Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Jun. 26, 2005 - 5:27 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

The New Tories... We're Not Corrupt, We're Just Stupid

OK, I hate to beat up the Conservatives while they're down. No actually, I don't... so here is an article called "Canada's Stupid Party". It makes many good points about the Conservatives recent shenanigans, such as trying to bring down the minority Liberal government over the sponsorship scandal... they seemed to be way more interested that everyone dislike the liberals than whether anyone actually liked them.

So yeah, I liked the Liberals less (not that I ever liked them alot) and disliked the Conservatives even more when they tried to provoke an election no one wanted. I mean hell... let's just keep going to the polls at some outrageous financial and time price, instead of actually going forward and onward with the budget... which would mean, um. actual allocation of $ to actual projects, whether municipal, provincial or federal. Imagine that we'd elect a government and expect something to be accomplished rather than scandal and voting again, scandal and voting again, ad nauseum.

Weirdly my father seemed to think that the liberals being bad was a good reason to go to the polls again. To vote for WHO?? Well, I would obviously have voted NDP once again. So what would that help the Conservatives? Read the Canada's Stupid Party article to see a very good analysis of Stephen Harper's brainlessness. I only wish it had been written since the budget went through, and it analysed his party's reaction to that. (which is what I was googling when I chanced upon this). And if you really like, here is another article about how most of the free world up here thinks his anti-gay-marriage stance is piss in a pot. Old piss. And here are some words from his very own mouth. And you thought we were sad not to have our own Bush. HAH!

The other wonderful item on the agenda today is spray on mud for urban SUVs. Yes. Can you believe it? Next they're going to sell stick-on-stubble, for the guy who is so obsessed with both having soft skin and looking manly, that he shaves, moisturizes, and then pastes on stubble. yikes. Followed by manicures where they put dirt under the guy's nails after filing them. Crikey.

Well, what have I been up to? Yesterday worked a bit, then Disappearing Boy came over. We hung out and drank beer, (urk I hate feeling drunk unless I'm making out or somesuch... not good for walking or talking), went for a pizza, rented a movie that was touted as a very funny comedy, but was not funny nor a comedy really... It made me cry sniff sniff cuz it was depressing... fortunately we had had a bit of nookie by then and it was 3am so DB was blissfully snoring and didn't see me sniffing! Note, the reviewer who says "Am I the only one who DIDN'T like this movie?" has it down pat. I totally agree. Shallow. Boring. Not funny. The wine was the best character. I wish I had watched a documentary about the California Wine Country instead.

So, not much work yesterday. I write it off as St Jean-Baptiste Day.

Today, lots of work on the South Korea contract.
and went dancing for two hours at a local 80s-music night with my Old Dance Friend (the one who called me out of the blue... hadn't heard from her in 15 years!). We were hoping for more of a blast from the past than it was... but we were used to dancing on alternative music nights at a lesbian bar, and this was pop music at a straight club. Oh well. We still got a few good songs, and I danced for all but about 4 songs for 2 hours straight. I can't believe how aging my bones feel! We used to hop around for hours!!!!

The nice thing is that it was actually COOLER dancing madly in the bar than it was outside. It was stiflingly hot all day, over 30� with a sort of haze over the sun, and they're predicting the same for today. urk.

The garden is loving it though. I have a stellar garden so far this year. I admit I am proud of myself for sussing out the methods of the swiss chard leaf miner flies... I am pretty sure that the little lines of white eggs on the underside of the leaves is their doing. I have consistently checked under the leaves every two days and scraped off any white eggs, and have had only two or three leaves lost to leaf miner larva, vs pretty much every single leaf last year. yay!!!

The guy upstairs is miffed about the mildewy smell in the heat emanating from his damp ripped out plaster ceiling... esp since the catpiss girl has shown zero empathy or remorse. Her only response to him was apparently "well, doesn't SHE (that means me) have insurance?". Yeah, insurance helps get back all the searching for the reason water is dripping on my head, calling up friends, plumbers, contractors, insurance adjustors, her, the rental board etc etc. Pays back me having to live with ripped up plaster and smells (my bathroom has a vent in the ceiling and now mildew smell is coming out ), and then when the contractor comes and rips out and rebuilds, and then Disappearing Boy has to repaint. And dealing with claims from the guy upstairs. The stupid fucking woman. I'd like to fuck around HER stuff and life and then go "doesn't your insurance pay?".

Though actually the joke will be on her. My insurance is writing her a nice letter. So the question won't be "doesn't the landlady have insurance" but rather "doesn't catpissgirl have insurance". I am gonna take her for the damages, plus the deductable, plus the lost revenues when I have to pay rent back to guy upstairs for not being able to profit fully for his apartment. I wonder if she'll feel remorse then, or just resentment. I don't really care. It is NOT coming out of my pocket financially as well as hasslewise.

Well, that's a lovely note to end on, but I have to upload my comic and water the front garden and get to SLEEP!!

Does anyone know of classic children's stories or books that have intact traditional family bio mom and dad parents?? (so far we've come up with Little House on the Prairie, and Swiss Family Robinson and not much else). thanks!

nite nite
me
wenchie

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily