Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Feb. 27, 2004 - 4:48 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

A Recounting of the Friday in San Fran

Well, somehow I thought that not having to do doggiewalkies would give me more time in my day. I venture to say that it instead reduced my efficiency by cutting out a structural element to my schedule. Sigh! So I think I am getting less done rather than more.

A good thing today is that I seem not to have gotten behind at all in flamenco class. Yay! I was a bit worried that we would learn a dozen new steps. Apparently not. Just one or two, which I have quickly picked up.

Let's see... forward and onward to last Friday in San Fran...

I managed to get nearly eight hours sleep, and eat a good breakie of some sort of Muesli (not my doggy, silly people!! less fluffy!), then venture out of the house to find a copy center. I found an excellent place following my hosts' instructions, and got flyers of all my zines printed up, as well as blowing up my new book cover to 11x17 posters to hang from the front of my APE table, and making my three book covers into standup displays by photocopying them in color and pasting them onto foamcor. Yay!

Then I headed down to the Mission area where I bopped into Listboi's job (an overpriced hair salon), where she looked rather panicked at any questions of when she would have time to get together. She did mention that instead of meeting for breakies with other List people (Listgenderfuck etc) at 10:30, she would be there at 10... I thought, oh goodie! and said I'd be there then too... she seemed quite happy with that.

So off I went shopping... I stopped by Onewetleg's store and she was out for lunch. Poop. If I had arrived moments earlier I couldve dined with her! Drat! Off I went to fulfil my shopping requirements... specifically getting a little metal wheely cart handle thingie with a bungie cord to haul around the boxes of comics I was going to have in tow the whole weekend. Mission Street in SF is JUST the place to buy such an item, so I scored for $9.95 within ten minutes. I also got a hair clasp and brush for my wig.

Returning to OWL's secondhand clothing shop, she was back at work, and I got to try on tasty items, finally settling on a fun slightly flared black suede kneelength skirt for $10.99, and a loose button-fly engineer-stripey denim blue and white kneelenght shorts for summer for $3.99. Major purchases, yes! :)

It was already 5pm by then, and having missed lunch with OWL I was starving. I bopped down 20th street to the offices of Last Gasp, a comics publisher and distributor who were having the pre-APE party... with FOOD!! MMM LOTS of food... smoked salmon and capers, stuffed artichoke hearts, brie cheese, little cheese souffl� thingies. I munched as I wandered through aisles of books past and present. How happy can I be?? ((((GGGGRRRIIINNN))))!!

I managed to restrain myself to buying only one book... a huge hardcover called "Mutter Museum" of the physicians of Philadelphia... it was the only one in stock. 20% off. yay! It is a photogaphy book about the museum of that same name, which specializes in anatomic specimens of physiological oddities.

I was saved by the clock... just past 6pm I had to call a cab, and go to CartoonAuntie's place to pick up my wig, gloves and books. The nice cabby waited for me outside, and I rushed off to Modern Times Bookstore, where we had a booksigning of Queer Cartoonists. It was very fun... we read out loud several comics, with my wig and gloves for props. I have no idea if we were presenting intelligible stories or not, but at least we were goofy!! The crowd asked many questions, and we signed books, so I did not get to the Exiles cutting demo for 8pm as planned (yes, remember the dire threats from ob, but also that her Mme was performing elsewhere that night??)

I DID manage to get there, books in tow, for their breaktime door-unlocking at 9pm, and got to see two cutting demos. One was an embellished triangle on the upper arm of a lovely woman, sitting on a table. She looked blissful as the knife was traced in the desired pattern, esp since she had decided, with her partner, not to get any more cuttings for awhile.

Then the presenter did a beautiful ritual type cutting with her lover. They had actually met when the then stranger volunteered to be her demo victim for a cutting, and had had a Cross of David cut into her back. Now it has all healed up, and they have been partners for I believe a year and a half (?? I could have the time all wrong)... but they wanted to redo the cutting as a reaffirmation of their relationship and trust. The room was silent, as the lover bowed before her and had a collar put on, then took her place on a chair. She breathed heavily through the cutting, and blood flowed, which her partner caressed with gloved hands. At the end they kissed. It was very beautiful and touching and I feel privileged to be a part of that.

It was funny... Listboi was there as well, but after saying "hi", returned to converse with a friend and then rushed out before the cutting. Hehe, you see, this is starting to be a trend?? And also there was a dyke I know from Musicfest interpreting! It was a blast to see her... very strange seeing someone out of context! Fun fun!

Afterwards I dropped by the Lexington, the Mission area dyke bar in SF, and had a Corona with double lime (being so predictable) and toddled my way back to CartoonAuntie's place where I chatted with CartoonUncle until the wee hours. We really are very chatty. Finally off to sleep around 3am... not so smart since I had to be up for the 10am breakie meeting!

zzzz! What a busy day!

wenchie

Read about my Thursday in San Fran, with some great pics. Also see the page of photos of Thurs and Friday in San Fran.

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily