Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Listening To: International Disease Control people blaming Bush's abstinence-only restrictions on AIDS aid and educa

Still Reading: "The Stubborn Season", a novel by Lauren B. Davis

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Jul. 14, 2004 - 1:21 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Doggy Trailer Tops All Hopes

OK, NOW I sort of wish i had a digital camera.

YOUPEE!!! The doggy trailer took its maiden voyage(s) tonight! And with a few bolt tightenings and adjustments, it worked like a goddamn charm. And everyone was like "oh, what a great trailer! it's so well made!" yay yay yay!

The most exciting thing is doggies practically volunteered to go in all by her little self. I had gone off with the bike once in the afternoon, left on foot twice, then hooked up the trailer to go to Crappy Tire (Cdn Tire for the nonCanadians) to buy some reflective gear for it. I think she just got tired of seeing me go off and leave her in the front yard alone.

Funnily enough, that is EXACTLY the scenario I wanted to stage to get her to jump into it... but I thought I'd have to set it up artificially... take her someplace unknown, have someone else with me who could drive away from her while she was tied up and I was in the back of the trailer... so she'd not want to be left, and to do what I was doing.

Haha! I didn't realize how much she longed to come with when I left her in the front yard.

So she just hopped in the trailer when I said "ok!". I had just put the bike on the kickstand so it totally fell over, but the trailer stayed upright ok (that is the point of buying them fancy jointed attachments), and even the bike toppling didn't freak doggies enough to bail. YAY! can we say it again?? Yay!

So, I was so excited by that, that once I came back from Crappy Tire and stuck on all my $33 of reflective thingies (I have been riding around without even the obligatory wheel reflectors on my bike... i also got one of them red flashing bike lights)... I put the doggy in the back and we drove all over the place.

She rather wants to sit up, but that makes the gravity really high, and I was afraid she'd jump into traffic or stand up or somesuch, so I put a bolt with an eye in the floor near the back, and when she lies down I clip her collar to it with about 8" loose. That worked really well. At one point she tried to get up, and as soon as she realized her head was down, she didn't even make an effort. yay.

So, we went to the big park, locked up the bike and trailer and went for a long walk all around the pond. It was so wonderful having a fresh bouncy trotting doggy walk in front of me, instead of the normal slow draggy sulky doggy I am used to dragging along by the time we walk to the big park. What a wonderful change. After we walked gleefully around the pond for a long while and had a tummy rub, back into the trailer.

To celebrate our new freedom, we next went even further, to a dog-friendly icecream patio. It is lovely... they have waterbowls outside, let the dogs inside and on the actual patio with the tables. But it was fairly full, and had a south american musician regaling everyone rather loudly, so we got our icecream and sat on a bench on the sidewalk.

Doggies is so graceful. Sweeter and more well-mannered than her mommy, let me tell you. I held her soft cone for her, and she slowly licked the icecream while I rotated it. No gulping, no snapping. What a charm. Which of course attracted people.

I ended up talking most of the time with quite a goodlooking young man... thankfully NOT 20 yet again... he is working as a mover over the summer, but wants to go to school to be an ambulance driver. He did all his highschool science classes he needed by homeschooling himself recently, so he can take the ambulance class. He also used to work ordering fruits and veggies in a fruit and veggie shop, and as a teenager in highschool actually drew well enough to be paid to do drawings used in a textbook... what I do now, of course.

Well, yeah, I gave him my number. Silly girl. Now WHY do I have these pleasant chats with strange straight men (or dykes or whatever) and give out my number? Look how well that photocopy guy dinner went. Certainly hasn't called me back since. No big surprise there. I wonder if he has bought soap to wash his veggies, and clipped his kitten's nails and gotten his hyperreproducing cat fixed yet?!! I suspect not! LOL!

So. The doggy cart is a success. And I realize it is more for my freedom than the doggy's. *I* am the one who wishes we could walk new places and further. I am the one who wishes to take her with me when I go shopping etc, and not have to measure every excursion and errand route by how far I think she can walk before pooping out. Now I can just shove her in the trailer... she can walk til she's tired, and then I can shove her back in the trailer. I am FREE!!! Wow!

It was a silly wonky idea, and it was such a pain in the ass, all the putzing about to make it, but it is totally worth it. Yay.

On another front (yes, it has been a fortifying day!)... the art director lady emailed me back to THANK me for being so understanding and willing to work with her (so I guess she accepts that I will not cut the price on work already started, AND seems to be happy I will work for less in the future... which would indicate more possible work in the future). And, it wasn't half price she wanted to reduce to, it was 1/3 price!! $50 per drawing instead of $150!! I would've been out $1200US if I'd said yes!! eep! And look it is fine!

I have also gotten the go-ahead on the adult education language work, with NO CHANGES... what is up with that? No one thinks any of my poses are provocative? I am slipping!

AND the adult ed people offered me yet another drawing... not lots but still, enough to cover how much I spent at the hardware store in the past two weeks. Items bought at the hardware store:

  • 8" half round double cut bastard file (wonder who did THAT circumcision?!)
  • a 1/4 drill bit
  • four 2 1/2" barrel bolts
  • 100 zinc 1/4-20 round machine screws (I didnt use these and am hoping they'll take em back)
  • 100 zinc 6x 1/2" wood screws
  • 2 galt-style packing 3/8" I.D.x 13/16" O.D (again, I didn't use oops!)
  • 3/4 sheet 1/2 plywood
  • 6 cuts in said plywood
  • 1 gallon grey Sico alkyd epoxy floor paint
  • 2 cheap 1/2" brushes... I mean cheap... 89cents Cdn apiece
  • 3/8" 135� split-point drill bit
  • 32 zinc 3/16" bolt washers
  • Fuller Golden Grip 5/15" x 6" flat screwdriver
  • Picquic sixpac plus multibit screwdriver
  • 5/8" drill bit
  • Instant Krazy Glue 2ml(hehe, I successfully fixed my flamenco fan, yay me!)
  • Pres-tite contact cement 60ml(I successfully fixed the suede with studs playparty toy)
  • 59" plastic fake bamboo plant support pole (for the hollihocks)
  • 2 zinc 2" safety hooks and eyes
  • Supercycle wheel reflecter set
  • Raleigh Flashing Rear Light (with four different flash modes! wow! Disco PartEEEE!!)
  • 24" TrimBrite 2" red and white reflective tape
  • Ultra Tape: ultimate reflective safety tape with 7 year limited warranty, 900 candle power ... orange
  • 2 feet of 4" aluminum dryer outlet duct
  • One 4" louvered white dryer vent cap replacement

I am there so often people start to ask me to serve them. No, it's not true. But I do go in about four times a day since I've started this project. Zoom zoom.

Tomorrow I hope to put in the new dryer duct through the remise so the humid air will stop fluff-dampening my garden tools. rust rust rust can we say ferrous oxide... And also start on the quarter-round under the kitchen cupboards so it will stop raining in the basement when there is water on the kitchen floor. Boy I am sure y'all wanted to know ALL of that. But I feel so productive, even if I am slowly going stark broke and the hardware store is going kaching kaching.

Mmmm... IF you happen to spend SO much time with a doggy trailer project that you forget yet again to buy butter (it is VERY SAD I know)... it is very tasty, as an alternative, to saute minced garlic flower in virgin olive oil, then add leaves of chinese cabbage (small). Stir til wilted. Put in dish, sprinkle with soy sauce and sesame seeds. Enjoy. Yeah. Somehow that was a very tasty alternative to microwaving the cabbage and slathering it in butter and salt. Yay for "doing without"!

Though I would still like some butter. and chocolate. mmmm. Greedy me. I had tai chi icecream with doggies earlier. I am blabbling on.

Maybe I'll find some cute pics of doggies to add here. And then do my comic page, and then the work, and then ... oh drat! no butter, no cheese, no bread= no grilled cheese

Good evening peeoples, and thanks ever so muchly for all the nice comments and notes.

me, wench77

SLEEPYZOE SLEEPYZOE!! (and everyone else)... here is a great corsetry place called The Other Woman

... the esteemed Diva Mi*dori says they are excellent. They even make sneaky "hide the beer-belly" solutions for men! She also recommends Puimond, progressive corset design. Eye candy. pretty pretty. If you really want a Diaryland corset... go to Sleepyzoe... she makes the MOST BEAUTIFUL hand-made custom corsets and as she is just starting out, support her so she can quit Shit Job. yeah. You can check out her creations in her diary at: Corset pics and Custom Corset. Gorgeous stuff.

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily