Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Mar. 01, 2004 - 6:11 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

A Recounting of Last Saturday in San Fran

Hiya!

Second entry for today.. the first which is about my Saturday THIS week, is here...

Now, forward and onward about my Saturday in San Fran last week (the 21 of Feb)... click to read Thurs and Friday and to see some SF photos.

Well, I managed to get up on Saturday morning at just past 9am, if you can imagine! It is easier to conceive of such a thing if you realize that 9am SF time is noon here at home... so it was doable. I dressed up in my cute suede SF skirt from Onewetleg's store (hehe, i wear it alot lately) with my red sweater and black top, and stripey tights...yup, I got mucho stripola. good stuff. Packed up two boxes of books, put them on my little metal trolley thingie, and called a cab...

I made it down to the Caf� Chloe's on Church street by 10:10 am, where I hoped to meet Listboi for breakie, and get to chat with her a bit before the other expected people arrived at 10:30. Well, it turned out to be this tiny tiny corner resto with teeny tables squeezed in, no space (not so good since one of the people we were meeting up with is in a wheelchair and has a dog) and you have to write your name on a list outside with how many people in your party. Listboi was already seated with another woman at a table for two.

Agh. So, I had to write my name (party of one!) on the list, and there were like 11 names before mine. I would end up eating alone, AND they'd be done before I even got into the restaurant. How pointless to pay $10 for a cab and get up early. I tried to sit on the bench beside Listboi to chat while they ordered and I waited, but I was ousted by the waiter. Wait outside. No extra people. This is a REALLY bad place to try to meet up with many folks, with staggered arrival times. NO you cannot get a table for three if you are two, or a table for 6 if you are meeting 5 more than you are. Urk.

Someone suggested a place three doors down, which was just opening. There was TONS of space. I suggested to Listboi we move there. And got a blank face. No, they were going to order. I dunno about you, but if I had the day before told someone from another country to meet me for breakie at a resto halfway across town, I wouldnt leave them alone outside while I ordered and ate. Listboi is turning out to be a stupid flake, I tell ya. I gave her a sticky note with the name and addy of the resto, to tell anyone else arriving that I was there, and there was more space. Sigh.

So, I went and had a great breakfast by myself. A cheese and mushroom omelet with avocado slices on top. mmm. Bought a SF paper and read about their great funky new mayor who is hiring women in the head positions of the fire department and police, and changing the paperwork so gays can marry. And he's only 36 and been in office for 3 months!! He is surprising everyone.

When I was getting up to pay, a whole shitload of people who were supposed to be there at 10:30 arrived (it was 11:30), including the dyke with the wheelchair and puppy. They were in SF to teach a Puppy Play workshop... they actually won a prize for Best Trainer and Best Puppy in some bdsm leather conference this year. Who knew that people roleplay puppy training!! Very funky. They are really fun nice people and do ageplay as well (like boy/Mommy, or boys/Daddy). The world is more complex than we ever suspected. Actually, it is like beingn back in kindergarten where you can roleplay whatever you damn well please. Me Mommy, you Baby, him Daddy... her Puppy... hehe.

So, they all ended up eating where I ate, but I had to run to get to APE. It was good that I didnt spend over $20 on taxi there and back to eat alone, but I actually DID get to meet them. hah!


At APE I set up my table next to the Boy Trouble guys... mostly David Kelly who is the one who got me to draw the George comic and the Protection Racket comic for his Boy Trouble zine. These three goofy photos are copyright him, ok?? He's a very cute fun fag with a sexy boyfriend who he's been together with for 12 years now! That's longer than my parents were married! Also at the table were other contributors to Boy Trouble, and Craig McKenney and his magician brother, who had a comic called "The Magic If", about a magician, basec on the brother.Craig writes for comics at Headless Shakespeare Press
.

I had a totally great time, rushing around like crazy for a few minutes to see other tables, and then coming back and chatting with the public (more photos tomorrow). The place was crammed with alternative publishers, and self-publishing writers, cartoonists, photographers. Mostly cartoonists. I wish I had a week to have gone from table to table to talk to the ones I knew, and meet the ones I want to know!

Our table was right across from the table of Gina Kamentsky who does a comic called T-Gina, about her trials and tribulations of being a trannygirl... it is very fun and also informative. A good sense of humour. She also introduced me to her friend Charlie Anders, who has a magazine called Other, for those who don't fit into standard definitions. Charlie is an incredible writer... everything I read so far impressed me with wit and insight and snappy writing style. And Other is like the BEST magazine. If you are not normal and boring, or even if you are, I highly recommend it. Check out the link there to see what kind of articles are in it. mmm. yummy!!

I also bought a book called "Photography for Perverts" by Charles Gatewood, which is full of funkola photos of pervs of every shape and form as well as tips about photography, models etc. Mr Gatewood himself signed it for me. He seems a very sprightly leering perv himself. That is him giving me the finger, to add spice to my photo.hmm.

The day zoomed by and then we went to some horrid shopping mall type of place with theatres and a food court. Metro-something. I forget. It is downtown on Market street. Not the type of place I'd eat at home let alone in a great city like San Fran, but what the hey... it was a "Queer Cartoonists" dinner, organized by Zan of Prism, an online site to promote and sell gay comics.
He has incredible energy, took a bunch of my books to sell, and had put out a comic sized guide to gay comics in time to give out for free at APE. Very informative. Lots of cartoonists I had no clue about.horrid sf foodcourt, copyright 2004 Wench77

Here is a photo of Larry-Bob who puts out a zine called Holy Titclamps, and a reviewzine called "Queerzine Explosion" and to the right of the pic you can see Zan of Prism Comics.
This lower pic is of Donna Barr being goofy. She writes an incredible comic called The Desert Peach.
Larry-Bob and Zan top, Donna Barr lower, copyright 2004 Wench77

After the meal, I rushed back to CartoonAuntie's place where I picked up my black wig to be funkola, and try to get a ticket before ob sicced fruitflies on me... at the Big Burlesque show her Mme is doing... everyone kept saying "oh, go to that burlesque show while you're in town". Now we know that if I hadn't had problems with ob, I would have certainly gone to it... since the time I was in SF in 98 I went to several very funky burlesque shows... it is all the rage in the sort of sexual dyke fringe community. I thought I'd dare it, not scaring very easily.

But... it was SOLD OUT! So I was off the hook... I DIDNT get scared off by dire warnings from ob, AND I didnt have to confront them with their petty ownership of events. gll.

So, off I went to join all the cartoonists at the San Francisco Comic Art Museum, where I was in a show earlier this year called "She Draws Comics". Mucho munchies again, some free wine, chatting with Gina, and several other women from APE, gawking at a show of Dr. Seuss's editorial cartooning work (who knew?), and some by a newspaper cartoonist, Don Asmussen, who skewers SF politicians and policies.

I took the bus to Mission and 16th, and walked home up 16th with some lovely woman whose name slips my miind... she wanted to know how I knew my way around so well.... welllll... because I am the one who helped ob find her way around when I helped her to move there... and she lives one block off 16th and Mission yup. And as I was pointing here and there, I pointed behind me at some restaurant... and I THINK I saw ob walking up the street behind us, with headphones on. I could be wrong, but I thought I woudnt stop and stare to make sure one way or the other. Just turned back around, and kept walking and talking and dropped the lovely lady off at her B&B on Church (photo of that tomorrow as well...)... which is right next to CartoonAuntie's place... so maybe next visit I could stay for two or three more days, and do the B&B... I'm always mindful about overstaying my welcome... I hate being yelled at I tell ya.

Well, that was my Saturday in San Fran! Not so kinky, but fun and a whirl! Got to bed fairly early so I could do Sunday ... we needed to be at our tables at APE at 11am! eek!

zzz

nightnight peoples!

It must be getting close to spring... it is already getting light outside. gll.

byebye!

wench77

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily