Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Jul. 03, 2004 - 6:19 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Screwed by Threads and Bolts

Let me just say that if you sell "kits" for hundreds of dollars to other people, they better have the right parts and instructions. Or at least the right parts that fit logically together.

I am getting quite fed up with this "garden cart kit" which will be my doggy's trailer. An example. There are 32 holes in the metal supports that hold the corners. The plywood is 1/2" according to the kit. There are 16 one-inch bolts and 16 5/8" bolts. And 32 nuts.

Does this make sense? non. Especially when the instructions say "the box is constructed with one inch bolts". I called the guy and he goes "oh, some I made with the metal support holes threaded... so the bolts don't need the nuts, they can go into the metal as is, screwed in. Probably the 5/8" ones go into the bottom. I don't remember".

Well yeah, so I put the 5/8" ones in the bottom, screwed into the metal holes. No mean feat, since if your 1/4" hole through the 1/2" plywood is not exactly straight, and does not match up exactly (we are talking microns here, not 1/8"s) then the screw does not want to turn into the metal threaded hole. Wood is forgiving when you screw something in. Metal is not. It is a pain in the ass, esp when you have 5 screws to put in at intervals over a 36" length. mmm. fun.

But there are only 12 bottom screws, leaving us with 4 more short screws. Where? Why? And do you know what a pain it is to put one inch screws through 1/2" plywood (that part is easy), THEN through a threaded hole another 1/2" before you can screw on the nut? It is long and tedious. Esp when the bots have slots (not phillips but just regular "you can screw it with a dime" slots) that are so large that you have to go to the hardware store to get a new screwdriver, the regular sizes just flop about and chew up the slot (since you cannot do since you have 32 bolts and 32 holes eh). Even the largest screwdriver the hardware store is too small so as you turn the bolts, the screwdriver tries to flop all over. Of course you could use two hands. But remember you are trying to hold together the metal hole and the drilled in plywood hole all while screwing. mmm. fun.

And yes, then there is the "use the allen wrench included" when there is no allen wrench, and none of the metric sizes you have fit so you have to go out another day and buy an imperial size set.

And the reflector that says "with included screws" that aren't included.

And the half inch bolt they give you to screw down the wooden box to the trailer frame. Did I mention it needs to go through half inch plywood?? duh. And of course THOSE bolts cannot be the same width or threading as the ones for the plywood. nope. you need to go out and buy another drill bit cuz 1/4" is too small and 1/2" is too big.

And oh yeah, the bolts in the plywood. Did I mention they all need to be countersunk cuz they are the ones with heads that look like snowcones instead of flat on the bottom.

Am I having fun yet? one week later... I am finally putting the primer on the plywood.

I think they call them painter thingies coveralls so that you can cover all. If you think "oh, i'll keep my clothes clean by taking them off"... you will have paint covering all instead of the coveralls. Did I mention that oil base primer is very runny and sprays off the roller bloop bloop? At least it seems to dry fast... it doesnt wipe off.

In the morning (oh yeah, it is already morning! the sun is up!) I will rub all the splotches off with mineral spirits. But since it is dried on, it will stay there while i sleep.

Other news today: doggy is now clean. The back weed lawn is now trimmed. I got my page of comics done. Even my "older" diary entries are archived, partly due to Coldooze and partly due to me.Time to go to bed. tah.

Sorry this was a boring entry. I shouldve drawn pictures of the physical challenges of bolts and screwing. hehe.

nite nite.

me, wenchola

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily