Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Edible garden weed of the day: Chickweed instead of alfalfa sprouts in my sandwich. mmm mmm good!!

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Jun. 13, 2004 - 10:42 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Soccer Ignoramus Plants Vines

Well, I fucked up.

Last night I stayed up to color in the cover of the Soccer Kid book... here is what it looks like so far, with no pencil lines:
Click to open larger image. Soccer kid cover Copyright 2004 Wench77

Can you see what is wrong? Well, I sent the sketch to the editor at home, and the author. And the author loved it so I colored it in, taking the chance that it be ok. BUT when I sent this image to the author again, she loved the colors but says, "Soccer shirts only have numbers on the back". Ack. I just looked at the text, and it said "royal blue shirts with white numbers, black shorts" and thought.. "oh, I have to make the numbers". I was using various images off the internet for reference (remember this is the editor who told me "just look at a magazine"? when I said that I don't know anything about soccer).

Well, I realize NOW looking at them, that I don't see any numbers on the fronts. Sometimes there are numbers and sometimes not, so I thought it didn't matter if there were numbers of not for kids' shirts. Since we see only the front OR the back of kids shirts in a picture (usually they are all running towards us or away from us)... i just assumed some shirts have numbers nowhere (which seems to be true) and some have numbers. But who knew that the ones with numbers on the back DON'T have numbers on the front too? ack. Me the sports ignoramus.

The author says she doesnt care so much if it doesn't reflect reality. But the writer might care.

Damn damn damn. If I had put the number on the sketch, the author would've noticed it there. But I didn't think to put numbers til the text mentioned "white numbers"... I was just going to make them purple or something flash. Thank god I at least DID search the text and find they are royal blue, not purple. Sigh.

If I have to redo it, it erases all my work last night. Fuck and little fishes.

Besides that, yes I got some pictures taken from the Cabaret night where I was massaging as a flapper. But the film is less than half done, so you might have to wait a bit, unless someone sends me some digital pics.

And yes, my sore throat did fulfil its promise today. I have a heavy head, gob in my throat and sinuses and feel like shit. I did NOT manage to get up at 11am, to walk the dogs, shop for a potluck brunch and get to my comic's editor's 40th birthday. I feel like a shit.

I slept 8 hours, which is good, then walked the dogs. And then planned to at least ride by on my bike and say "hi" from afar so I didn't bring the peste (la peste is the plague in french) into their party. I put on my helmet, went outside, and for a sec, thought my bike was stolen. Big empty bike parking space. Nope. I forgot that I had left it at the Cabaret on Friday night, when I took a cab home with all my stuff. AAGH. So no bike.

I will have to get it tomorrow on foot. Damn. But that nixed my plans to drop by and say hi. I didn't have a phone # where the party was, so I felt MORE like shit. Bad me. No wonder no one came to my 40th... I have missed TWO 40th birthdays in 18 hours. aagh.

I DID get my page of comics done, though I have yet to upload it. I am still a day behind. Perhaps one day I'll catch up. Sigh.

Other than that, I was a good girl and put in the hostas in the backyard. The one I had dug up a week ago in the front was starting to wilt out of the ground. hehe. Incredibly there really is only about 5 inches of soil in the backyard before one hits totally hard gravel that the shovel refuses to go into no matter how much I hop on it. I need a bloody backhoe (yeah, ob, you'd be very helpful right now... for your backhoe skills AND your landscaping. sigh). But I did manage to scatch out deep enough to put in the hostas and that other plant, the "Heuchera micrantha". AND I moved the back deck (putting it flat will have to come another day... the plywood has curved cuz I do NOT work at Home Depot and don't know things about which way one needs to reinforce plywood so it won't roll up like someone's tongue) though I didn't properly level it. That is a real job, putting it up on pieces of brick to support it level.

But I did move it away from the wall about 10 inches, and planted the Engelmann's vines too. They were already starting to climb the concrete wall with their little grippy fingers. hehe. I guess it is the right kind for climbing. Yay. Maybe in two or three years it'll be nice and green back there.

AND the neighbor who just put up a new fence gave me their brickred trellis walkthrough (I am sure there is a proper name for that... an arbor or something)... it is a good color to fit with my fence and deck. It is just stuck back there now... I'll install it later too, but it is starting to look spiffier.

AAAANNNNDDDD there will very soon be strawberries and raspberries!! Some of the strawberries are already proper strawberry size though green. Very cool. And little yellow flowers have burst out all over the groundcover that is taking over where the moss isn't... I thought they had blue flowers... the yellow is a nice surprise.

Well, that is it for now. Gotta upload my comic and I want to color in all the dogsled dogs for the Far North book tonight. That is coming along nicely. And pick out the images I want to use to promote myself this year. And kill the dog I'm babysitting who not only dug up the tomatoes, but has stood upon nearly every other plant possible... oh, sorry. No, I just put up a grate thing so he cannot any longer go on the veggie side of the yard. I forget that other dogs are not easy peasy babies like mine. sigh.

Wish me health and sleep, and an editor who doesn't mind numbers on the FRONT of soccer shirts.

me, wenchie

Hey, my todolist is getting more things crossed off! Though reading the rest is still scary. AAAGH about mosquitos in the house that bike between your thumb and your index finger. Somehow now I have one on each hand, on the webbing part. AAGH!

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily