to bed. And he's not coming back til the 19th. Hell, I called to say I needed a computer that worked on Aug 30th. A full three weeks. Fuckers.
grrr.

Remember I used to love my puter people? Now I am just grumpy and grouchy. grrrr.

OK must stop typing and get to sleep. Fuck. Now I'll wake up at 3pm, won't have time to complete my work before 5pm office closing. Fuck fuck fuck.

Go back one entry to read a nice entry yeah.
bye.
grrrrrrr.

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily