Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2004 - 9:42 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

A Recounting of Thursday in San Fran

This is the second entry tonight. The first one, A Letter to OB here.

Well, I'm going to do several entries about San Fran. I took in four rolls of film today, so no photos until Friday, but I scanned in a few things for you to add to the story.

secret admirer, copyright 2004 Wench77
First here is a scan of a valentine from my Secret Admirer I got in the mail! Yay! thank you thankyou secret (Canadian) admirer! :)

I of course didnt get any sleep on Wednesday night, since I usually get to bed around 7am, and I had to call the taxi at like 6am on Thursday morning. I took some photos out the airport window, and then out the plane window in SF to see the climate change! As I said yesterday, people were skating here on Wednesday outside, and in San Fran, the weather was the same as it was in June, pretty much: T-shirt with hoody in the day, add a leather jacket at night. I never even wore long pants the whole five days!!

The flight was uneventful. Mostly I cuddled up to the window and slept, after a breakfast at Burger King in Pierre Elliott Trudeau Airport. What, "Dorval" was too short and internationally recognized... we had to rename it? Egads!! Anyways, our airport has the worst Burger King in this hemisphere I am sure. There were breakfast special prices named, with photos of the main item, ie "ham and cheese bagel", but with nothing indicating what differentiated the "special" from the single item, priced at $2 less. So the guy says "comes with hashbrowns and coffee". OK, I get the special. He asks me if I want coffee. Sigh. There were photos without numbers, and numbers without items next to them. The writing was too small to read. The people serving seemed to be from Night of the Living Dead. They asked "for here or to go?" hehe, in an airport at the boarding lounge. I mean, really, people boarding planes don't usually stand in line to get Burger King to get on a plane. If they are boarding they board. If they are ordering food, it is cuz they have time to sit. And where the hell are they going to go? The NEXT boarding lounge? why? It was dirty and unorganized. And there was no coffee. Two huge coffee urns, a huge line of people with empty coffee urns. I have worked at Burger King. I would fire them, change the menu boards, clean it. Jeepers.

End of Bad Burger King rant.

Yeah, the flight was uneventful. The ride from the airport in the door-to-door van was uneventful, but since I was the last to get off, I got a great roundabout free scenic tour of downtown SF. I loved it :)

When I arrived, my hosts, Cartoon Auntie and Uncle hadnt eaten yet, so we went out for an excellent brunch of omelets and hashbrowns with latte. In SF they have no idea what an allong� or long espresso is. I have given up and just go for the latte now. mmm. SF is similar to Montreal in its coffee culture... lots of small artsy places with good fresh food and great espresso. yay!

After eating, I called Onewetleg who only lives mere blocks from Cartoon Auntie,and we made plans to meet. Then I called Listboi (from M*dori's list) back (I'd called before going to eat, but she was with a friend) to say I could meet after seeing OWL, but she funnily enuf said she'd been "waiting" for me to call back... weird since she had shuffled me off the phone since she was busy, and I had said i'd call back AFTER eating... NOW she was only available RIGHT NOW til 6pm. This was the start of a trend, though I didnt know it then. So I said, well, meet up with me AND Onewetleg... turned out when I arrived at the meeting point that they knew eachother already. Small world!!

BTW... if you plan to meet someone in SF... check one of those walking/biking maps first... to check for HILLS!! If we'd met just one street east, I wouldnt have had to walk UP that horrid hill!!... I am from the prairies. I try not to do hills. Bad. Hills. Bad. But I did the hill.

Anyways, Tommy was there too, and we all went to their place, which is a funky little "rooms to let" place with the cleanest most newly painted hallways you have ever seen, with checkerboard stairways and Spanish signs telling you not to leave your trash, and NO VISITORS! oops! We visited anyways.

We hung out and had a beer and chips and looked at books and made the Furbies giggle and complain. OWL and Tman have a gazillion furbies (also funkola clothes), and spiderman thingies.

Listboi did some cellphone things and had to rush off (the theme continues), and then I realized I hadnt called M*dori back for the rope drop off... she took the addy and we did a streetcorner good exchange, with me pulling my black hoodie over my face hehehe. It was totally funny and cool. I gave her a copy of my comic book with a drawing of the hoodie rope deal in it. :) Then she rushed off with Babydoll and another friend to Calgary and Edmonton. Yup! We are happening travellin chicks! :)

hemp rope and pirate hook, copyright 2004 Wench77
Hehe, the GOODS!! My god, I have found my rope calling... I decided to buy some hemp rope from her since I sniffed it in Montreal and couldnt get the smell out of my mind. Smells like oiled bailer twine or somesuch. And now that I've gotten my hands on it, it appeals to the artsy craftsy in me, reminding me of knots around brownpaper wrapped boxes in the mail. Mmmm. I tied Tommy up, sort of making a diamond patterned harness over his whole body, not tying anything down... and I used the ends of the rope to tie around each leg, much like a package. He wasnt restricted anywhere, just covered in rope. It was very fun, and he said it was more comfy than just his jeans!!

kitty bracelet and pirate eye, copyright 2004 Wench77
Onewetleg gave me this very fun and funky kitty bracelet. Unfortunately I lost a white fluffy sitting kitty that was in the middle. I wore it the whole time I was in town, so I guess it fell off. BTW I saw those hoodies OWL makes.. they are GREAT!! The woman knows how to put disparate things together to create walking art... I WANT ONE!! yeah.

Then they played Sims for awhile. I was going to have a baby named after me, but there was a naming blooper and the baby just got called Baby. Hehe. It is a funny game, where these weird Stepford people seem very into singing into microphones and going to work. Seeing them romantically kiss is very entertaining. Everything is too cleanly spotless. I wonder if there is a "clutter" and "dustbunny" function. Anyhowz, OWL and Tman are addicted I can tell. hehe.

Here is Onewetleg's account of our visit.

After I left their place I picked up some free papers to read what was going on in town. And found out that I COULD go to the Exiles meeting on Friday with no fear of reaction from ob and her mme,, since her mme was starring in a performance Fri and Sat. yay!!

Getting back to CartoonAuntie's place, I chatted with her extremely nice guy, the Cartoon Uncle, for a couple hours... he is totally a late night person, keeping hours similar to mine, inking comics in his studio in the top of a Victorian building, surrounded by fluffola cats and too many books and papers. He works in a small space on his desk, which is piled over a foot deep with books on all the rest of its surface. I suddenly feel very tidy.

I got to bed about 4am, which is of course 7am here at home... so I kept to my hours. And slept soundly in my white nightgown in a room piled to the ceiling with comics posters, vintage clothes, patterns, sewing machine and comics. zzzzz A fun day.

Click here to see a page of photos from this day!! And skip forward to read about my Friday in San Fran.

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily